We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel for sunset over the caldera”
Review of Andromeda Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andromeda Villas
Ranked #16 of 29 Imerovigli B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having experienced pathetic service at Melia (Athens) and San Marco (Mykonos), we were apprehensive about this hotel's service.
But to our pleasant surprise, the experience of staying at Andromeda Villas (Santorini) was a very very nice one.
The staff were helpful, to the point of being extra-courteous and soft spoken, well mannered, pleasant to talk to, engaged their guests in very pleasant conversations and helped us at all odd hours of the day.
The rooms face the Caldera and the breath-taking view of the sunset over the caldera just mesmerizes the onlooker!!
I just hope that they continue their excellent service in future also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the series of 101 to 110 as they are midway up the cliff - so near access to lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anisenkolkata0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 689 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

As per my other reviews I'm going to try and help filter out the rather odd (in my opinion) comments that appear on Trip Advisor about this hotel. We've been wanting to go to Santorini for two years and booked Andromeda Villas nearly a year ago, so plenty of planning went into our hotel choice.

So starting with the obvious, I'm presuming that you're aware of where Imerovigli is - 1000ft above sea level - and I'm presuming that you're looking at this hotel for all the same reasons that we did, the famous white paths, blue tops, unbelievable views and stunning sunsets. If you want to experience Santorini for these reasons then Andromedia Villas is a great base for a great holiday and yes, there are stairs. It took us 2-3 days to work out the best way from the bottom to the top and back again with the help of the lifts on some lazy days - all part of the fun though. I'm also presuming that you are aware that Greece is a very minimalistic place - white on the outside, white on the inside, minimal furniture and decor etc. so bear this in mind and bear in mind that there are plenty of hotels to choose from along the Caldera ALL offering the views and all offering similar levels of comfort. You get what you pay for and after reading some of the reviews/complaints my first choice of hotel was the Honeymoon Villas but this added £400 to the cost of the holiday. We walked past it twice, it looked great but it didn't look to offer anything else that Andromeda did - so we saved alot of money (which you'll need - Santorini IS an expensive place to play).

Into alittle more detail about Andromeda Villas - some people complained about the internet and wifi. I can't comment as I don't go on holiday to surf the net. Some people complained about the tv channels or the tv not working - again, I don't go on holiday to watch tv. Although I did find Jamie Oliver cooking one afternoon and Rocky boxing one evening. A few people have recently complained about a strange smell. We were there the same week and unless we need to go to see a doctor, we have no idea what they are on about.

We were greeted at the top of the stairs by Lydia who checked us all in quickly and asked us to wait by the pool by where there was a complimentary fresh juice waiting. She then introduced the hotel and it's facilities before taking us to our room. A nice way to start a great holiday.

We booked a superior room. Again, after reading some reviews, I tried to upgrade to a suite before arriving but they were full - it didn't matter though. Our room (32, just above the restaurant and pool) was great. A decent size, fresh, and clean but yes, very minamalistic. The fridge and aircon seemed fine, the bed was huge and comfy and the bathroom a decent size. There aren't really any stand up showers in Santorini but it wasn't difficult to stand up in the bath and shower down. The room was cleaned daily to our satisfaction by a very smiley lady.

There are three small very clean pools - the main one and two splash pools (the bottom one allowing for some fantastic infinity pool photos). The top one was more breezy which was perfect for me as it didn't feel too hot. All of the public areas were very clean. The pool bar was sometimes unmanned - be aware of (and slow down to) their way/speed of life and stop complaining about a five minute wait for pool towels. You're on holiday, what's the rush? The snacks and drinks from here were very nice and they offer tasters, melon, pizza to sunbathers during the morning - another nice touch. The food seemed resonably priced too, not at first but after a trip to Fira, there are many more expensive places to eat.

We were on a B&B basis and did go down the restaurant for breakfast each day. My partner thought the fresh fruit and croissants were great. I opted for the warmer breakfast and unfortunately this wasn't that - bacon and sausages, eggs and veg(!?!) all seemed cold each day. Saying that, we both ate enough to keep us going every day.

I'm happy to go into more detail if you want to contact me but I'd prefer you to book here and go and enjoy this hotel and Santorini. Say hi to Lydia from us, she was fantasic at helping us organise our holiday. Find the middle path and walk to Fira in the evening (taxi back is 6 euros) and choose a different restaurant each time. 2x starters, 2x mains plus 1x desert and a bottle of wine ranged from 40 - 90 euros. Every meal was absolutely fanastic so hunt around and you can either budget or splash out without worry. The house wines are all great too (be prepared to pay 30+ euros for any other bottles).

The path to Skaros Rock is a stones throw away and the little church around the back is picture postcard perfect. Take plenty of water, the walk out to the rock is a trek (and I thought I was fit). My final tip is to not bother going to Oia for the sunset; after the peace and quiet of watching it from our balcony, a caldera restaurant or from the sunset cruise ship, Oia really is a rat race of tourists pushing and shoving to get the best spots.... Andomeda Villas equals the best spot.

My official rating of this GREEK hotel is 3.5 stars. The breakfast lost Andromeda Villas some points and the pool/bar men really needed to smile alittle more (like the three lady managers). For what we paid we were EXTREMELY happy with our choice in the end. If we won a few quid on the lottery we would go back to Santorini and we honestly would go back to the Andromeda Villas.

Room Tip: Each room seemed to have it's own pros and cons. i.e. lower floors were less breezy, upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dancfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We finished our stay in the Cyclades in this hotel, as all people wrote the view is unique and breath taken, the hotel is situated on a cliff of the Caldera.

The staff is very friendly, professional & helpful ! The food is very good and you always have large portion, and the cocktails are delicious, not cheap but it's real cocktails and really worth it.

We stayed with half board, the food is very good and you have variety. The sun beds are great, you enjoy all the time the great view, you have some splash pool and a main one. I can imagine that in full summer period it's difficult to find the beds free... some people still reserve them in the morning.

There is a lot to do around; visit Fira which is 20 to 30 min by foot, it's a nice walk, also if you can't walk too much, there are buses for Fira and other cities.

In general we really enjoyed this stay for 5 nights, small details; there is not fitness room or spa.
Also i advise to book a superior room if you can, we had a standard which is fine, spacious enough, missing shelfs in the closet and the double bed is quite small.

Thanks to the whole staff it was a great experience

Room Tip: If you can book a superior room or even in some suite you have a private pool or bubble bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KalilouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a long review but I hope it will be useful to those considering booking not only Andromeda Villas, but a holiday in Santorini, as of all the holidays we've taken, this was the one where we needed to do more research than we did. You have to get the island in context: it is hot and arid, with a volcanic geology and no natural fresh water supply. The whole island is on septic tanks and you cannot drink the water. It produces limited crops, wine and fishing hauls and everything else has to be brought over and bought in. The eastern side is flat with scorchingly hot beaches and very clean sea water, the west is on a 1000 feet high cliff, so there are lots and lots of steps. The island has a graffiti problem and due to the very trying economic situation, now in its fifth year, there are partially built properties and sites all over the place. So, it is very hot, not at all verdant, messy (but not dirty), very expensive (we don't mind spending, but I continually felt like we were being mugged) and has rough roads and paths, and if you are in the west, cliffs and steps that cannot be avoided. It also smells of sewage, not all, but a lot of the time. If any of these things bother you, then think twice about booking. The ups are the views - they are spectacular, the food, the people, the sea, the sunsets and rises, beautiful starry skies and the pace of life. It is a popular wedding destination and is more suited to couples and cruise ship short stays, than a family holiday, as there really isn't that much to do, but we did have fun going and out and finding stuff. We went for 13 days which was far too long - 7 days max is enough to see and do it all, especially if you have teens with you. THE HOTEL: the staff are very polite and are doing their best with a hotel that needs real investment. The situation is breathtaking, with incredible views, but the rooms and facilities need updating. They greeted us with juice and smiles, but we had to wait an hour for our luggage, and then only because we chased it.The rooms we have were VERY clean, but also quite small and not well appointed. The bathroom was neither one thing or another - no proper shower or bath, no plugs and no hot water. We asked to move after the second night as the smell of sewerage in our rooms was so overpowering I got headaches! There was no escaping it because it was on the terrace too. It particularly effected the left hand side of the hotel as you look to sea. Unfortunately the restaurant is on this side...the lower splash pool also suffers from the same problem. The staff did move us as soon as they could, but the strange bathroom arrangement prevailed in the new room. The beds were very comfortable, with superb mattresses, and clean linen every other day, but watch your toes, as the beds are made out of concrete blocks which are then tiled with sharp edges and they will bite you! Old noisy fridges, aircon units and paper thin walls did not aid good sleep. Between us we had 4 rooms during our stay - not one had a satisfactory bathroom, televisions didn't work, or worked badly and some of the wiring was iffy. The set up of the hotel is quite charming, but many of the terraces have no privacy because walkways meander through and across them. The pool is small but very clean, and the sunbeds utterly superb, but there are no way near enough of them. Also towels run out quickly and do not seem to get restocked throughout the day. The upper splash pool is lovely. There is a pool bar but no other facilities, so you are paying a lot for little really, and if you have to keep leaving your hotel because it smells bad, then added value is not what is being offered. Breakfast is excellent, with a really good choice; the room ladies do a great job and the reception staff are friendly, straightforward and helpful.The service can be a bit slow and forgetful at times, but never rude or dismissive. As other reviewers have mentioned, they do come round with slices of melon, pieces of pizza and iced water, but I would expect that for what we paid, and these touches were small trade offs for not having a proper bath for two weeks! So all in all, a disappointment. Our advice is to really look into the hotel and get the best room you can afford, on the right hand side of the site. Do get a car / ATV, as both really open up the island to you, although fuel is more expensive than the UK. Hire prices are very reasonable though. Don't miss the outside cinema, which is a real delight and take a boat trip on the Thalassa - easily the best thing we did during our stay. The wall painting museum is worth a look and the south of the island is wonderful. Much is said about the exclusive shopping on the island - some of the stuff is alright, but for the quality of the goods, it is all overpriced - clothes, shoes, souvenirs. Some price guidelines for you: a can of coke in a plastic cup - 5 euros; fish, veg, a bottle of wine and 2 coffees 180 euros; 2 coffees and ice cream to share 20 euros, 2 bags of supermarket shopping (no wine) for the room fridge 60 euros: of course there were lower prices elsewhere, but these are representative. The best value on the island is the bus service. Comfortable, air conditioned coaches which were cheap, reliable and regular. The island is regularly voted in the top ten islands of the world, but it all felt like The Emperor's New Clothes to me - perhaps I just didn't get it...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. Each room is unique, but each has its own beauty!
The staff at the hotel was SO helpful! The hotel is in a small village so if you dont want
the hustle and bustle of the more "urban" areas of Fira or Oia.....this is the only place you
should consider......

If you have mobility issues, this is not the hotel for you as there are many steps!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Let me stress at the beginning: Santorini is a beautiful island with a stunning view of the Caldera. Andromeda Villas is located perfectly to get the best out of this view. It's absolutely breath-taking and the pictures you can see online really reflect the hotel. Furthermore, the rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Staff was friendly, though a bit distant (we prefer more intimate and familiar hotels). Breakfast was ok, nothing special, but surely nothing to complain about.

However, we cannot ignore the fact that the whole outside area of the hotel smelled really awkward (it reminded us of urin). It must be something with the pool detergent or something similar.

Though the hotel has many great things to offer, the smell was so penetrant that it kind of spoiled the sunbathing in the otherwise very nice pool area.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Despite the delayed flight and late arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome, refreshments and a breathtaking view!
Unlike others, we had done our research and knew what to expect and it did not disappoint.
Whilst relaxing by the pool on a morning, a member of staff would bring complimentary slices of watermelon to each sunbed. This was a particularly nice touch. Cocktails and refreshment are available at the pool bar, however there is a shop opposite the entrance to the hotel which sells everything.
We ate at the pool bar on two occasions. The food was delicious, however there are so many other restaurants close by to choose from. The staff on reception are happy to recommend restaurants and make reservations for you.
It is a hotel designed predominately for couples and not family orientated. Andromeda had everything we could have hoped for for a romantic and relaxing getaway which proved to be worth every penny!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParaExplorar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#20 of 50 in Imerovigli
467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 50 in Imerovigli
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Xenones Filotera
Xenones Filotera
#22 of 50 in Imerovigli
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#27 of 50 in Imerovigli
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andromeda Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andromeda Villas

Address: | 84700, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Imerovigli
Price Range: $130 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andromeda Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andromeda Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andromeda Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Andromeda Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing