We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveler rating
647
57
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
57
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffour honeymoonprivate balconyperfect locationhotel arrangedfira and oiawine tourwould highly recommend this hotelamazing viewssmall kitchenwatching the sunsethotel is situatedgreek saladpool sidesantorini experiencelook no furtherrental car
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 715 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights. We made sure to be back at the hotel at around 5.00pm every afternoon to catch the sunsets from our private balcony. The views are amazing over the caldera! Our little daughter loved the pool and the muffins for breakfasts.
Recommendations: You've got to try their Greek salad. Seriously delicious! and prepare yourself and your cameras for the pictures. You will be in a really beautiful location!

Pluses: Rooms are charming and internet works perfectly. Staff are really nice and friendly. They helped us with everything. They even sent a concierge to pick up our baggage and wait with us in the street for our taxi to the airport at 4.00am!!!
Minus: Some humidity smell from the bathroom.

All in all, for the price, it is a very good hotel.

Look at my pictures!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grazziana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Afroessa six months ago in September. We have obviously been lazy with our reviews. We really enjoyed our stay here. Aliki handled all of our reservations and was just as nice in person, as she was through the internet. We learned she is an ex-pat that grew up in Los Angeles. Ionna (Joanna) is the owner operator of the place and was also extremely welcoming when we got there, and helped us rent a car and make reservations at places. Eddie is the handyman that paints the decks every day and mans the bar by the pool.

The hotel is located in Imerovigli, located in between Fira and Oia, but avoiding the crowds of both. We stayed in a room just right of the pool with a small patio set. We ordered breakfast that was set up right on our patio. The omellete in the uploaded photo was awesome.

One day we came back from a full day of walking the island and asked Ionna if they could put together a plate of tomatos, feta, olives, bread, and wine. They set up a mini-feast for us out by the pool chairs in time for the sunset. A great memory.

There are parts of a Greek vacation where you can skimp on costs. This is not one. Stay here, you won't regret it. If you are looking for a great affordable restaurant in Fira, you should check out Salt and Pepper. The food is spectacular and very affordable because it does not have a Caldera view. But if you are staying at Afroessa, there will not be a better view than from your room.

- Casey and Christie Shaw

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cshawsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Santorini is such a beautiful place to visit that it doesn't take much to be impressed with the place. Having said that, the Afroessa Hotel complimented everything Santorini (or Thira as the locals call it) has to offer.
The LOCATION is PERFECT! The hotel boasts some amazing direct water and caldera views. It is on the quiet and peaceful side of the Island, away from the touristy hustle and bustle. But, still within walking distance to Firostefani and Fira Port, where you'll find lovely restaurants, shops and tours.
We stayed in a Standard room with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and water views. The ROOM was nicely appointed but slightly uncomfortable due to the design of the bed, which rested on a concrete slab. I was also bitten during the night by an insect which had crawled into the bed, and which I had found squashed on the sheets when I woke up the next morning! Not a deal breaker, but I'd take the room with the bed higher up off the floor next time.
The STAFF were absolutely wonderful! We dealt with Aliki most of the time and found her to be very helpful and pleasant. She speaks fluent English too!
The FOOD we ordered was simply divine! Everything we ordered was cooked fresh and well presented. A little on the pricey side, but definitely recommended (especially pool side!).
The POOL area was gorgeous. The white on blue works perfectly. Be sure to watch the sunset pool side one night. In my opinion, it is much nicer than Oia where you are sandwiched with the touristy crowds killing themselves for that 'postcard' picture! Bleh!
Lastly, we had arranged for a wake up call and airport transfer since our flight was due to leave really early in the morning. However, the wake up call never came and by the time we woke up, the airport transfer we had booked had come and gone. To make matters worse, reception was closed as it was outside hours and there was no staff around who could help us. We only had 40 minutes to catch our flight and we were stuck without an airport transfer! We walked up to the main carpark area and it was busy with people leaving to catch our flight. No one would take us though, as we didn't have a booking with them. Luckily, a nearby hotel owner who was helping his hotel guests with luggage, came to our aid and organised a transfer for us. The transfer driver SPED all the way to the airport and as we were driving we saw our plane land. (They use the same plane). We only had time to check in and we were in the air within 2 minutes. We had just made our flight by the skin of our teeth! CLOSE CALL!!!!!

Travelled: September 2010

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misssyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My wife, I and our two children aghed 5 & 2 Stayed at Afroessa Hotel in late August 2011 for three nights.

Due to a communication error the transfer from the port to the hotel did not arrive, but after speaking to the staff they sent another driver, these things happen and they rectified the problem ASAP.

Location
The Hotel is situated on the edge of a cliff face giving breathtaking views of the caldera. There is a good bus service on Santarini and had no problem getting the bus to and from fira & Oia.

Room
Clean, tidy, spacious and are of the traditional Cycladic style. the view from the balcony is astounding, you can sit there all day just looking out over the sea.

Staff
Very helpful, we left one our passports at another hotel on the island of Paros (opps) and as in a few days we would be leaving for the UK, stress set in. They spoke to the other Hotel and arranged for it to sent over on the next ferry. They could not of been more helpful with regards to this matter and we were very thankful for thier help.

On the whole we had a pleasant stay at the Afreossa and enjoyed our time there.

I hope you found review this helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

My wife, 9-month old son, and I stayed for three nights in early October. Staff was very inviting, helped carry our luggage from the bus stop down the street, helpful in providing recommendations for restaurants and things to do, and especially accommodating for our son. Views out the balcony were spectacular. Arranged for transportation to pick us up from the airport, and again to drop us off at the ferry when we left. Room was clean, tidy, and rather large. Very soundproof, which came in handy as our son could make quite a bit of noise late at night as he wasn't adjusted to the 8-hr time change. Sunsets from the balcony were amazing. A bit of a walk to Fira (20-25 minutes), but definitely doable. Some decent restaurants in Imerovigli. Highly recommend for couples & families alike. Wish we were still there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajrcpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews