We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Peaceful, Romantic & Relaxing”
Review of Arc Houses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arc Houses
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful, Romantic & Relaxing”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had 4 nights at the ARC House, Stone room, and wish we could stay longer. Imerovigli is really quiet even during the sunset, making it the best location (IMHO) to enjoy one of the most famous and beautiful sights in the world. Indeed, it offers complete unobstructed view of the Aegean sea which is fantastic even before the sun sets. We enjoyed the view at the verandah relaxing over the locally brewed Donkey beer and some chips. An experience we missed immediately after we left for Athens.

Location:
- ARC House is situated in a very good spot of the town. A short five minutes walk up behind brought us to the supermarket, restaurants (Bella Thira, Estia Grill house & etc) and bus stop in the town square.
- It is also conveniently located above the trail linking Imerovigli to Fira and also other dining options (Mezzo, Blue note and Spiliotica).
-Getting here wasn't be a problem as Flora arranges porter to meet and bring us over. After showing us once, we had no trouble finding our way back.
-The previous reviewer mentioned a dilapidated house with graffiti "in front". Actually, it is a property on sale far below the stone room near the church. It was not painted white like the rest but there is also no graffiti on it, just a sign that read the contact of the owner. Honestly, it is too small to be of note (it is really far below the ARC House) and not in a run down state either.

Amenities:
-Clean towels everyday.
- WiFi is available outside the room.
-A small functional kitchen and a nice fridge that makes ice quick.
-Unfortunately there isn't a pool here, had the urged to take a dip many times but this itch remains unscratched. Hope it would be possible for them to have it one day.
-There were no shampoo or shower gels. It is not much of an issue, just come prepared or buy some off the supermarkets.
-Air-Con doesn't give cold ventilation in the day BUT the room remains cool throughout the day.

Service:
-Service was without any doubt GREAT. Everyone was all smiles and friendly, from the reception to the porter. Dora orientated us to the sights and restaurants on the island when we reached and Flora ensured everything was going well whenever she meets us.
- Our rooms were cleaned everyday by a very nice lady and even though we disrupted her work very frequently one day, she was all smiles about it as well.
-Transfer service can be arranged at 15euros each way. I highly recommend getting a private transfer especially if you have bulky luggages because the bus service there isn't very tourist friendly.
-Breakfast can be arranged to be served at the verandah and is prepared by Spiliotica. Expect to pay about 15euros or more per pax. It is a great experience but I think the food doesn't have a wow factor to it.

Suggestions:
-Enjoy breakfast (self prepared or ordered) at the verandah over the cool morning and great view.
-Hike from the ARC House to Fira (and back, it is not as hard as it seems even though it is uphill) using the trail below. It was the most enjoyable walk we had in the trip. If you have time, explore the other side of the town, i.e. after reaching the trail instead of turning left for Fira turn right towards Mezzo restaurant. It is pretty nice too.
-There is a beach umbrella at the verandah which is useful during the day if you don't like the sun. However, during the sunset, removing it somehow makes the all difference in the world. It is pretty light and easy to do.

Overall, I think ARC House is a great place to stay in Santorini. The peacefulness and brilliant sea view was exceptionally romantic during the sunset.

Room Tip: Remove the beach umbrella at the veranda before the sunset, make a great difference to the overall v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    40
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
152
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

There is a dilapidated building with graffiti right in front of the room which was an eyesore and frankly spoils an otherwise beautiful view. The service was terrible and left bad feelings. We will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcHouses, Owner at Arc Houses, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear guest,
We are sorry to receive this review as we-ve always had only great reviews on our apartments and views, which makes me wonder if you have mistaken hotel on your review.
We definitely do not have a building with graffiti in front and plus we always offer the best service to our clients.
We looked through our clients list but we could not find anyone from HK under your name.
Could you please let me know in which apartment you stayed in and during which period?
Thank you in advance,
Archouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were a group of 8 people attending a wedding in Imerovigli and we were looking for an authentic and affordable hotel with the real Santorini experience; we decided to stay at ARChouses based on a recommendation from a friend and we couldn't have wished for a better accommodation! We reserved 3 rooms (Cave, Thira and Mediterranean) all very comfortable, spacious, clean and with an absolutely gorgeous view from the terrace! The hotel is very close to the heart of the village including the Maltese church, the bus stop, supermarket and small shops, a few restaurants as well as beautiful and charming stair walks. Flora the owner was a wonderful host, warm and welcoming and provided us with great insights on where to go and what to see. Next time we are on the island, we are definitely staying there! Thank you again for 4 amazing days!

Room Tip: Mediterranean and Thira have gorgeous views off the cliff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was absolutely beautiful..very nice interior and exterior design..stayed in the room which sleeps 6 people...extremely spacious comfortable and very clean. The view from our room was just wow..loved waking up to it and sitting by the veranda/terrace. The hotel was also not far to the bus and taxi stop and also 2 min walking to a nice restaurant. The owner is very friendly and service was good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed at ARCHouses for 3 nights, and although the electricity was cut off in the island but the staff did their best to provide us with enough water. The manager was really helpful and the porter too. The rooms are clean, and their layout is really interesting. The location is amazing you can view the sunset from the terrace and sunrise from just around the corner. I had just wished they provided breakfast it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I ve stayed at several good hotels in Santorini over the years, but I must admit that ArcHouses is by far the best in terms of uniqueness, view, service as well as price-value ratio. Absolutely recommending it to anyone that visits the island as a tourist, a couple or family!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxholm
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Among all the options available in Santorini, Imerveglio turned out to be the exact right location. An easy walk to Fira and a longer, more exciting walk possible even to Oia.
Arc Houses turned out to be a perfect place for us travelling with a teenage daughter. The view from the room and terrace is truly astonishing paralleled by the friendly and personal service that we received from the owner and her daughter. They also can help out with really good suggestions on local restaurants, certainly appreciated considering the abundance of options available on the island.

Certainly a place to come back to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.0 mi away
Whitedeck Hotel
Whitedeck Hotel
#40 of 50 in Imerovigli
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#37 of 50 in Imerovigli
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prekas Apartments
Prekas Apartments
#33 of 50 in Imerovigli
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#19 of 50 in Imerovigli
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Veranda View
Veranda View
#43 of 50 in Imerovigli
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arc Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arc Houses

Property: Arc Houses
Address: Malteza Square, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#20 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Hotel Class:3 star — Arc Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCHouses hotel is situated in Imerovigli - known for the breathtaking view to the Caldera - at the highest point of the settlement. The hotel lies 50m. from the church of Panagia Maltesa ( Maltese ) and 1.8 km from Fira, the capital of the island. The hotel offers magnificent views of the volcano, the Aegean Sea and the, undoubtedly, most famous sunset in the world.The ARCHouses complex is a mixture of traditional cycladic and modern architecture. The architect and householder of Archouses, Mrs. Flora Nastouli, has designed all spaces with much love giving attention to every detail. The fine structural lines and the quality of materials used (linen & silk) create an elegant and luxurious ambience that adds extra comfort in your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Arc Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Arc Hotel Imerovigli
Arc Houses Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing