We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Afroessa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Santorini Princess(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pegasus Suites & Spa(Imerovigli)
$1,125
$1,093
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
San Antonio Luxury Hotel(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$778
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iliovasilema Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$470
$436
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Remezzo Villas(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$555
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Astra Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$971
$920
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$441
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heliotopos Hotel(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$825
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chromata Hotel(Imerovigli)
$674
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveler rating
603
55
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
603
55
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffperfect locationour honeymoonfira and oiaprivate balconyamazing viewswould highly recommend this hotelmini fridgewine toursmall kitchenenjoyed breakfastfoot trafficgreek saladpool sidesantorini experiencewatching the sunsetthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 667 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2011

This review is coming about 8 months after our stay at the Hotel Afroessa-but wanted to share how fantastic it was. My husband and I went with 2 other couples for a 10 day trip to the Greek Islands-this hotel was hands down all of our favorite place that we stayed. The location is great-halfway between Oia and Fira. We walked to Fira 3 out of our five nights in Santorini -eating twice at Ginger Sushi (it was that good!) and once at the Taverna. It is a little bit of a walk to and from Fira-but very doable. Aliki helped us rent cars two of the days to hit up the black sand beaches. So easy, the car rental people bring the cars to the hotel so you dont even have to decide till that morning that you want one. The hotel helped us arrange for a wine tour- this was a lot of fun. The bus picked us up right in front up the hotel and we went to about four different wineries around the island. We also did Ted's Sailing exscursion. Even with all of the activities the hotel helped us arrange, the best thing about staying there was coming back after our day at the beach or on the wine tour, ordering a bottle of wine at the pool and some other snacks and sitting, talking and taking in the amazing views. We went to Oia to watch the famous sunset and realized that we didnt have to fight those crowds because the sunsets at the Hotel Afroessa are just as magnificent if not more so. We really loved this hotel and would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank bmerls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

It took us a good 7 months to get off our behinds and wrtite this review but our stay was absolutely amazing and is still fresh in our minds! Imerovigli was an ideal place to stay as it was quiet but close enough to oia and fira for a good time (though we had a blast driving up and down exploring the island in a cute convertable smart car!). And we couldn't say enough to praise Afroessa!! It was a piece of heaven on earth! The view from the balcony outside our room was to die for! (breakfast and evenings with feta and wine were spent sitiing out here). Rebecca was very warm and welcoming and so was Ionna (the owner) and this only enhanced our stay. The rooms, built like caves into the hill, were very cutely decorated with elegant touches.
Visiting the beaches of Perissa, Kamari and Perivolos with their black volcanic sand was surreal (especially since we were there just before the tourist storm commenced!). Megalochori is a must do. Unfortunately Akthrothiri was closed for renovation.
A great touch was when my wife left an earing on departure and a friend (i'm sorry I forget his name) biked it all the way to our car rental as were returning the car to hand it to us!
Santorini, and especially Afroessa, should be on everyone's "must visit" list-we will definitely visit again (our busy schedule permitting) and have recommended this place to a number of our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

My husband and I were in Santorini for a few days in October and of course, we had to stay in our favorite place around the Island: Afroessa Hotel
It is so good to be back to a place that you feel like is your home away from home...
We've stayed there so many nights over the years that we can't even think about staying anywhere else.... This time around, we met two new aditions to the hotel....Her name is Aliki Rebecca....A greek-american lady that we had a pleasure to meet and talk ....She is adorable, very helpful and has the most beautiful smile....She helped us with everything and I should thank her for all her extra time to answer my husband's questions :) He loves to ask questions about anything! And also Eddie.......He is a young man who is also an immigrant and very hard worker....I can't believe that he went all the way up the steep steps carrying our two heavy bags. He brings you your breakfast and set it nicely on your table...He does pretty much everything and we were happy to meet him this time... I can't forget my dear Spressa...The cleaning lady that became a friend after all our visits to the hotel. She does the perfect work and she leaves your room imaculate clean... She is a good friend and is also a hard worker immigrant. We love her!
Everything about the hotel is perfect! The room are comfortable are very clean, the staff is amazing and the views.....What should I say.....You have to go there to see it for yourself...
Last but not least....Ioanna....The owner .... She is a great woman and does everything to make sure that you are happy at her place.... She is wonderful...... We are lucky and happy to have her in our lives.... She makes us feel so welcomed since the first time we met her in 2004... Since then, we've been back almost every year and if we could tell all the travelers going to Santorini to stay there, we will.... Beautiful place, beautiful view, beautiful people.....That's why we decided to call this review...."Home Away From Home".... So true!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cucamocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Santorini, and our stay at the Afroessa, was the highlight of our trip through Greece and Turkey. We stayed three days and enjoyed every minute of it! The hotel is in an incredible location, perched on the cliffs above the caldera. The views are simply amazing … we spent a good portion of our stay just relaxing and gazing out at the sea and islands.

Before our trip, someone told us not to skimp on lodging in Santorini. They were right. You want to stay in an amazing location here, and the Afroessa delivers while still being a great value. This is a place you want to just sink in and enjoy! Our trip was in October, so the island wasn’t overcrowded but still quite busy. The Afroessa is in a perfect location since Imerovigli is quieter than Fira and Firostefani. The only foot traffic is people hiking through to Oia.

The breakfasts were amazing, probably the best from the entire trip. Our favorite items were the omelets and yogurt with honey and nuts or fruit, and Greek coffee. Breakfast is delivered to your balcony or porch … so needless to say the breakfast views are amazing! This is one of my favorite trip memories.

The inn is very small, about 10 rooms, but it’s very private so you don’t feel like you’re at a B&B. We arrived at 6 a.m. and of course reception wasn’t open yet, but we were shown to our room and told to check in at 9. Most hotels wouldn’t do that – even if the room wasn’t booked out. Essentially, we had an extra day here, which was amazing!

Aliki at the hotel was so nice and a wonderful host. She provided some great suggestions and tips for activities (mostly confirmations of what we had already planned, but that’s always great to hear). We did the hike to Oia, visited a beach on the south side of the island and shopped in Fira. My favorite activity was lying by the pool with a good book or my iPhone. The pool isn’t heated so we just jumped in and out a few times, but it didn’t matter too much to us.

There are some great restaurants in Imerovigli. We especially enjoyed La Maison.

Overall, this is an amazing, amazing hotel. If we lived closer we’d spend a week here every year. 

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tacitvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed 4 days at Afroessa. It was absloutely wonderful. Aliki was one of the warmest people that I have met and helped to ensure that our stay in Santorini was a perfect one. We at breakfast every morning on our balcony and enjoyed our incredible view. Each day, we chatted with Aliki and asked for recommendations of what to do for the day. She was extremely helpful and helped us book restaurant reservations and a sunset tour. We can't wait to go back, we will definitely be staying with them!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews