We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque hotel with warm staff”
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is beautifully situated in Imerovigli along the caldera rim. We had a wonderful time during our stay in Santorini, in part due to the friendly and extremely helpful Afroessa staff, who provide information and recommendations for just about anything you could need or want. We hope to be back soon!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
There are newer reviews for Afroessa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 645 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel seems a little out of the way when we first arrive but were lost for words when we saw the view at the hotel as we checked in only about 9pm. The view at the hotel was breath taking and amazing.

Eddy was really helpful with our luggage and the manager Ioanna had been very pleasant throughout our 3 nights stay. She's very motherly and extremely helpful with our transfer to airport, giving us key information when we check in. Most of all, as our flight out of Santorini was at night, she allowed us to check out much later. She even gave us a bottle of white wine on our second day to welcome us.

After visiting Fira and Oia (although we enjoyed the scenery of sunset better than in Imerovigli) staying in Afroessa was the best choice. It was much less crowded with more privacy.

Everything was great during our stay except the heater was not working and we were so cold during the first night, but they arranged to fix it very quickly.

We stayed in Room5 and was a little small to open 2 luggages at a time, but it was value for money overall. There are bigger room at different prices though.

Definitely, we strongly recommend this hotel if you're staying at Santorini!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serene_Neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I had the most wonderful time in this hotel. First off, the staff is extremely warmhearted, caring and welcoming. They helped us get situated, found a car renter for us, recommended the best restaurants on the island... And as they knew we were here to celebrate our first anniversary, they brought us a delicious black forest cake with two roses on the very day of our anniversary. We were deeply touched by the attention!
The hotel itself is truly amazing. Each room is a little white Greek-style house with very nice furbishing. We had our private balcony with a truly breathtaking view on the caldera! The hotel has a swimming pool with the same amazing view.
If we ever have the chance to go back to Santorini we will definitely stay at this hotel again. And we obvisouly recommend it to everyone looking for the perfect stay in Santorini!

Room Tip: We had the room right upstairs of the reception. A beautiful and large one, with a very nice bathroo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Afroessa in August 2011 for four nights and I can't say enough good things about the experience (even though I'm just now posting in Jan 2013). We had one of the larger rooms, perched slightly above the pool, and it was plenty private with a sitting area and a deck where we could enjoy ouzo and stunning sunsets. Aliki and her team took all the extra steps to make us feel welcome and at home -- the cafe had decent breakfast and coffee and was really all we needed. It's a bit of a hike to the main part of Imerovigli, but walking off a meal while taking in the views is something I'd categorize as a "good problem" to say the least. I highly recommend Afroessa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrewshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel was amazing. From the service to the view. All rooms are cliffside. We had the room near the pool. It had tiny kitchen with a stove and fridge, we had our own little terrace. The view was to die for. The best sunsets were from imerovigli and this hotel. We went to oia to see the sunset but it was not as nice as watching it from Afroessa. The service was the best and the staff was amazing. They provided us with all the information we needed. They booked our transfers, organized our ATV booking. They carried our luggage up and down the stairs. It was our honeymoon so they gave us a bottle of wine. If you go to santorini island, you have to stay here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Afroessa Hotel was recommended to us by our good friends that visited during their honeymoon. And, we are forever grateful that they did. This hotel was a gem located at the perfect location of Imerovigli, Santorni.

The hotel facility is gorgeous with each room having cliffside views. But, what makes this hotel special is the people that works/runs it. A huge thank you to the Afroessa staff (Joanna, Rebecca and Eddie). Rebecca is a wealth of information. There was no questions she couldn't answer and she eagerly provide us with all the information we needed for a perfect vacation. Which includes directing me to my favorite restaurant in Santorni (Anogi)!

Thank you again for the wonderful stay. And, I can't wait to see you all again -- my friends!

- T + A honeymoon September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sillybutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I don't think I will ever forget the serene beauty experienced on our visit to Santorini, exemplified by our stay at Afroessa, a gem of a hotel in the small town of Imerovigli.

The first secret tip I would offer is location - stay in Imerovigli. It is located at the center of the island and hence affords perhaps the best views of the whole caldera, with sunsets comparable to that from anywhere on the island (even Oia, which is famous for them). Plus it is much quieter, more affordable, and close to Fira (without being stuck in the tourist-mire of that busy town).

Afroessa is run by Joanna along with the hospitality of Aliki and Eddie - who all made our stay pleasant with their personal service, from carrying our bags from the shuttle (which they offered to arrange - definitely recommended if you arrive by ferry - as taxis are impossible to find!), to offering advice on the island, arranging a taxi to the airport, etc.

What is greatest about this hotel, cut-into the side of the caldera like few other hotels, is of course the view - from your balcony, from the reception area - but most of all, from the pool / patio area - where you can lounge, get some sun, and experience the lovely weather and memorable sunsets.

It is also located right on the hiking trail (we could actually see hikers walking by our room window) that goes all the way from Fira to Oia. Advice: consider hiking to Fira (a busy section) or the much longer 2+ hour journey to Oia (more scenic, quiet, and hilly) - but go early in the morning before it gets hot, take water, and be prepared to bus it back (from Oia).

The rooms at Afroessa are nice if not luxurious. The shower echoes the cave-like environment with a wall studded with stones. There is a safe, a little kitchen area (which was nice for storing wine to drink while watching the sun set, or breakfast supplies) - while breakfast was not included for us, we did order from their very reasonable breakfast menu (a la carte) on one morning - and they deliver right to your balcony!

In keeping with the superior service - Joanna even let us stay a little late (for check-out), as our flight was later in the day. These little bits of hospitality and attentiveness just add to what on its own is one of the most beautiful locations in the world. I would return in a heart-beat and have already recommended Imerovigli and Afroessa to all my friends!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brain_bleed_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#18 of 51 in Imerovigli
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
1.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#6 of 51 in Imerovigli
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#8 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: $189 - $1,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing