We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable location”
Review of On The Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
On The Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unbelievable location”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for a fortnight starting September 11th 2012.

The hotel tumbles down the edge of the Caldera and provides each room, which has a private patio, with truly amazing views.

This isn't a conventional luxury hotel ~ because of its unique location it can't do some of the things that typical luxury hotels do but that is also part of its charm.

The beds are comfortable and the rooms are furnished in a "minimalist chic" sort of style.

The staff are however amazing kind, helpful, and polite (and presumably extremely fit).

Breakfast was good and punctual and I had no problem picking a time slot and deciding what I wanted to eat the night before, it's not really that hard.

My wife used the spa and said that the massages were excellent.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank awp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    89
    36
    31
    28
See reviews for
29
314
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights after staying in Kamari for a week. It is a lovely boutique hotel but I wouldn't have wanted to stay for longer than 2 nights. The feel is modern and minimalist which is trendy and cool but leaves you a bit cold after a while. We had a standard double and there was no room to store anything so you end up living out of your case a bit. There are a lot of steps so ensure you are prepared for a lot of climbing to get from the pool to your room or to reception.

The service seemed excellent and the hotel manager was lovely.

The swimming pool is very small so if you are a keen swimmer you may be disappointed.

There are just a few sun loungers (but there are only 17 rooms so they don't need a lot) but there is no shade apart from one parasol.

The views are incredible and that is what you pay for. All of the accommodation in this part of Santorini is expensive and small so it is no different to anywhere else in that respect. Just be prepared to pay a lot for a small room in a small hotel because the views make up for it. If you really want to stay in the caldera I would recommend staying on the caldera side of Thira so you have better access to more restaurants and bars. Everything looks beautiful so you will be spoilt for choice on accommodation.

I think this hotel depends on what you are looking for out of a holiday, for a romantic getaway for 3 nights it would be gorgeous - although I would book something more than a standard double, the website makes it look better than it is. For a longer period I think it would seem claustrophobic. The option to eat in is not great either but breakfast delivered to your terrace is a touch. Taxis to Thira are just 5 euros or you can take the 20 min walk along the coast line.

This hotel is a Luxury Small Hotel of the World, and I would really recommend one of their sister hotels in Kamari - The Kastelli Resort which is gorgeous luxury but at the bottom of the island so you are paying less and getting more but you have to take a day trip for the view.

Room Tip: Book something better than a double as it seemed pokey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for 10 days at the beginning of Sept 12. Lovely dry heat 32 degrees with a slight wind building in the afternoon. 119 steps down to our room so not for the faint hearted but worth it for the view. Food and wine expensive all over the island but the fresh fish was great. Hotel staff could not be more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevmcbroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

we stayed two nights in this SLH chain and the service was excellent, pool nice though small, rooms confortable and amazing view , missing is a restaurant
hotel is well located but not in Oia (but reachable by cab) island is worth the trip

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is my first time that I write on Trip Advisor but I really feel like doing it, just to tell everybody about my very special experience at On the Rocks Hotel. I stayed at On the Rocks in July with 3 friends of mine. We just booked 2 suites - sea view and we finally got a lifetime experience returning many years back to our school years.
From the very first moment we stepped our feet outside the hotel, 2 really kind men greeted us with a large smile on their faces. They took all our luggage (which were a lot!!!) on their shoulders and showed us to the reception. There we met the person who made our stay so unique: Anthi! That woman is the most approachable and caring Hotel Manager I have ever met. She remembers the names and the needs (in details) of all her guests, making you feel so important. She welcomed us so cordially, introducing us to every member of her staff on our way to the pool, making us feel so special. We were offered sweet santorinian wine as welcome drink at reception and till the end of our "check in" procedure we were feeling like family with all the staff. When we finally reached the pool area, we could clearly hear some Latin music, giving us a party feeling. One of my friends started moving her body when Anthi told us that it was a Salsa song and showed us the steps. We ended up (four 50+...years old women) dancing salsa for the first time in our life and all these before we even see our rooms. Then Anthi showed us to our rooms which were really spacious, clean and confortable with a breathtaking sea view, far beyond our expectations. The next days she was so visible, offering her help and suggestions (for restaurants, things to do ect.) to anybody.
In that hotel I relaxed, I almost forgot my stressful reality for some days, I had some precious moments with my best friends and this was all we needed from our vacation. I highly recommend this hotel. Many thanks to all the staff and especially Anthi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 904amys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel itself was lovely although be aware that there are many steep steps to climb if you are moving to and from your room to the pool. The view over the caldera was amazing.
The reception staff were great and very helpful, the same cannot be said for the bar/restaurant staff. The food and drink service was very slow. At one stage I had to ask three time for a towel before one was finally brought to me.
Breakfast brought to the room was lovely, but again did not arrive on time which can be annoying if you are heading out for a days sightseeing (40 mins late).
The room was billed as a suite but was actually quite basic, tiny shower and the whirlpool bath did not work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommoNW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a 3 night stay at OTR with 2 rooms booked. One was a standard double and the other was a suite. The suite was cut into the rock of the mountainside and both rooms had the most breathtaking views over the caldera. If you are staying in Santorini you really have to book a hotel on this side of the island. Without exception the staff were outstanding. We are still quite fit which is important as the hotel is set into the side of the crater and there is a steep climb from reception down to the lower rooms. There is an occasional sulphurous smell which is due to ongoing volcanic activity rather than dodgy plumbing which some reviewers have mentioned. Overall highly recommended

Room Tip: If you can afford it g for a suite as some of the standard doubles are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 50 in Imerovigli
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#22 of 50 in Imerovigli
401 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 50 in Imerovigli
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#12 of 50 in Imerovigli
591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Rocks

Property: On The Rocks
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — On The Rocks 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel On The Rocks, 200 meters above the Caldera basin, in the famous village of Imerovigli, 10 minutes from the island's capital, Fira town. Easily accessible via air and boat transportation, 10 km from Santorini airport and Athinios port. Room Facilities All Rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, fax upon request,direct dial phone, safe deposit boxes, mini bar, hair dryer. Profile: On The Rocks has 24 hrs Front Desk, Swimming Pool, Pool Bar and Restaurant, Free wi-fi access. Guest Services: Front Desk, Bell Boy service, Travel Desk, Personal Concierge,Room Service, Daily maid service, Turn down service. Spa Facilities: On The Rocks Spa Room with Indoor Jacuzzi and massage treatments realized by experienced professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your On The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Rocks Hotel Imerovigli
Rocks Santorini
On The Rocks Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing