We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Service Makes the Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kallisto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kallisto
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Imerovigli
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Service Makes the Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife, baby and I stayed here for 10 days in September 2013. We had the Master Suite which was nice and spacious with its own kitchenette and terrace, both helpful for a long-stay with a baby. Rooms were nice, a little overly furnished and bathtub could have been bigger but expectations are high for Santorini where ratings are generally 4-5 stars for quite a few places. Facilities were nice and there is a lots of tanning and pool space for the amount of units. And yes, the view is fantastic.

The part that makes the hotel is the service. Everything from the bellmen who came out to meet our cab up the street to bring our luggage to the daily breakfast brought to our patio to the cleaning lady to the front deck. Everyone is courteous, works hard to go the extra mile and gives service with a smile. Our little family enjoyed it very much and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 76Randy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    22
    13
    3
    13
See reviews for
16
73
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the great reviews. The location for us was ideally located between Fira and Oia. Fira is a 10 minute walk on a clifftop pathway. It is a very easy and pleasant walk onto Fira. We found the location great and the views are spectacular from anywhere in the hotel.

This was one of 3 hotels we booked on our trip through the greek islands and it was the reservation we had the most expectations for. We were ultimately a bit disappointed.

Firstly, let me say that I would have given this hotel 2 stars if not for the manager Julian. He was very helpful and went out of his way to try to help. He is an asset to the hotel as are the barman and room services guys. 1st class. The other staff were indifferent and not overly helpful; I always got the feeling that I was bothering them.

Pros

Great location
Great views
Julian and the pool staff are great
Better than average room meal menu. We were pleasantly surprised with the choice

Cons

Being at the top of the hill, it is a bit windy
No water on Day #3 of our stay
VIP Suite is directly underneath the pool lounge which can get noisy
Another guest complained his camera was stolen from his room


So why did I give this just 3 stars?

When we arrived we were instantly offered an upgrade to the VIP Suite. Needless to say, we didn't argue. It is a beautiful room with a very private balcony on the caldera. It was breathtaking. When we went inside, we noticed the floor was damp, we thought that it had just been mopped.

When taking a shower, we realised that the shower enclosure was leaky and water ran onto the bathroom floor. The only problem is that the floor does not slope towards the floor drain. We rolled up the hotel towels to try to trap the water in the bathroom with only moderate success. Hence, the wet floors when we arrived.

We also had a bunch of Aussies in the hotel at the same time and the pool bar area (obviously) got a bit rowdy. The roof in our room is concrete and every sound from above resonated into our bedroom. This is not the hotel's fault but could explain why the VIP Suite was conveniently available when we arrived.

We also booked with Expedia and were given a 90 Euro credit with the booking to be used at the hotel spa. When we went to redeem the spa credit, we were told that the spa closed in August. Julian offered us a bottle of champagne instead. We didn't mind but it just seemed odd that a hotel would offer a spa credit when the spa was already closed.

Knowing that we had a limited stay, we had to insist on the champagne (to replace the 90 Euro spa credit when we booked) and when it arrived at was cheap, Italian and Spumante which was delivered to our room warm. On a trip to Jimmy's general store a few blocks away the next day, I found it on the shelf for 8 Euros. We felt a bit cheated.

Also, on Day#3, the water was cut to our room when my wife was in the middle of her shower. This was our check out day and she wanted to shower before taking the ferry to Mykonos. This was more of a pain than a complaint.


As I said, this is not a bad hotel, maybe we just hit some bad luck or set our expectations too high. The experience could have been better but it was not bad. Julian is great and if we did go back it would only be because of him.

Room Tip: The suite underneath the pool lounge area can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian Z, Manager at Hotel Kallisto, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment our Hotel on Tripadvisor. Guests' comments and observations are always welcomed.
Te begin with, I would deeply like to thank you for your warm compliments towards my colleagues and me personally. We always try hard to do our best offering our services 24hrs - 7days all along the season.

Now, regarding your reservation, you had booked a superior room through Expedia.com. Official rate of the Superior 290,00Euro. We accommodated you in our VIP (Master) suite with official rate 800,00 Euro. On your entering the room, I previously informed you that the floor had just been mopped. It is not that water was leaking from the bathroom. I need to admit that water runs out the bathtub only when having a shower. So, definitely we are going to fix this out. It's a minor problem. I highly appreciate your contribution in making us improve.

Secondly, you refered to our honorable guests from Australia as " a bunch of Aussies". To tell you the truth I feel very sad when reading such phrases, which create an atmosphere of discrimination and racism among our international guests. Everyone here is welcomed regardless of his/her national origin. I know you were a bit annoyed, because our respected Australians guests used to gather all together by the veranda and had fun. I feel sorry for any annoyance and incovenience. They were more than happy because their best friend would get married.

Additionally, that room was not offered to you in order to deter you from making complaints regarding our Australians guests. I feel sorry, but you were not the only guest in the hotel. The hotel was full of guests in the middle of September. We could had well offered you the superior room by the pool area. The VIP room was only offered as a complimentary upgrade. We usually use to do so, when guests are on a honeymoon.

Now, regarding our Spa services, I feel very sorry about. We did not do that on purpose. I consider I was very frank towards you reporting that our Spa department was closed at the end of August, without presenting any other groundless justifications. It is totally my personal fault, cause I should had removed in advance our spa complimentary offer for the period of September, which was adverstised on Expedia.com. Let me clarify that spa treatment was a gratis offer, you did not pay extra for that. Kindly, accept my apologies.

Now, the champagne you mention, I feel very surprised, allow me to say that this is exclusively imported fom Italy. Jimmy's market has never had this kind of champagne. I know the guys there and I usually use to shop there. Actually, you will not find it being sold generally in Santorini. Most probably, you are mistaking it with another kind.

As far as the water supply concerned in the room, there was just a few minutes cut due to the fall of a safety button on the electric panel. Water supply was restored immediately since the first moment you informed us. This incident can well happen in any hotel of the world.

You also refer to a stolen camera from a room. I really wonder when did this happen???? I feel very puzzled about. Excuse me, but your comment is more than unfair towards our hotel. Such an incident never happened and I am very confident to say that we have never been having such incidents in our hotel. Besides, no one came to the office to report the loss of a camera. Don't you think such a serious incident would have come under my consideration immediately?? Sir, you know very well, besides you saw me on your own, that I am present at the hotel all along the day, till late at night. So, it really surprises me how you heard about such loss of a camera.

Finally, judging from your comments overall, it seems you had more a good time than a bad one. Certainly, I would like you to give us the chance to accommodate you once again. I will be here next season, so I am expecting you again to offer you another enjoyable and relaxing stay in one of our suites. In case you decide to book with us, I will certainly upgrade you in our executive suite which is as large as the VIP one and features all comforts and standards of a 5* property. It might be an alternative experience. Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Kallisto.

With all my respect and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I am very picky person when it comes to hotel quality, but I can easily say that Kallisto met all my expectations. At many points even exceeded them :)

Let me begin with the views ... since this hotel is located on Caldera's highes point, the views are spectacular. (Let the pictures speak for themselves). Every morning we (me and my wife) had pleasure to wake up with amazing view of Caldera and eat our breakfast on huge patio.

Location, location, location.... this is personal preference but I usually don't want to stay on main tourist paths, where hotels are located too close to foot traffic (especially all those tourists from cruises wondering on other hotel premisses trying to take a "perfect photo"). This is why Imerovigli (where Kallisto is located) was better choice for me than Oia or Fira. We still had perfect walking distance to Fira with all benefits of close proximity to good restaurants (closest one is maybe 50 steps away) and grocery store, car/atv rental, bus top etc. Very very convenient location, quiet and relaxing.

Distance to other recommended attractions (by car) is:
to Oia - 15min
to Parissa Beach - 25min
to Megalohori - 20min
to Faros - 35min

Staff / Service .... what can I say... Julian (manager) is the engine of the whole operation :) He speaks Greek, English, German, some Polish and probably even more languages, but what is more important he is always there to help with any question or issue you might have. (Julian if you read this, ... ευχαριστώ πολύ )
Other crew members are equally nice, friendly and polite (thank you Elias for serving us those tasty breakfasts).

Hotel cleanliness ... perfect. Hotel is recently renovated, and you can see that everything is practically brand new. Towels, sheets changed daily.

To sum this up... I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone. You could probably find fancier ultra luxurious hotels on Santorini but I couldn't justify to spend almost double the price for minimal difference in quality ...and now I'm happy I didn't :)

Room Tip: I always complain when people post pictures of their rooms without telling which name/number of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian Z, Manager at Hotel Kallisto, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Sir,

Well, I don't really know what to say. I am speechless. I don't know how I could thank you for your warm compliments and your positive comments. Thank you very very much many times. I will be very glad to welcoming you again. It has been our greatest pleasure to have you here with us. I feel very sorry though that I gave you a small room due to full occupancy, but I do hope in the future you will give me the chance to upgrade you gratis in one of our large suites. Have a lovely winter and I send you all our warm island greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The place is magnificent, the view breathtaking. The best situation to be in Santorini, just 15 min.walk to Fira and the place is very quiet. The manager Julian is always make sure that everything is fine. All the employees are very nice and take care of U. The breakfast on the terrace with the view and with the nicest smile of Elias....a must. I will miss this place and for sure if I have a chance to go back, I will definitly go at the Kallisto. Thank to made my trip so pleasant xxxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmorin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The place is just magnificent
The view from the hotel is breathtaking
Small hotel but rooms have all the needed amenities
The personnel is extremely friendly and make you feel like home
One of our best experiences for years

Room Tip: Try to get the maisonette no 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yannisParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked for a standard Double room at Alexander Villas, however on the day of arrival was given a Superior Double Room at their sister hotel in Kallisto Hotel. Room 3. The view is spectacular. We have a small seating area in front of our room. The room is spacious enough for 2. The toilet amenities are nice with azzaro toiletries.. The place easily accessible to City of Fira. We rented an atv, hence no worries with transportation but the bus stop is just a minute walk. The breakfast is a variety of breads. The hotel is very nice and comfortable. Plus you also get to enjoy the amenities of Alexander Villas as well.. Imerovigli is the best place to stay in Santorini when it comes to budget and view.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this deluxe boutique Hotel for 4 nights. We did a lot of research before we picked this hotel and it fulfilled all our expectations. The Hotel has the most amazing view and you just need to call the friendly staff in the morning when you are ready for breakfast which you can enjoy either at your room or outside under the umbrellas with the breathtaking view. The Hotel also offer cheap but very good lunch.
It’s a quiet Hotel which never got crowded and the pool area is a very nice place to recharge your batteries. Rooms seems like they are brand new and everything is as you expect at a Hotel of this standard. The Manager Julian is very friendly and helpful and had a lot of insight regarding nice restaurants and things to do.
The Hotel also offer massages, pedicure, manicure etc. We both had a great massage at the Hotel. Check it out as the prices and quality is spot on.
We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: We had a room close to the pool area (there are 3 of those). We can highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas33Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian Z, Manager at Hotel Kallisto, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your warm comments, we higlhy appreciate it. It has been a pleasure too for us to have you here at Kallisto. Of course, we will be very glad to welcoming you back again. My kindest greetings to your family and of course your very beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.2 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#24 of 49 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & SPA
Abyssanto Suites & SPA
#32 of 49 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aeolos Studios & Suites
Aeolos Studios & Suites
#36 of 49 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
1.8 mi away
Csky Hotel
Csky Hotel
#31 of 49 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#18 of 49 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kallisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kallisto

Property: Hotel Kallisto
Address: Imerovigli, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kallisto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kallisto Imerovigli Santorini HotelSantorini, the most beautiful Cycladic island, an island that emerged from the embrace of mother earth, an island that will spell every visitor with its unique beauty and character.Kallisto a 200 years old mansion, fully renovated in the year 2000 to be a luxury hotel. Keeping in mind the architectural tradition of Santorini, we have created a unique, luxury hotel that offers all the modern amenities. The excellent service, our fully-trained staff and the friendly atmosphere, combined with personal care and hospitality, welcomes you and invites you to discover the incomparable beauty of Santorini. Built in the highest point of Imerovigli village, Kallisto hotel offers to the guests incredible views of the Caldera and the endless blue of the Aegean sea. Focal point for daily escapes, since it's geographical position is just a few minutes away from the main places of interest of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Kallisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kallisto Hotel Imerovigli
Hotel Kallisto Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing