We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Ware,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sheer bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 7 totally relaxing days at Afroessa. The location is fantastic with the best balcony views we have ever seen. Forget going to Oia for sunset, this is THE place to be. All 10 rooms face the caldera with breathtaking views. We split our time between two rooms both of which were very clean and comfortable. Each room is decorated in its own style by Joanna, the owner and even has WiFi.

Joanna and her team were warm, welcoming and spoilt us rotten. We left feeling we had made new friends. Nothing was too much trouble from organising trips to delivering delicious breakfasts to our balcony or drinks and snacks to the comfy sun loungers by the small but adequate pool. The hotel is a peaceful oasis, with the feel of a boutique hotel, but within easy walking distance to restaurants, cafes and quiet bars. It is a pleasant 20 to 30 minute walk down the cliff path to Fira.

We had an amazing time at this very special place and can't wait to return. I can't recommend Afroessa highly enough but didn't really want to say it in case it gets so busy we can't stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    50
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
473
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

There is not much to say besides that this hotel is one of the best in Imerovigli, Santorini for:
- first class, swiftly & caring service
- very clean and amazing little houses -big thanks to the cleaning ladies-
(try to reserve the apartments e.g. no.7 as they are the best)

- wonderful and outstanding view from the terrace
- nice and chilly pool, just right for a cooling off
- rent a Quad to explore the island (about 35EUR/day)
- very nice restaurants nearby, try: mezzo, la maison, estia & Imerovigli Tavern

many thanks again to the afroessa team for you very nice hospitality:)

Room Tip: try the apartments, e.g. No 7 for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gyula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
206 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

A lovely and not exhorbitant small hotel in a wonderful location with a fabulous view. With only 10 rooms it has the personalized feeling of an upscale inn and although it’s tucked in with numerous other hotels on the cliffs of Imerovigli, it didn’t interfere with the feeling of privacy and quiet. Our room was on the cliff path, but just a few people walking by, no problem. The room was in a charming semi-rustic style with many creative touches; we could have used more towel bars in the bath and storage space for our things, though. Shower was great and it was nice to have a living area. If we’d been there more than 4 days, we might have used the kitchen, but more likely the room service, which was so reasonable. One night we ordered wine and it came with a delicious appetizer plate. A lovely pool area, tranquil and pristinely clean. Best of all was Ioanna, the charming owner, who could not have been more welcoming or thoughtful. One day when our small breakfast had been forgotten, she immediately took personal responsibility and then refused to charge us for that breakfast or a subsequent one. We were not surprised, having made a number of arrangements with her before our arrival; she went the extra mile and got the arrangements for transfer from the airport and then later a rental car and had our ferry tickets to Naxos delivered to her so we didn’t have to pick them up elsewhere. This proved to be typical of how she did business, and on top of it all she was just a warm and personable hostess who always had time for any question or just to talk about our time on Santorini. And not to forget the willing Eddie, who was cheerfully on hand to help with the smallest problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelersboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamden, ct
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the end of March and loved it! From the moment we arrived, the owner Joanna, was so welcoming- we even shared a bottle of wine with her on our first night as she told us the story and showed us photos of how her husband and her purchased the property (which is an old winery) and remodeled it to the beautiful property it is today. There are only 10 rooms and each one is different and beautiful in its own way. The view is to die for and the pool is lovely. Eddie will assist you with anything you need and Joanna helped us with a rental car, booking ferry tickets and booking a cruise. There is parking right outside and the location is super close to Fira and only a 15 minute drive to Oia. Joanna is able to recommend the best places to eat, as well. I would highly recommend this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azadeh r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at Afroessa towards the end of May 2013 and it was definitely one of the highlights of our Greek vacation. The hotel is very well appointed and offers stunning views of the caldera. And me and my husband have become fans of the hospitality here. Joanna was so cheerful and helpful, and we wanted to take Eddie back to India with us! We had informed them that this was our honeymoon and when we got to our room we had a bottle of really good wine waiting for us, compliments of the hotel. :)

The rooms are Afroessa are very cozy and charming, the bathrooms are squeaky clean, and the pool-side really was ideal for a little drinking during the sunset. We did order breakfast in our room on one of the days, they lay it out very prettily in the sit-out area and it all feels really like out of a post-card!

While in Santorini if you want to stay at Imerovigli, I would definitely recommend Afroessa.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room, then pick the one of the pool floor. It's the largest, and had a real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. When I arrived with my leg in a plaster cast following an accident on Crete, Ioanna was very kind and considerate in giving us the easiest access room and even welcomed us with a bottle of wine. Her staff were also very helpful and responsive. We had Room 2, attractively decorated, lovely tile work, a small kitchen and a private terrace with awesome views of the caldera. Two very good tavernas just a short stroll away and you can also order breakfast which they will serve in your room. Lovely peaceful place to stay away from all the hub in Fira or Oia. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mblp31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Afroessa at the end of May 2013. What a find! First, we cannot overstate how friendly and helpful Joanna, Kara (spelling?) and Eddie were. From the moment we arrived until the moment Eddie loaded our bags on the transfer they were always ready to help and did so with a smile.

Our room was a right off of the pool, which gave us easy access to the lounge chairs and the view. I know many people say that the sunset from Oia is the best there is, but I cannot imagine a better view of it than we had from the pool! A couple we met by the pool went to Oia for it and said it was not as spectacular as from the Afroessa...

We ordered breakfast and coffee which was quickly delivered to the room and was excellent. Keep in mind that they do not serve coffee and breakfast until 9:00a. If you are an early riser, you need to make the 10 minute walk down to the bakery in town. I did this and brought coffee back to enjoy while overlooking the caldera...

As a heads up to some travelers - you need to be aware that there is no elevator and LOTS of stairs. If you have issues with taking stairs I would consider another hotel. But if you don't mind stairs this is a great location. The old Fira-Oia trail/path literally runs through the hotel property. We hiked about 2 miles on this toward Oia one morning and really enjoyed the views.

Thank you again to the staff for making our stay so enjoyable!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 82 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Property: Afroessa Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#4 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing