We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Santorini Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect Santorini Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in July and absolutely loved it. We arranged for a pick up with the hotel which was quick and affordable. The staff was very nice and gave us lots of great recommendations. They also gave us two free glasses of wine upon arrival. The room was great we had a standard studio with a private balcony overlooking the caldera it was amazing! It had all the amenities - air conditioning, tv, wifi, and a kitchenette with a mini fridge. The hotel itself is really charming. It's very hot in Santorini in July but the pool is very refreshing! The breakfasts in the morning were great. We really enjoyed eating omelettes on our balcony. The location of the hotel was great as well. A quick walk to some nice restaurants in Imerovigli and a few minutes walk to the bus station which will take you to Fira/Oia, etc. We walked from Fira to the hotel one afternoon and it took about 45 minutes -- it's a beautiful walk! Overall we couldn't have been happier with our choice and we highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    50
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
473
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
369 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here and loved every second of our time at the Afroessa. Upon arrival we were greated by Alkili who checked us in quickly. We arrived as the song was setting and were blown away by the Santorini sunset. Within minutes of arriving to our room wine was delivered so we could sit on out balcony over looking the pool/ocean. This just added to the special way yoou feel as a guest. The hotel itself is very well kept. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. Renting scooters or 4 wheelers is a couple minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is a perfect location for travel around the island to Oia and Fira. Don't pass up the opportunity to stay at this special hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourguiderich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Afroessa while on our honeymoon. It was a wonderful place to stay and I couldn't think of anything that I was unhappy with while we were there. The staff was friendly - the owner nursed my head after an injury - the views were incredible - we could see the sunset from our room and the common area - and our room was spotless and comfortable. The location was very close to the bus stop in Imerovigli so it was easy to get around to Oia, Fira and other parts of the island. Overall, we had an excellent stay and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet, romantic and clean hotel on Santorini.

Room Tip: Our room was #8 and it was right at the edge of the property adjacent to the common area and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jleasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ely
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for our recent Honeymoon...we had a perfect time. The host and her staff are very helpful and really help with local tips/pointers! This is the perfect place to stay in Santorini... with spectacular views and a lovely coastal walk to Fira (the capital). You also can have a bite to eat on your balcony whilst the sunset going down. You won't regret staying here. We simply loved it! Thank you Afroessa... we are already planning to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Well what can I say? For someone who travels quite often nothing can compare with the hospitality and the friendliness you receive at Afroessa. Add to that a perfect quiet location with the most breathtaking views and you have a perfect vacation!
The rooms are beautifully decorated with a lot of time spent on fine details. Each room with its own décor, colour schemes and furniture are so tastefully put together and reflects the tranquil back drop of the Caldera views. You can’t help but fall in love with Santorini….but I also fell in love with Affroessa. Yes, you can go to the top hotels offered on the island if you are into that all white sterile environment but what you won’t get is the service and friendliness of the staff here. On arrival we were met by Eddy who came to assist us with our luggage. We were then taken to our apartment where a bottle of local white wine was waiting for us. A very thoughtful welcoming.. .Thank you Aliki!
We stayed in apt #7. The apartment had its own self contained kitchenette but we opted to have a beautiful breakfast sent down to us each morning which we enjoyed out on our private balcony. Each morning the breakfast was slightly different with freshly brewed coffee. You could tell the staff put thought into what was selected on the tray each morning. It was also lovely to have our apartment cleaned with fresh clean towels supplied daily. Our thanks go to each one of the girls who looked after the house duties…
The area of Imerovgli is very tranquil and quiet and sits aprox in the centre of the island so you get the best views. If its relaxation you are looking for then this is the place to stay. My husband and I would just sit by the pool and breathe in the views with our mojitos and strawberry daiquiris. Ahhh…can’t wait to go back now. We know where we will be staying next time. The girls will also organise your hire car before you arrive so it’s there waiting for you at the airport. What more can you ask for?
A huge “thanks” goes to Joanna and Aliki as well as Eddy & John. Thank you for helping to make this vacation perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackKitty03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We loved our stay! The cliff-side private rooms are impressive, interesting, unique, and more! We really enjoyed the privacy and comfort. The staff were readily available ad always a pleasure to talk with. It is conveniently located for walking to Fira or a nearby restaurant. The sunset view here is comparable or equal to Oia! Hope I'll return to Afroessa again soon!

Room Tip: Ask Johanna for advice! You can trust her opinion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while traveling through Greece on our honeymoon and were absolutely impressed! We've traveled quite a bit and found the friendly nature and level of service to be among the best we've experienced! The location is the best on the island as Imerovigli is the highest point on the island and therefore offers better sunset views than the more popular and more crowded Oia. The rooms are all very nice with traditional and unique touches of Greece in each. We originally booked one of the smaller rooms but when we arrived the owner upgraded us to a larger room with a private balcony as it was available at no additional charge. The breakfast is not included but is very moderately priced for the quantity and quality of food! The staff is incredibly helpful arranging transport around the island, providing dinner recommendations, etc. I would recommend this hotel to all!

Room Tip: Room #7 is the larger room with the private balcony and does not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleHodsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#3 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 82 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Property: Afroessa Hotel
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#4 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing