We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's really nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vallais Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vallais Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
1 review
“It's really nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

Comfortable rooms, perfect view, good service - what else do you need to get of Santorini?=) In Vallais Villa you can find all this.
Only one disappointment - the Americans from the neighbouring hotel were a little bit loud when we tried to have a small meditation during watching an incredible delight of the sunset.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ossip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
200
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

The views from the room were stunning and the room was very nice and clean. The staff was very nice (everyone we met in Greece were unbelievably nice and helpful). The issues I had were:
1. The hotel advertises WiFi internet but it does not work in the room. If you happen to be in the room right next to the office, you can catch the WiFi if you sit outside on your balcony, otherwise you have to sit in or just outside the office to catch it. I booked this hotel because I needed WiFi so this was a huge problem for me to go down and sit outside the office whenever I needed to get on the internet.
2. The hotel advertises breakfast, but this was never offered to us. It would have been nice to have breakfast served on the balcony as advertised. It was a little disappointing to see the guests of every other hotel in the area enjoying their room service breakfasts every morning.
3. The TV didn't work. We were not able to get any channels (some came in very fuzzy, but were unwatchable). I know you don't go on vacation to watch TV, but it's nice to have the option, especially when satellite TV is one of the amenities offered.
4. The staff was gone almost the entire day before we were to leave. We wasted most of our last day waiting for them (they were supposed to be back 'in one hour' for 4-5 hours) so we could finalize our bill and arrange a car service to the airport for our very early flight the next morning.
5. The kitchen supplies were not very intuitive. We had to ask for bowls, and there were no little touches like napkins, salt/pepper, etc. We've stayed in other apartments that not only left these items but also greeted us with a bottle of olive oil and/or wine. It wasn't advertised, but it would have been a nice welcoming touch to at least have some napkins or condiments.
6. The jacuzzi tub, as many others have mentioned, was lukewarm at best.
7. The hotel is NOT within walking distance from Fira OR Oia, as other reviews have mentioned. It is possible, but it is quite a trek (especially to Oia).For a nice scenic walk along the caldera it is fine, but not for every day getting around town. We ended up renting a car, which we hadn't planned on, and they were shocked than anyone would say that Imerovigli was walking distance to either town. Plan on catching the bus or renting a car, unless you enjoy sweating in the heat all the way up that hill on a narrow (heavily trafficked) winding road back to the hotel. We didn't find the closest grocery to be very well stocked, so again, we had a bit of a trek every time we needed groceries.
8. We weren't given the room we booked. It had the same amenities, but I worked with Lia to book a specific room and when I arrived it was a different room. Again, not a huge deal since we still loved the room, but it was a shock.
9. The hotel website advertises a 10% discount to internet users, which makes it seem like the 10% is on top of the advertised prices. I guess it is already built in to the prices, because we did not receive this discount...not sure why they would even mention it if the listed prices are already discounted.

If the view hadn't been so stunning, I would have been extremely disappointed (especially for the price we paid).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

This hotel was recommended by our travel agent and I am so glad that we decided to stay there. I must say that we had the BEST views and if I were to return to Santorini I would definitely pick the same hotel again. The view of the Caldera was just incredible and very surreal. I think this hotel probably had the best location in all of Thera. Unfortunately we could not catch the sunset as we went to Oia to see it but we were told that the views from the hotel were even better than Oia. Lucas and Lea (the siblings that run the place) provided us excellent service and the facility was spotless. We loved having our breakfast on the balcony. The bathrooms were clean and well furnished. Rooms had a great ambiance and the beds comfortable. We hope to return there someday and hope to stay at the Vallais Villa.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

The hotel was recommended through a family member. We found the staff extremely friendly and willing to do the extra bit to make us comfortable. The views are absolutely stunning. The rooms are high quality with inroom kitchen, modern bathrooms. nearby supermarket and restaurant options make it easy for food and drink. Breakfast can also be ordered into the room. i would strongly recommend it

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrishnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

Quaint and charming establishment that is perched cliffside. Our room was rustic yet very clean, with an outdoor jacuzzi tub and excellent balcony with views of the volcano, Thirassa island. Set out hereunder are some comments that I would like to make about the villa:
a. Excellent location and outstanding view.
b. Cold jacuzzi tub
c. Absent to non-existent staff from time to time, making communication difficult to very irritating.

Weighing up the plus and minuses, I would rate my experiece as neutral to okay, save for the issues with jacuzzi and missing staff at times.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank musgrovedvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santorini
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

My husband and I went to Santorini in September to get married, and we wanted a really nice hotel to hold our very small wedding, and Vallais Villa was everything we could have asked for. It is a little hard to find, but we enlisted the help of a couple of locals who helped us find our way. When you get to Vallais, you arrive on the rooftop, and the view to the caldera is just breathtaking! Vallais Villa is easier to get to than other hotels on the caldera because it is near the top so you only have to carry your luggage down about 25 steps. Lia met us right away and showed us to our room. There was four of us there so we stayed in the 2 bedroom suite, with a private hot tub on the terrace. The suite was spotless and the bathroom was modern in chrome and marble. Our bedroom looked right out onto the caldera, and the sunsets from our terrace were spectacular, even better than in Oia in my opinion. Our rooms and terrace were cleaned and organized everyday, and Lia and her brother were always there to help us with any questions. I couldn't have asked for better service. The only thing that made this hotel a 9.5 instead of a perfect 10 was because our hot tub wasn't really all that hot. Sometimes it would be warmer than other times, but we never really knew when that was going to be. We still had fun in it even though the temperature was unpredictable.

We were really glad we stayed in Imerovigli rather than Fira or Oia; it was much quieter and less crowded. There is an excellent restaurant that we went to 3 times in the 7 days we were there, called Kappellino's and it's right on the main road in Imerovigli. Great service, try the seafood marinara or the chicken and broccoli rissoto.
I would recommend Vallais Villa to anyone I knew who was going to Santorini. It is probably the nicest hotel I'll stay in for a long time. :)

  • Liked — Great view, great service, very clean, very modern with Greek charm
  • Disliked — jacuzzi semi-hot
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hvntran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

Staying 4 days at Vallais Villa was the perfect end to our 3 week long Italy and Greece vacation.

Vallais Villa is peacefully situated between the bustling towns of Oia (where everyone flocks to see the sun set in the ocean) and Fira (where all the cruise ship passengers roam.) If you don't want to walk (20+ min) into either town, you can take the bus, which stops only a couple blocks away. The main bus station is in Fira, where buses can take you all over the island. The best thing we did was take a photo on our digital camera of the bus schedules, which is only posted in Fira. Conveniently 2-3 blocks away are some shops, grocery and bakery.

We love the beautiful views from our own terrace, perched on the caldera (like hundreds of other hotels,) but it feels very private because Vallais Villa is not on the main footpath to Oia or Fira like some others are. It looks at the rock Skaros, where you can hike to, and see the remains of a Venetian fort and a typical Santorini church. The apartment is spacious with a large bedroom with comfortable bed, large bathroom with multi-jetted shower and a large sink to wash out clothes, well stocked kitchenette with large sitting area. An in-room safe, air and heat was especially nice with the hot days and cold nights.
It was romantic to have our private hot tub to sit in under the stars on a cold night. All was immaculate.

The owners Lucas and Lia are so nice and helpful. Lucas helped us with a tour to see the volcano and hot springs, and arranged for a moped rental for one day. It was quite an adventure to see other parts of the island, like vineyards and the ancient town of Thira.

We recommend this place highly and would love to return one day.

  • Liked — Beautiful space and location with a view
  • Disliked — Would have been nice to have some basic seasonings, like salt and pepper, in the kitchen
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank homesteaderonvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.1 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.2 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#6 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#24 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilioperato Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallais Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallais Villa

Property: Vallais Villa
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Imerovigli, one of the most beautiful villages of Santorini, there are "VALLAIS VILLA" apartments, just 350 meters above sea."VALLAIS VILLA" consists of traditional furnished apartments with a unique view! From your private balcony you will have the opportunity to enjoy the unlimited view over the caldera, volcano, Thirassia, Oia, Akrotiri, the small islands of the Aegean sea and of course the enchanting sunset "VALLAIS VILLA" consists of 7 equipped studios & suite ready to accept 2 to 6 persons.Each has its own fully equipped kitchen refrigerator, toast-roaster, coffee-machine.Also they have music, telephone, a TV. with 2 satellite channels, A/C, safety box,free wifi, DockWe will be happy to offer you everyday service and cleanliness in a friendly and cozy atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vallais Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallais Villa Hotel Imerovigli
Vallais Villa Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing