We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maltese Estate Villa
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible attitude”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was "upgraded" to a room with great views. However the entry door was broken and could not be closed or locked. After informing the front desk the explanation was that due to it having rained the night before we should not expect the door to close. A maintenance man who was supposed to fix it never showed up. I was given multiple excuses and a choice to go to another hotel Without A REFUND!!!! This is the face of customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank gillco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    52
    30
    13
    35
See reviews for
48
169
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mildura
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed October 2013.
This place has one of the best views imaginable overlooking the Caldera.We booked through Getaway Lounge and were given a poolshare room at the side but not with a view. The room was great, very modern bathroom and well appointed and very comfortable.The staff were all wonderful especially Adrianna(reception) and Tony(waiter/cocktail maker)... (who tried to teach us some Greek language).The rooms were always kept neat and tidy with numerous staff constantly cleaning/sweeping/dusting etc... job well done.
Meals were great (particularly breakfast) and cocktails by the pool were superb,particularly Tony's special.Also the Spa and steamroom facilities were great and very well organised.. my massage was great.
The location was the best with fewer people than in Fira or Oia and views to die for.. we didnt want to leave. Thanks to all who helped make the last section of our European vacation the best part.Craig and Pam Mildura Australia

Room Tip: The shared pool is probobly not necessary if you would rather a view from your room. The main pool i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

After looking at their website I was really looking forward to staying here, even taking into account the terrible reviews. This hotel should not be a 5*. Starting on a positive - the views were indeed amazing, once you learnt not to look in the direction of the cables or the quarter finished derelict building next door. Adelina remained professional even though her and the few staff were run ragged. Service very slow but once you got it, professional. The reception/dining/lounge (strange but true) clean and chic. Outside bar area, seating and pool - great. The location is good - being almost in the middle of the island. Now for the negatives - I expect hot water at all times, surely this is a basic? To have a cold water shower three nights on the trot is NOT acceptable. After complaining I was told it would be fixed straight away - it wasn't. I only had a hot shower one night out of a seven night stay. Bathroom is not up to 5* rating. There was hanging space for clothes, but only half a dozen hangers for two people, good job I always pack more. However, all my underwear, bikinis, t shirts etc had to be put on a small trolley - no chest of drawers. My husband had to line his clothes up in piles on the floor! Some days the bed wasn't even made. Why doesn't someone remove the disgusting, rusting & unused Jacuzzi below the pool? This hotel really does have to decide if it is a wedding venue or a hotel for holidaymakers. It cannot do both at the same time. Three weddings whilst we were there, two of them were small/intimate affairs and were over and done with relatively quickly. One wedding took over the entire public areas for most of the afternoon and all of the night. This is unacceptable. This hotel should only be rated, at the most, a 4*. We didn't experience double bookings of rooms, but other guests staying the same time did - this seems to be a recurring problem. It is such a shame, as alot of the above is easily corrected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 477happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were absolutely blown away by the views and location of the hotel, and things only improved further as we settled in for 5 days. The staff were all friendly and very accommodating and the whole atmosphere was one of pure indulgence and serenity.
Our room was fantastic and the breakfasts were to die for not to mention a couple of dinners we indulged in while we were there. Hats off to the wonderful chef, Adelina, and Roger, who always seemed to know what we wanted to order before we even spoke! Thanks also to Thanos and Tony for your wonderful service.

Room Tip: Rooms with the semi-private shared pool were great if you can't extend to the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our stay in La Maltese was an unforgetable experience. From the first moment we had Adelina's sweet smile with us during our whole stay!. We wonder if there is anything she does not know. Her reccomendations made our holiday exciting, interesting and amazing.Thanks Adelina thanks a lot! One more thank to Roger for the excellent service and kindness. His sincere attitude and professionalism was very impressive..
Hope to be there soon..
Who knows maybe for a honeymoon this time!
Magda

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

On first impressions, I thought this hotel was wonderful however things went horribly wrong when the manager offered us an 'upgrade'. She knew we were on our honeymoon, she said, and as such wanted to offer this amazing opportunity to us first. She said a brand new sister hotel was keen to become better known and get people in so she had managed to secure a suite with sea view and private pool for us. Stupidly we agreed, only to find ourselves in a sprawling concrete maze of a hotel, with zero character, in the most far flung corner of the island and a 40 euro cab ride away from anywhere.
We didn't even bother checking in and returned straight back to La Maltese only to be told she had let out our room to a member of a wedding party which was being held in the hotel that night. Clearly this was the reason for moving us, not out of any kindness as implied.
It is actually a pretty awful thing to do to a couple on their honeymoon, move them from a lovely boutique hotel into something vastly inferior, in character and rating. It was simply not a like for like swap, and definitely not an upgrade. Then there were the lengthy ensuing arguments about where to be put next, which got increasingly distressing as we could believe she was trying to put us in one second rate hotel after another.
Eventually, after a very unpleasant couple of hours, we were put in the lovely Avaton Resort and Spa (which was actually better in many ways).
We had a fantastic honeymoon but that afternoon being duped by the very people who are supposed to be looking after you was extremely regrettable and the worst example of hospitality I've come across.
In short, the hotel may be lovely but if you can't trust the staff to do the right thing by you, I'd rather not stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokolbin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Enjoy the delightful ambience and very personal service provided by the truly excellent staff ...nothing is too much trouble. I am dreaming of my return! The views, service and food are to die for! It should be on your bucket list.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VillasdeVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Csky Hotel
Csky Hotel
#34 of 50 in Imerovigli
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tholos Resort
Tholos Resort
#30 of 50 in Imerovigli
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#20 of 50 in Imerovigli
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Suites
Cocoon Suites
#24 of 50 in Imerovigli
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maltese Estate Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maltese Estate Villa

Property: La Maltese Estate Villa
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#31 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maltese Estate Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the highest point of the Caldera, 250m above the sea on the top of the traditional village of Imerovigli, with spectacular views of the village, the cliff, the volcano, the famous sunset and the Caldera rim 10 km from Santorini International Airport and 10 km from Athinios Port 3 km from the capital of the island, Fira located La Maltese Estate, a neoclassic mansion-captain’s house, a true sample of luxury and culture have been renovated and converted to a luxury exclusive Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maltese Estate Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maltese Hotel And Restaurant
La Maltese Estate Villa Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing