We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveler rating
647
57
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
57
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffour honeymoonprivate balconyperfect locationhotel arrangedfira and oiawine tourwould highly recommend this hotelamazing viewssmall kitchenwatching the sunsethotel is situatedgreek saladpool sidesantorini experiencelook no furtherrental car
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 715 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

One a spur of the moment, while staying in Athens, we decided to go to Santorini for two nights. Hotels were booked in Fiera and Oia. Using Tripadvisor we found this and decided to make do. What a find! Turns out Fiera and Oia are too chocked with visitors and jaded shop owners to be enjoyable. Afroessa is located not far from Fiera but far enough not to attract the crowds. It has perhaps one of the most commanding views of the caldera anywhere on the island cliffs. The hotel is composed of about a dozen rooms (not sure the exact number) spilling down the cliff top. Each room is different and probably has a slightly different view. We were in room 8 located adjacent to the pool. Room was very comfortable. TV, AC, internet, refrigerator, kitchenette. Room was somewhat built into the hillside. Well appointed but difficult to describe although tasteful. view from the room windows, room terrace and the adjacent pool seating area was incredible and relaxing; sea, caldera, distant islands, white washed Oia. The staff were all very pleasant. Breakfast delivered to our terrace. There was even access to Greek restaurant delivery service that came to the hotel and was brought down by the staff (surprisingly reasonably priced). I simply cannot bestow enough accolades on this small hotel. I would definitely rate it my number one for future hotel stays on this island. However, it is rather expensive but in the range of others with similar views.

Room Tip: Pool area was small with limited seating area hence not a noisy place at all. Therefore, I would highly recommend room #8 which is adjacent.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was the 5th (or maybe 6th?) time for me and my wife stay @ Afroessa.
Everything was as fine as the previous times. We love the rooms, the pool, the service, the hospitality of the staff and most of all the marvelous view of the unique Santorini's Caldera!

Santorini is a place you shouldn't miss in your life and Afrossa the place to stay

Looking forward to come back!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YannisAthensAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had 4 nights at the Afroessa and loved every minute of it. After a few days in Mykonos it was the perfect antidote; real serenity with stunning views and scenery. The service from Joanna and staff is worth a special mention...it was superb, exceeded our expectations but was never imposing. The rooms (we stayed in two due to a complimentary upgrade) have great character and as someone who regularly stays in bland hotel chains, were a real treat. We ate in restaurants that were recommended by Joanna and had great meals, although it's almost impossible to beat breakfast from your own balcony overlooking the caldera. Overall it's somewhere we'll return and would enthusiastically recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the end of a long European trip and what a fantastic respite! The hotel is located in the quite town of Imerovigli, roughly between the more tourist-intense Fira and Oia. The peacefulness was so restful. The property itself is a vertical series of rooms with a pool at the bottom, hanging on a cliff. The sunset views are breathtaking. It is so much nicer to see the sunset OVER Oia than watching it IN Oia.

The room was quaint and charming. We had Room 8 right next to the pool. We enjoyed having easy access to the patio as well as an unobstructed view of the caldera. The room was a little rustic but for reasons due to being on an island. For instance, we could not drink the tap water nor flush toilet paper. Minor inconveniences that are a part of international travel.

One of the highlights of staying at Afroessa is the service. Both Ioanna and Eddie were amazing. SO friendly and accommodating and eager to do all that they could to ensure their guests were cared for and happy. Small things like little surprise snacks delivered pool-side in the afternoon, to big things like getting up at 5:30am to help us haul our luggage up the hill to meet the airport shuttle. I gave both Ioanna and Eddie hugs when we had to say good-bye.

This is the only hotel I have stayed at in Santorini -- and I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToniPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 7 totally relaxing days at Afroessa. The location is fantastic with the best balcony views we have ever seen. Forget going to Oia for sunset, this is THE place to be. All 10 rooms face the caldera with breathtaking views. We split our time between two rooms both of which were very clean and comfortable. Each room is decorated in its own style by Joanna, the owner and even has WiFi.

Joanna and her team were warm, welcoming and spoilt us rotten. We left feeling we had made new friends. Nothing was too much trouble from organising trips to delivering delicious breakfasts to our balcony or drinks and snacks to the comfy sun loungers by the small but adequate pool. The hotel is a peaceful oasis, with the feel of a boutique hotel, but within easy walking distance to restaurants, cafes and quiet bars. It is a pleasant 20 to 30 minute walk down the cliff path to Fira.

We had an amazing time at this very special place and can't wait to return. I can't recommend Afroessa highly enough but didn't really want to say it in case it gets so busy we can't stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews