We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
646
57
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
57
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffour honeymoonprivate balconyperfect locationhotel arrangedfira and oiawine tourwould highly recommend this hotelamazing viewssmall kitchenwatching the sunsethotel is situatedgreek saladpool sidesantorini experiencelook no furtherrental car
Filter
Updating list...
582 - 587 of 714 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2009

After much trawling on trip advisor I booked this hotel as a surprise getaway for my partner, and as a romantic location to propose to her, and I couldn't have made a better choice. The Afroessa hotel is one of those places you hope to find, but so rarely do. A fantastic combination of a location to die for, comfortable traditionally styled and furnished rooms, and most importantly, hosts who really understand how to look after their guests.

We will be forever grateful to Ioanna, Mike, Natasha and Eddie for making us feel immediately at home, and also for helping me to arrange the most memorable and romantic evening on which to propose. Despite not having a restaurant, Mike and the team went to great lengths to arrange a lovely traditional Greek meal (prepared by a local taverna ), with champagne and wine, and arranged the most romantic table setting complete with linen table cloth, candles, and flowers.

Location wise, the hotel is very peaceful, and thankfully away from the sometimes cruise ship inflated streets of Fira. Sitting on the edge of Imerovigli, but still only a 25 minute walk along a hugely scenic footpath (or a 5 minute bus ride) away from the centre of Fira, it's perfect for a relaxing and peaceful holiday, but with the ease of getting into Fira for nights out. The footpath at dusk is especially recommended, just as the lights come up on the island!

Oh, and she said yes...

Jason & Helen

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Seriously folks! This is the most amazing resort on the island of Santorini. The staff are so accomodating to your every need. The rooms are incredibly romantic and comfortable. Ours was all white and had a lovely bathroom and patio. The view here is breathtaking! We enjoyed ourselves so much at Afroessa. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFCfromYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

This is a very nice hotel, with accommodating staff, and a truly spectacular view. The staff was very responsive to emails and arranged for a taxi ($15e) to pick us up at the port and take us to the hotel. Honestly, I don't think there would have been any other way to find this hotel. Once we got there, Eddie greeted us and lugged our bags down a long path and then down several flights of stairs to the reception desk. (It's a good thing we were travelling light.) After we settled into our room, which was very quaint and clean, we ventured a short ways to the nearby restaurant and mini-mart. From Imerovigli, there is some bus service, but it made more sense to rent a car to get around Santorini. Nearby, we found Jimmy's rent-a-car who had much better rates than they do in Fira. The staff there was also extremely nice and helpful. We spent three fun-filled days in Santorini and went from tip (Oia) to tip (the lighthouse) and visited many other places inbetween. Unfortunately, Acrotiri is not open to tourists, and probably won't be for quite some time. We did go to Ancient Thira (tip: pay the $10e for the mini-bus because it is a killer uphill walk (~5k) in the heat, and due to road construction you can't drive up right now). The ruins were great to visit and were more extensive than I expected. It was always nice to come home to our peaceful hotel after a day out on the town!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlaGatorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel in all respects. Ioanna and Mike are incredibly helpful hosts, and made our stay absolutely perfect.
The location was perfect for us, as we wanted something quiet and peaceful for our 4 days on Santorini. The hotel provided the ideal backdrop for my engagement proposal as we watched the sunset over the caldera. Ioanna helped setup the evening, and Mike provided the finishing touches with a superb bottle of wine.
The room (#7) was spacious and very comfortable, and we had an amazing view from our balcony. The pool was right below us, and was the perfect tonic to a hot day of walking around.
It should be noted that Imerovigli is not very close to Fira (40 minute walk), so some form of transportation would be helpful to get you around the island. The village did have a couple of good restaurants, so you can stay close to home for a night out.
For breakfast, we ordered from the hotel on 2 mornings and had great meals each time. For having limited facilities, the food was great with generous portions.

As a final note, the plumbing on Santorini is not like the mainland, so you must expect to have lower water pressure anywhere you go and the need to have bottled water on hand for drinking. This didn't present a problem for us, and the hotel even had a cold bottle of water awaiting us upon arrival.
In summary, this is an amazing hotel that is perfect for a romantic stay. The hosts will go out of their way to help make your stay perfect - all you have to do is ask. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we booked this hotel direct (--) and had subsequent email contact with Ioanna who made our stay especially memorable. She arranged a reasonably priced pick-up from the ferry and drop off to the airport on departure.
The rooms look straight out to sea so the sunset is directly in front of you. Fira is about a 35 minute walk along the cliff-top path with spectacular views all the way. Imerovgli is quieter than Fira - much appreciated when the cruise ships are in.
The room we had was built back into the cliff which constrained it's size & layout, but it was clean & confortable with that fantastic view.
The manager (Mike I think) recommended dinner at Skaros fish restaurant a few 100 metres along the path and breakfast at Cafe Delmar (the greek yoghurt with fruit and melon was outstanding) in Fira. Both not to be missed for both excellent food and location.
Once again Trip Advisor was spot on!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Schemers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews