We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but expensive”
Review of On The Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
On The Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice but expensive”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A very beautiful place and lovely for couples. Rooms were tiny but clean. Breakfast was perfect and it was served to our own terrace. Helpful staff. Expensive area - food everywhere very expensive and restaurants are full. A small pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xy007t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    89
    36
    31
    28
See reviews for
29
314
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A nice quiet break in Santorini was all we were after in October and just as well as the island virtually closes at the end of September and many hotels and restaurants were closed already when we visited 21-25 October.

This hotel is typical of the 'cave like' boutique hotels found along the coast of Santorini and - at one of the highest points on the Caldera rim - has views to die for. It really is as picturesque as the photos (the VIEW that is). The hotel is simply ok. We booked on a special offer (99 Euros per night)and would have been disappointed if we had paid full price for our suite as it did not offer the trappings of a luxury hotel. One side of the fixed bed was against a wall, the wardrobe door was closed by pushing a nail across the front, a pane of glass in our door was broken, the paint was flaking off of the tiles in the shower, the pool 'bar' closed at 5pm on our first evening after running out of Greek beer (we had 2) and there was a musty smell throughout the bathroom area. BUT the staff were all very polite, towels were regularly changed and plentiful and the massages we each had (in a small chamber off the reception area) were excellent.

If you paid rack rate and were expecting a luxury hotel then this would have been poor but for what we paid the helpful staff and view push the hotel up a little.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HolidayHetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a Small Luxury Hotels of the World establishment but is not a luxury hotel and is more akin to a bed and breakfast and is a poor advertisement for SLH. Mold is showers, swimming pool is more of a plunge pool, rooms are tiny and inadequate and very poorly furnished, breakfasts are not American and luke warm. Apart from the view almost nothing else is special except the web site which has a special talent for misleading impressions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gerald c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury,England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The best things about the Rocks are its interesting style of construction being converted from a series of caves on the cliff face opposite the caldera, and secondly is the amazing view across the caldera, looking across to Thirassia.
Located in Imerovigili just north of Fira makes it a quieter option, with plenty of good restaurants , shops and a regular bus service ( you can walk into Fira in 15 mins).
There are plenty of steep steps to negotiate your way around the hotel, the room was large and adequate ( however not a patch on its` next door neighbor, The Chromata) , it would benefit from some updating and refurbing, it is the first hotel I have stayed in that didn`t have any form of bedside lights or provide a plug for the bath ! When I asked about the possibility of either being provided I was told it was not part of their policy but they would look at it. I suppose as the season was about to end they weren`t going to do anything at this time. Taken as a whole the accommodation was good, there was a small pool to cool off in the afternoon .Breakfast was served each morning in your suite or on your private terrace, your were given plenty but the cooked choice consisted of a plain omelet which did get a bit boring by the end of the week.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

I would stay here again as the deal we got was great value, October is a good time to visit as it is still warm and sunny, without the high temperatures of the summer and generally quieter, be aware that this is the month places start to close down for the end of season, you may visit a restaurant one night only to find it closed the day after( two good ones we went to were Anogi and Bella Thira), also watch the bust times, you can get a timetable from the Fira bus station but again they can change daily so check each day in case they have brought out a new one, we got caught out as they had changed and we to wait one and a half hours for the next scheduled bus which itself was 15 mins late.

Santorini is wonderful and we hope to return next year.

Room Tip: well worth upgrading to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lankyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

this hotel looks like it is amazing... the problem is, it does not live up to the hype. our room was large, but for me to get out of bed i needed to crawl over my husband. the mold in the shower was unsettling, and when asked if it could be cleaned... nothing happened and we were there for 5 nights. the chairs are plastic and not comfortable... when you are staying at a luxury hotel. you want somewhere nice to sit. the food for breakfast was overcooked yet cold. the whole experience was a disappointment. the front desk staff was the only bright point of this hotel. the view is amazing, but there are many other hotels that have the same view.... stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The website looks beautiful so I thought as a special treat I'd book the Master Suite for my boyfriend and I. I booked in advance in April for our trip in October so was disappointed to receive an email one week prior to our departure apologising that we couldn't in fact have the Master Suite we'd booked for the first night because of a double-booking; instead we were offered a honeymoon suite with a refund of the difference...oh and half a bottle of wine.

Our second day brought us to our Master Suite which we were very excited to settle into - but only to find that the private splash pool (one of the main reasons I booked it) was actually 'semi private'! Yes I'm not sure that's in the English dictionary either - it basically means the standard room right next door can use your balcony table and chairs, the pool or the two sunbeds whenever they choose. It makes it a first come, first serve type scenario and a couple of occasions we had to eat breakfast in the room because the other room got there first! Room was nice and clean but outside space was a complete waste of money.

If you are thinking of booking to go to Santorini, please do. It is the most charming island. But don't book a hugely fancy room; book somewhere on the island with a nice premium double or similar. We were out all day everyday on our quad bike; exploring beaches, vineyards, shops, restaurants, a catamaran trip and history. We literally had one dip in the pool during the week we stayed as the main pool was cramped for a full hotel.

To top off our mis-selling of the Master Suite we got home to find we'd been charged twice for the holiday! After calling them immediately and sending a copy bank statement they denied all knowledge and didn't even bother with an apology. We reported it to the bank who refunded it and said they would deal straight with the hotel. An absolute disgrace.

Hotel sadly lacks the high quality service to charge €700 euros per night. Receptionist and bell boys were excellent though.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank LMSexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Rooms were closet sized. Maid never cleaned room appropriately. Concierge was lacking in detail. The food offerings were very limited. The value was very low. I would recommend the hotel next door-icons

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 50 in Imerovigli
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#22 of 50 in Imerovigli
401 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 50 in Imerovigli
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#12 of 50 in Imerovigli
591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Rocks

Property: On The Rocks
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — On The Rocks 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel On The Rocks, 200 meters above the Caldera basin, in the famous village of Imerovigli, 10 minutes from the island's capital, Fira town. Easily accessible via air and boat transportation, 10 km from Santorini airport and Athinios port. Room Facilities All Rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, fax upon request,direct dial phone, safe deposit boxes, mini bar, hair dryer. Profile: On The Rocks has 24 hrs Front Desk, Swimming Pool, Pool Bar and Restaurant, Free wi-fi access. Guest Services: Front Desk, Bell Boy service, Travel Desk, Personal Concierge,Room Service, Daily maid service, Turn down service. Spa Facilities: On The Rocks Spa Room with Indoor Jacuzzi and massage treatments realized by experienced professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your On The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Rocks Hotel Imerovigli
Rocks Santorini
On The Rocks Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing