We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, fab location”
Review of Hotel Kallisto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kallisto
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from our stay in Santorini. We stayed at Kallisto and even though I have seen mixed reviews here and there, we really enjoyed our stay. The location for us was great. What we look for in a holiday is to explore different places and culture. So we weren't at the hotel that much. It's about a 20 minute walk to Fira. You walk through Firostefani and the views throughout are amazing. We did a lot of walking and you can catch the bus from Imerovigli. The bus stop is about a 2 minute walk so only around the corner from hotel. We walked to Fira everyday instead though as all buses stop at Fira so you would have had to get on a different bus to get to your location. We found it saved money and you can just enjoy the views as you walk.

We were instantly upgraded to Room 8 before we arrived. Room 8 was the right one by the pool. Rooms were cleaned everyday. The free breakfast that was provided we enjoyed. If you want variety you need to say. The basic continental comes with some bread rolls which are warm, selection of fruit, slice of cake, natural greek yogurt, honeys and jam. You can request for either coffee or tea and you get orange juice as well. You can ask for ham and cheese but you just need to let them know. I believe there may be croissants you can ask for too but we never did.

We didn't have any problems here and Julian was an excellent host. I'm a very organised person so had a couple of tours booked already. I know that Julian would have been able to help if we needed advice on what places to go to on the island. He was very attentive and asked us a few questions about ourselves.

Thank you to Julian for being a good host and to Ilias/Elias for serving our breakfast every morning. It's a great team here and we will back to stay if we ever come back to Santorini.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meeshlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 150 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is difficult to rate this hotel. Undoubtedly, this hotel’s location is absolutely great. Fantastic views, in a quiet spot, yet not far from the main street-in other hotels in the area you need to climb stairs etc. The outside space is fantastic, especially the pool area because of the breathtaking views. This fantastic area is the biggest advantage and biggest disadvantage of the hotel:
All rooms are not the same. There are rooms by the pool area, maisonettes in Cycladic style- which I find really great- double rooms beneath the pool that are somehow similar to the former but are situated inside the caves and the suites also beneath the pool area that have different decor. The rooms by the pool are fantastic but very close to the pool; so people are swimming just outside your door. Other rooms are under the pool area, which means you can hear people, the pools’ tubes and chairs moving above your head etc. Not very clear and loud but you can’t say it is quiet either. The truth is that management has tried to do sth about this, the pool is open from 10.00 and the bar closes by 00.00. I guess there is nothing else they can do. Can they?
If you read some reviews, you will notice that far too many people –like us- get an upgrade. If they find a flaw, the answer from management is that “they got an upgrade” and that the “room has been renovated” and that it is “x meters long”. Actually the suites are spacious and are full of expensive antiques. I wish they had spent less in impressive stuff and more to other things. So to the plus side, our room had lots of space, a queen size bed, a nice shower, slippers, safe deposit box and other amenities as it is usual for its class. On the other hand, our bathroom, too, had water on the floor all the time. Our room, too, was musty. Our breakfast, too, was poor.
Especially the latter, it can easily be fixed. And when they told us we should have asked for it, I have to say that continental breakfast was practically announced to us upon arrival, that there was no form in our room where we could choose the type of breakfast you prefer, also during breakfast all trays had the same things. Anyhow I do not want to ask for it, I expect a better breakfast in such a hotel in the first place. Our bathtub also had some small holes in it that needed to be fixed. It is details like this that a guest will watch, especially when they stay in such an expensive hotel. This does not mean we did not like the hotel in general, but it certainly made our stay less brilliant than expected.
Bottom line is we got a huge room with nice décor and views and we enjoyed them both, but in which we had to splash every time we entered the bathroom, we could hear strange noises from upstairs, it was a bit musty and in the final morning we left almost hungry without being able to use the pool either as it wasn’t 10 am yet.
I hope they will consider the reviews here and use them to their benefit because this hotel has such potential and they look like people who love their business. If they did we would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: prefer the maisonettes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
5  Thank Vicky24_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have read some of the negative comments posted by some people on Tripadvisor, and they are really silly and untrue. The Hotel Kallisto is a first class establishment. We stayed there at the beginning of September 2013, and we enjoyed it thoroughly. All the staff are exceptionally helpful and wonderful. The facilities are all excellent, and the location of the hotel is the best in the island. there was no need to rent a car because the bus stop is nearby. We stayed with our 2 and a half year old toddler, and every need was catered for. The food was all delicious, and Julian (Ioulianos) the manager is extremely efficient, and provides excellent dining recommendations. Tips : get the big master room. lots of lovely space.

Room Tip: the big master suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talosthewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Located at one of the prime locations on the island, it has a very nice view about sunset and the ocean view is fantastic. Room service breakfast at our little balcony is what we enjoyed the most. Hotel helped & suggested the ATV rental at downtown, but there is actually one store within walking distance (Would suggest you rent from the nearby store, so u can return the bike whenever you want) Highly recommended you to rent on coz it's not the most convenience location on the island. Bus is available, but it's not frequent... so remember to bring your driver license!! The interior of the room is a bit outdated, but it's still quite comfy. The only problem is the piping system in the bathroom.... we had water come out from the other pipes when we were taking shower, so the floor was wet every night. Depends on how long did u take your shower, the longer u took, the larger floor area got wet. Kindly remind due to there are no fresh water available on the island, except Oia, everywhere on the island has slightly salty water from the tap (non drinkable).

Room Tip: Can request room closer to the main building, so less walk is needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfu0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were celebrating our 20 year wedding anniversary recently. The town of Imerovigli is very charming with many hills to walk up and down make sure you bring comfortable shoes ! The views of the caldera were breathtaking from this hotel. The air conditioning in the room worked poorly and the bathroom smelled. The staff tried to be friendly. We rented a car at the Sunbird they were very nice and helpful with directions on how to get around the island. We drove to the town Fira at night which was about 10 minutes away. There were many restaurants and shops. That was a plus. The beaches were beautiful. Must visit red beach ! Go to Mama's for dinner in Fira. It was very good.
Also another very good restaurant with a amazing roof top view of the caldera and sunset was Mezzo in the town of Imerovigli. Not a 5 star hotel. We did not not let it ruin our Santorini vacation.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms at this hotel not sure if any of them are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This small boutique hotel is on top of a hill with breathtaking views from every side. The hotel is ideally located just a 3 minute drive by car from fira town, and around 10 minutes away from Oia.
But the real jewel of this hotel was the service, the gentleman by the pool was always helpful and the cleaning ladies were always smiling. Alexander and Julian( the hotel manager) were both very attentive and kind. Their advice on were to eat and which club to go to were spot on. They were also kind enough to let us check out late because we had an evening flight. The hotel would truly not be the same without them. I highly recommend this hotel because of these two kind gentlemen and the rest of their smiling staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IbrahimElzein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is beautifully located and has a wonderful view (a bit chilly and windy place though). The whole village of Imerovigli is stunning and a really good choice for your Santorini vacation
Kalisto place looks like what used to be 2 stars hotel that tried to force it to 5 stars level but unfortunately was stacked at 3 stars.
The rooms are nice, have some charm but for sure couldn't call it 5 stars accommodation. There is no real comfort, the small details are missing, there is no cattle for tea in the room, they don't give you extra bottle of water after the 3rd day of stay and many more small things...
The pool waiters and other support staff is great, but the rest is very poor, On the last day we asked the management to prepare us the breakfast 10 minutes before the official breakfast start (at 7.50 am - 10 minutes before 8am breakfast start) due to our flight itinerary. We organized with the hotel staff our airport transfer (paid for it of course). However they refused and said we could buy some toasted sandwiches the night before...
All together very poor but haven't spoil in any way our Santorini holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena_Maputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian Z, Manager at Hotel Kallisto, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments. In my point of view it seems that your comments seem quite warm with exception of 2 issues that you mention, which I will analyze further.
Analytically, you mention that rooms have some charm but you could not call it a 5 star property. Well, as a manager I am saying that we accommodated you in our Maisonette room, original reservation was a Standard double, so a major upgrade was given to you gratis, with bedroom on the loft and a spacious sitting area, about 55 sq.m. Hotel was fully rennovated and refurbished in 2010 by the way. In contradiction with your opinion, almost all our guests claim that our property is at least a 4*, kindly check the reviews, I will respect your opinion even though I do not agree when you claim our property as 2*. Very unfair towards the Hotel.

Furthermore, you mention that there is no real comfort and the small details are missing. Indeed, we do not have a kettle in the room, but we provide it upon request. You never asked for, unfortunately.

Regarding the bottle of water, we do offer it complimentary only upon arrival. The mini bar and water is extra charge if you needed to consume, like in every hotel of the world. So, I do not really understand where the issue is. You refer to many more small things, which of course you do not precise them. You are giving out to the public the idea of many things to be lacking, but it is not a good thing if you do not specify them.

I am very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service and staff but on the other hand you are writing that all the rest is very poor and once again you are not practically precising what all the rest is!

Now, regarding the breakfast I am really surprised to see that you ordered breakfast the night before 10 minutes before your departure. The truth is that you ordered breakfast for 07:30 and not 7:50. I told you the night before that we could prepare some light snacks so you could take with in the morning. Breakfast, is served always after 8 a.m. Of course, you should not be writing that you needed to buy the sandwiches. We informed you to offer you the snacks from the night before, GRATIS of course at no charge at all. You are offending us ethically by writing that you had to buy the snacks.

To sum up, judging from your writings, you did like your accommodation, the facilities and the view, you did like the services and our staff but somehow our hotel still remains, according to your opinion, a 2* property. I feel a bit puzzled about it. I have not made it to figure out why!!! I will be very glad if you visit Santorini again, not neccessarily our hotel. At least, Santorini remains yet unique and beautiful!! Thank you very much.

Warm island greetings,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 51 in Imerovigli
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Merovigliosso Apartments
Merovigliosso Apartments
#35 of 51 in Imerovigli
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Csky Hotel
Csky Hotel
#37 of 51 in Imerovigli
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kallisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kallisto

Address: Imerovigli, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: $112 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kallisto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kallisto Imerovigli Santorini HotelSantorini, the most beautiful Cycladic island, an island that emerged from the embrace of mother earth, an island that will spell every visitor with its unique beauty and character.Kallisto a 200 years old mansion, fully renovated in the year 2000 to be a luxury hotel. Keeping in mind the architectural tradition of Santorini, we have created a unique, luxury hotel that offers all the modern amenities. The excellent service, our fully-trained staff and the friendly atmosphere, combined with personal care and hospitality, welcomes you and invites you to discover the incomparable beauty of Santorini. Built in the highest point of Imerovigli village, Kallisto hotel offers to the guests incredible views of the Caldera and the endless blue of the Aegean sea. Focal point for daily escapes, since it's geographical position is just a few minutes away from the main places of interest of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kallisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kallisto Hotel Imerovigli
Hotel Kallisto Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing