We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most amazing experience of our lives!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prekas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prekas Apartments
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The most amazing experience of our lives!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I am lost for words to describe how absolutely beautiful this place is. All I can say is this place is UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!! If a true Greek Islands experience is what your after then this is it without a doubt! We originally booked our stay for 5 nights but loved it so much we extended it another 4 nights, totaling 9 nights.   The views are to die for and the accommodation itself is superb.  Everything about this place is amazing, especially the people who run Prekas, no one has ever made us feel so welcome and they were extremely accommodating in organizing for us to be able to stay on an extra 4 nights.

The apartments themselves are so lovely and really feel like your in Greece, our room was huge and we loved it.   No matter which room you get you have the most magnificent view you will ever see from your private balcony. The sun sets right in front of your very eyes and it's the most beautiful thing I've ever seen.  It's very VERY quiet there which we loved, the peace and the serenity is like no other, while watching the sun set you hear absolutely nothing it's that quiet and peaceful.

The apartments are on a cliff top and not within decent walking distance to the closest main town (Fira - about a 7 minute drive from Prekas Apartments) but there are mini supermarkets and things that you can walk to within minutes.  We hired a 4 wheel quad bike for the duration of our stay which was extremely worthwhile as we got to see all of this beautiful island and then come back to our most beautiful accommodation and watch the sun set. The pool is on the cliffs edge and looks over the calmest of oceans, it's perfect for swimming in after a hot day in Santorini .

We have been traveling around Europe for 3 months and this is our last stop and staying here was the most perfect end to a long holiday.  Of all the places we have seen and stayed in all over Europe nothing compares to how beautiful it is here and the people who run it.  I can not recommend this place enough! As I mentioned we had a quad bike and drove all over the island and saw some pretty nice places and some awesome views, but NONE of which compared to the views you get from Prekas, by far the best views on the island that you get to see from your very own room anytime you like. Anyone would be the craziest person on earth to give this a miss.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puppiespaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    31
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
74
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
455 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed 4 nights and loved every night! The views are just amazing. The greet on arrival was great and we quickly settled in. The rooms are "authentic" but all the basics are there. The owners are real characters and very sweet, the recomendation for the fireworks display was a good one! The plunge pool is great and refreshing on a hot day. It's pretty quiet in this part of Santorini, at night you can hear a pin drop! There's a shop at the top of the stairs to pick up your water supply, a few euro for 6 big bottles. The free wireless on our balconey was good so we could sent photos back to make our friends jealous! We hired a quad bike in Imerrovigli which was great for getting around (35E) the views from the roads were excellent. I really loved Prekas, it's a good base with fantastic uninterrupted views. Now that I've seen Santorini, I think next time I would stay in Imerovigili again but at a place with a bigger lounging around pool area so I could do more relaxing and reading. The value for money at Prekas was wonderful and were felt blessed to have stayed there. Thanks for the bottle of Rose too, that was a very nice gesture. Excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Do not expect luxury at the Prekas apartments! The furniture is simple and the tap water has no pressure and it has a strange taste (because of the scarce water sources in Santorini). But that's the only things that one (certainly not me) can be criticise during a stay in this place.

The owners, Captain Prekas and his son Nektarios, are masters of human relations :) and that is very important in Greece. They greet every vacationer with drinks and chat upon the arrival and they are also very helpful during all the stay. According to the comments, this was the main reason for me to choose this place in Santorini.

The property itself is superb. It offers one of the best views possible in the island (because the view is uninterrupted from any other building or rock for about 170 degrees). Everything is white, blue and gray, which is very Santorinian (there are also the typical curtains on the windows and balcony). This is very helpful for the people aiming to shot a lot of pictures and videos. The apartments are located in a very strategic place, because by foot you can arrive to Firostefani and Fira, while a couple of hundred meters you can find the bus station to travel to Oia or to the beaches in Kamari, Perivolos or Akrotirion.

The breakfast is super if compared to the other hotels I have visited in the Greek islands. There is also a very kind and helpful staff assisting for everything you need.

I had overall a great experience. I have also decided that I want to stay at the Prekas each time that I will visit Santorini in the future.

Room Tip: The best view can be seen in the rooms 5-9, which are under the road. The upper rooms have no direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitre, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

How to say it shortly ? We loved that authentic place !

PREKAS apartments is The Place to be at Santorini Island if you are looking for :

- Breathtaking view
- Authentic and sincere contacts for reliable services : NEKTARIOS and his Father, Mr PREKAS from the island
- Nice swimming pool over the sea
- Quiet place with local furnishing
- Excellent quality/price ratio

Let's go to spend time there and you will feel that this place has a soul !

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank regis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at Prekas apartments for three nights and enjoyed every minute. The apartments are surprisingly big, and they all have a terrace or balcony facing the beautiful caldera. The sunset from here is just amazing!. The bath and kitchen might not be top quality, but we couldn't have asked for a better location or better service. Imerovigli is a very quiet and very beautiful town, and still it's only half an hour walk from the more touristy Fira. The owner, Nikos, gave us a very warm welcome and both he and his son offered us a unique service. We couldn't have asked for more and will recommend this place to anyone going to Santorini, looking for a quiet and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tns798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Even though the walls are a little damp and musty, we are greatly enjoying our 5 nights here....2nd last night tonight, in fact. The staff are characters and very polite and helpful. I read reviews before I stayed here, complaining about the pool being cold and too deep for kids, but who in their right mind would travel to the edge of a cliff with young children, anyway?? Cold is very refreshing in the heat, and the pool is no colder than the ocean! Don't come expecting 5 star luxury, especially in the bathroom, but the whole experience has been just what I expected and more....; beds are firm, as usual in Europe but the pillows are fabulous and the sunsets on the balcony after cooking a simple dinner for yourself are just perfect....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

My girlfriend and I went to Ios and Santorini last week. We booked our stay at Prekas directly over the internet the day before we arrived. We had the premium studio, which is great as it overlooks the pool and has a remarkable caldera view. It was great to have a mini kitchen as we made lots of breakfasts and lunches ourselves while enjoying the view. In fact, we liked the sunset experience from our little balcony even better than the one we saw in Oia as it was more relaxing and the view was comparable. We fell in love with Nescafe Frappe, and the housekeeper taught us how to make it and even made it for us. The owner gave us a bottle of wine to enjoy the sunset. One downside was the shower -- no curtain and you had to hold the faucet above you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SN_415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.3 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#39 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Veranda View
Veranda View
#41 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#37 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merovigliosso Apartments
Merovigliosso Apartments
#29 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ilioperato Traditional Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katerina's Castle
Hotel Katerina's Castle
#46 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prekas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prekas Apartments

Property: Prekas Apartments
Address: PO Box 740, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prekas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Prekas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prekas Apartments Hotel Imerovigli
Prekas Apartments Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing