We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at ARCHouses was perfect!”
Review of Arc Houses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arc Houses
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Our stay at ARCHouses was perfect!”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Our stay at ARCHouses was perfect! After a one week stay, Flora and Barbara were like family. EVERY request we had they went over and above with genuine heartfelt high quality service that included full housekeeping service daily! Great people who really care. It may be the best kept secret on Santorini!

The location is absolutely perfect. Because we were going for our anniversary, and having been been to Santorini before, we had very specific factors and previous knowledge that were taken into consideration in our hotel search for this visit. Because Santorini is electrically serviced by overhead wires, it is very possible to be seeing a myriad of wires as you enjoy your somewhat wire obstructed view. Not the case here. Unless you are at a very expensive hotel at the lowest part of the Caldera, there is going to be something in view. Here, the view is nearly perfect. It is 180 degree water view with the famous rock outcropping Skaros just right of center. The sunset angle is also nearly perfect. What you do see is the roof tops of other buildings on the Caldera and to me the architecture just adds to the amazement since it does not actually obstruct the view from ARCHouses. The balconies are fantastic and there is a roof top veranda.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and all are cave house style. Some are two bedroom and can sleep six. We stayed in the Aegean and the Mediterranean. We opted to make a mid-week move since the larger apartment was not available for the first part of the week. Flora. the owner and an architect, had the porter move our things while we were out enjoying the island. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. They feature nice art and sculptures, toiletries and monogrammed sheets and towels. The kitchenette is provisioned well though our cooking was light. Meats, cheeses, olives, local wines, a few veggies, yogurt and honey and water (for hiking and walking) was our basic home sustenance. The restaurants are to amazing to eat at home much more for us since we love traditional Greek foods. We made breakfast daily and a couple lunches and wonderful snack plates with wine for sunsets or any other time we were home.

We would HIGHLY recommend this beautiful and well cared for apartment hotel. The place is amazing with amazing views and service. Trust that we spent many many many hours researching hotels (20+ hours) from one end of the island to the other. We also already knew the towns, this is the place and a great value. Location, location, location. Fira is about a 20+ minute walk along the pathways. The place directly next door is nearly three times the price! The only thing "missing" is a pool, but just a few doors down with the purchase of drinks you can use the pool! We didn't do this as we were all about exploring this beautiful island, it's foods and wines, the culture, the people, and the history of this amazing place and it was on the cooler side some days. Check it out and go visit: www.archouses-santorini.com

Room Tip: Mediterranean room has priv. balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    40
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
152
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Where to start? Well the most obvious is the amazing view from the front of the apartment, it is stunning. One of the best view points in Santorini, we could spend all day sitting in front of it. Then the room itself was lovely, very well decored and a great layout - it was extremely homely and welcoming. Talking of welcoming, last but not least was the wonderful landlady called Flora, and her daughter Barbara who both ran the reception desk between them. Both were so friendly, helpful and forthcoming. No problem was too small and they took time with any question or query we had. Between these three points I would say that this is one of the best places to stay in Santorini. I would also add that the price gives excellent value for money, they were very kind to give us a free upgrade just because there was a better room available. There was no breakfast provided as most of the apartments are self catering but the kitchen was fully equiped and has lots of cutlery and utensils. I very much enjoying doing some grocery shopping and cooking our own breakfast, it was like a home from home.
Imerovigli is conveniently located between Fira and Oia. We were happy to take the bus everyday to other places and taking the bus is pretty easy, we were given time tables. We were looking for somewhere very quiet without crowds, so this town was perfect. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Santorini then I would highly recommend the ARC Houses as the first place to enquire.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My fiancé and I stayed in Arc Houses for 3 nights at the beginning of May during our 2 week trip to Greece/Italy. We spent many nights reading reviews of different places to try and narrow down our choices. We were looking for something more on the relaxed & quite side of things, but within walking distance to the restaurants & shops in Fira Stefani & Fira. We of course had the usual requirements of a clean & comfortable place with friendly service, and not too expensive.

We chose the 101 Mediterranean room mainly because it has a private balcony, and offered a little more space than the other rooms. The room is split into 3 levels with 3 or 4 steps dividing the levels. The main level includes a kitchenette & living room. There is a 2 burner stove and a small refrigerator under the cabinet. This worked well for drinks, & other items. The upper level is one of the bed rooms that looks over the main level. The room has a firm but comfortable queen bed, desk, and dresser for your clothes. Then there is the lower level that includes another bed room with a queen bed, closet & dresser. The bathroom is located on the lower level. The Bathroom is not very large, and would be a challenge for someone over about 6’2” tall. The shower & toilet are fairly close together, but not too much trouble since we were only in the bathroom for short periods of time. The balcony has a small table with umbrella and 2 chairs where we spent a lot of time taking in the amazing view of the Caldera.

Arc Houses is located in Imerovigli. There is a paved walking path between the different towns. Arc Houses is about a 15 minute walk to Fira Stefani, about 25 minutes to Fira. Fira Stefani has many restaurants and shops, but not near has many as Fira. Fira is the main city and can get very crowded so we did not spend a lot of time there.

Flora, the owner of Arc Houses was extremely friendly & helpful. She arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport and a porter to take our luggage to our room. There are a lot of stairs so this was very helpful & recommended. Flora was also very flexible with us regarding checkout since our ferry leaving Santorini left at midnight. She was also a good source of recommendations of places to see and eat.

I would highly recommend Arc House to anyone headed to Santorini.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BAM1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Great location in quiet area, short walk to Fira, magnificent view of caldera, all rooms different but even Cave is OK. Owner operated. Flora (the owner), an arquitect, makes sure everything is taken care of. She can arrange airport transfers, car rental, In short, excellent base to explore Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

After a lot of contemplation, my wife and I decided to stay in their Mediterranean room for 3 nights during our visit to Santorini, and we couldn’t be satisfied more!

As I notified them of our time of arrival, a young porter boy was waiting for us at the place where we were just beginning to get lost. (He seemed to be actually waiting for more than an hour there as I misinformed the time of our arrival. Sorry about that..)

Upon arrival, Georgia, a daughter of Flora or the owner, gave us recommended places and restaurants to visit for our 3 night staying, and those recommendations were the ones that made a complete difference and our trip to Santorini be memorable forever.

All the restaurants she recommended and we visited were gems; delicious and reasonable prices. On top of that, the beach and beach house of her recommendation – that’s the one we couldn’t love more and couldn’t leave until the time when we almost miss our dinner reservation at a restaurant, which was also a gem and whose taste hasn’t got out of our minds for such a long time.

The room was perfect. I don’t think I need to mention anything on that as all the others’ comments and pictures say it all. We totally enjoyed rather tranquility at our private terrace either upon sunset or sunrise or even during the night. The room was so quiet that I was able to fall asleep to the extent that I regained my power for the following day every night. I can go forever and without any setbacks.

ArcHouse IS the one where we will definitely stay again at our next visit to Santorini; guaranteed!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingJaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I stayed at Arc Houses for three nights in September 2010 with a friend visiting from Australia. First impression was the stunning view of the sea and Caldera of Santorini from such a high point (this place is probably not for those with vertigo!). Secondly, was the warm and friendly welcome from Flora Nastouli, the owner and architect of these lovely cave houses, after a pretty awful Easyjet journey from the UK. The rooms are beautiful, each designed in their own style (we were upgraded for one night), and have good but basic cooking facilities. There is a restaurant a 2 min walk away which was good but very little else immediately around in the way of food and drink (except supermarkets) so we self-catered for two nights. Would definitely return here and recommend it to any adult who likes a quiet, beautiful place to stay with stunning views.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amandasoftly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I stayed in the "Cove" apartment and it was lovely. Flora was wonderful; she arranged for a car to pick me up from the ferry, and a porter was waiting at the top of the steps to guide me in. She spent about 25 minutes with me, showing me on a map some her recommendations for places to visit on the island. Great stay! The room itself was quaint and clean with a slightly obstructed (yet gorgeous) view. There is a rooftop terrace where you can watch the sunset.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank 22zorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.1 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#38 of 50 in Imerovigli
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#19 of 50 in Imerovigli
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Merovigliosso Apartments
Merovigliosso Apartments
#33 of 50 in Imerovigli
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aeolos Studios & Suites
Aeolos Studios & Suites
#39 of 50 in Imerovigli
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heliades Apartments
Heliades Apartments
#25 of 45 in Imerovigli
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arc Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arc Houses

Property: Arc Houses
Address: Malteza Square, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#20 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Hotel Class:3 star — Arc Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCHouses hotel is situated in Imerovigli - known for the breathtaking view to the Caldera - at the highest point of the settlement. The hotel lies 50m. from the church of Panagia Maltesa ( Maltese ) and 1.8 km from Fira, the capital of the island. The hotel offers magnificent views of the volcano, the Aegean Sea and the, undoubtedly, most famous sunset in the world.The ARCHouses complex is a mixture of traditional cycladic and modern architecture. The architect and householder of Archouses, Mrs. Flora Nastouli, has designed all spaces with much love giving attention to every detail. The fine structural lines and the quality of materials used (linen & silk) create an elegant and luxurious ambience that adds extra comfort in your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Arc Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Arc Hotel Imerovigli
Arc Houses Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing