We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, stunning views, helpful staff but a few issues...”
Review of On The Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
On The Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were moved to this hotel and so got a good deal - it's a really lovely boutique hotel right on the caldera, with stunning views. They're pretty much enough to ensure any stay is amazing.

The staff are great and will do as much as possible to help without being too much. We've never experienced such attentive help.

The rooms are lovely too - grey and white, v boutiquey and the beds are amazing! But they do smell! The plumbing in Greece is different to the UK but as I think others have mentioned there is a definite smell of sewage that gets worse overnight once no
air circulates. We didn't let it bother us but if i'd paid the high rack rate it would have bothered me a lot.

The breakfasts were a definite hit and miss - out of three breakfasts there wasnt one that came as we ordered. There was always something missing and often several things! (The hot drinks always seemed to be cold too). But you got it on your balcony with those caldera views so not worth complaining too much!

The other niggle was the ratio of sun beds to guests - the loungers are amazing but they're doubles and there's only 6 of them for the 17 or so rooms. We felt like we had to get up v early to get one and there was only 1 umbrella which for my fair skinned other half is a necessity! It would help if there were sunbeds on the balconies - more private and would ensure there are enough!

There was a certain lack of privacy generally - the walkways go by your room door so you can hear people coming and going. (And they can hear you). Plus, as said, the sunbeds are v close. Space is of course at a premium there but this might not be ideal if you're looking for a romantic break! Although the location is superb and very romantic.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosieblue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 471 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great hotel and staff.We were upgraded on arrival for 9 night stay and glad we were as some rooms did not have very private verandas , ours did ! Room 9 !! Lovely position on the island, quiet and within walking distance of Fira but make sure you have comfortable walking shoes. Breakfast served on your veranda from 8am-11am so good if you have a late night out !! Room service for food is good , we used it twice but menu limited.Rooms very clean and maid service is twice a day ... on the negative, the bath tub/shower are small and not suitable for 4* hotel and difficult to shower in... rooms are clean but basic, no bed side lights in our room which if you like a good night time read you have to have main light on.Very steep steps up/down to room so take care. Overall we were very happy and would go again for the right price as it is quite expensive.

Room Tip: Room 9 had good private veranda, lots don`t though..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichRatcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My sister and I spent 4 lovely nights here over the end of May bank holiday.
First impressions count, and when we walked to the hotel and saw the view, we knew everything else couldn't be bad. And it wasn't. The hotel is unusual, but so would anything be that is built into the side of a mountain. It's steep and definitely not for the faint hearted. You have to almost climb up and down stairs. It was unusual sleeping in a cave, but not unpleasant. I've just seen another review where the lady was disappointed that it wasn't a luxury hotel, and she's right, but it has a charm that overcomes that. In terms of location, it's fantastic. There are some local restaurants, and the main town of Fira is a walk away, and a beautiful walk it is too - right along the coastal road. If you want a long weekend stay, this is one I'd recommend. It's not luxury, luxury, but its great and the views and staff are what make it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelzbelzSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had an amazing time on Santorini for our Honeymoon and loved our stay at Hotel On the Rocks. Beware of Google maps, it shows the hotel in a completely different location for some reason, but after asking around we found it. The staff really made our stay, they were very friendly and able to assist us with all of our questions and gave us good recommendations for restaurants, etc. Anthi was very nice and gave us a tour and welcome drinks when we arrived. She also helped us figure out the best way to get the metro to our next hotel in Athens and printed a map for us. The cliff side pool is great for a relaxing day, and although there isn't a restaurant, you can order food poolside and it was quite good. The breakfast was good as well and we loved having it in our room every morning. The only downside I think, was the price. We paid half the price at another hotel (not on Santorini though) and it was much more of a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyStarproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were extremely disappointed with our recent stay at On The Rocks. After looking at all the reviews on Trip Advisor, the photographs in the Olympic Holidays brochure, the Small Leading Hotels website and the hotel website , we thought the place looked amazing and didn't hesitate to book our weeks holiday. The double room that we had booked was basic beyond belief and looked absolutely nothing like the pictures. The only storage space was a mobile hanging rack with some hangers. There were no cupboards or drawers to store anything and our door didn't lock. The welcome bottle of wine arrived without any glasses and when I asked for glasses I was told that they had run out. The next day, we moved to another room. Again, the room was so basic but had a bath this time (which was grimy and with a constant musty smell from the plug hole). There were no pictures on the walls, no bedside lamps but at least there was a cupboard with some hanging space and some shelves. The manager said she would show us another room the next day but we decided to stay put as having seen the inside of another couple of rooms on our own, they all looked pretty basic and we didn't want to spend our whole holiday moving rooms. Basically, this is not a luxury hotel. The staff are great though and to be fair probably spend much of their time placating clients who are unimpressed with what they have been led to believe is a superb hotel. If we had paid half the price of what they were charging per double room, I think we would have just about accepted the accommodation for what it was but in view of the fact that the room rates started at around 200 Euros a night for the period we were there, it is not worth the money. The websites and brochures need to be updated to show the correct pictures of the place because the current ones are completely misleading. There are much nicer hotels right next door.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My freind and I travelled to Santorini in early May. We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning (7AM) and were really pleased that as two women travelling alone ..that within minutes one of the staff (Mandip ) had already come to greet us at the top of the hotel steps and carried our siutcases down to reception,whilst making sure we managed the steps (which are UNIQUE...) down ok.

He was extremely friendly and polite and led us to the main balcony overlooking the sea to relax , and made sure we had a hot drink whilst he went to find out if we could check into our room early...even though check was much later on in the day.

We were led our room after only a short wait and Mandip made sure to ask us if we required anything further... this is only one example of how freindly and accomodating the staff have been.

Even though we were only in Santorini for a few days, Mandip
,Claudio,and Markus were always freindly whenver we saw them and always had time see if you needed anything.... they were also always cheerfull and helpfull when serving drinks/snacks/breakfast...by the way the continental breakfast is amazing..you have to try it ... and its also HUGE!!.... warm cake ,croissant,rolls lovely cheese and cold meats ,freshly sqeezed orange juice ,tea /coffee and if thats not enough you can still order from the Ala Cart menu as well!!... nothing was too much trouble for these guys. ..which made a massive difference to our holiday.

On The Rocks has an amazing view over the sea , which you can really appreciate whilst lying back on the double sunloungers (nice touch there) , and you feel very chilled and relaxed from the moment you arrive . . infact we were SO relaxed we never got round to using the spa!
....this place definetly has a special energy about it and we will be comming back.

The manager Anthi is also wonderfull, she knew who ALL her guests were and was great at judging weather people wanted to chat or just be left alone to chill. She upgraded our room -gratis, and was always on hand if you needed anything, ...she even went to the trouble of printing out bus timetables, info on places to see and eat... for the couple of occasions we did venture out. She knew the area well and was great at recomending things to do or places to eat, she even recomended a local Sushi Bar!!

Anthi was kind enough to sort out dinner reservations at one of the restaraunts at another hotel on a couple of nights ,so we could have dinner whilst watching the sunset, ...she thoughtfully asked the restaraunt to move us inside if during dinner it became too cold to sit outside(which it did)

When we arrived for dinner the restaraunt staff knew who we were and nothing was too much trouble, again.
Its a must, to go and have dinner one night at LA MALTESE, good food and very chilled atmosphere ,good wine list too!

I have to say Anthi, has a fantastic team at this hotel, who all work together very well, Maria and Dimitri in reception are also extremely charming and friendly ,have good local knowledge and always ready to greet you with a big smile whenever you happen to pass by. ...which I did frequently ...as I have no sense of direction and manged to lose my room several times....

The only thing I would advise you on is the steps, which can be a liitle steep, so take some shoes that are good for climbing/ walking, ...but every step is worth it .

This hotel is charming,quirky,chilled and picture postcard perfect...definetly wort a visit.

Big thank you again to Anthi, Dimitri, Maria ,Mandip, Claudio and Markus for making our little holiday a great big one to remember...

Anita .K

Room Tip: No problem here as all rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anita k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I've never commented before on trip advisor but felt the need to, after a wonderful, relaxing 4 night stay at On the Rocks.

It was absolute heaven, the views are to die for, all of the staff are so friendly and helpful, our room was immaculate, and the breakfast was perfect for us.

We stayed in the master suite which had a semi private pool and sun loungers, the only negative comment would be that usually there would be another couple in the standard room next door which would mean that they would not only be semi sharing the pool, but that in addition we would not get the view of the caldera. However, on this occasion, the manageress did everything she could, to ensure that we had the upmost privacy by keeping the room vacant. We had the master suite which is a wonderful room, private pool, sun loungers and the table and chairs facing out to the caldera view which truly is amazing. This made our stay all the more special and was sheer bliss. We did feel very lucky and cannot thank the manageress enough.

It was so peaceful and relaxing, and the weather was even better than we expected. Although be warned, it's very chilly in the evening so make sure you take a cardigan or jacket. It was soooo windy!!!!The stairs down to the room are pretty steep so would recommend flat shoes only, no heels unless youre very daring!

The staff at the front desk are excellent, friendly and will do anything for you, in fact all of the staff are so nice, the luggage guys, waiters, maids are all really lovely. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to visit again.

Thank you for such a wonderful time xxxxx

Room Tip: If you book room 11 the master suite with the semi private pool, be prepared to possibly share the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.2 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 51 in Imerovigli
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 51 in Imerovigli
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 51 in Imerovigli
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Rocks

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range: $165 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — On The Rocks 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel On The Rocks, 200 meters above the Caldera basin, in the famous village of Imerovigli, 10 minutes from the island's capital, Fira town. Easily accessible via air and boat transportation, 10 km from Santorini airport and Athinios port. Room Facilities All Rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, fax upon request,direct dial phone, safe deposit boxes, mini bar, hair dryer. Profile: On The Rocks has 24 hrs Front Desk, Swimming Pool, Pool Bar and Restaurant, Free wi-fi access. Guest Services: Front Desk, Bell Boy service, Travel Desk, Personal Concierge,Room Service, Daily maid service, Turn down service. Spa Facilities: On The Rocks Spa Room with Indoor Jacuzzi and massage treatments realized by experienced professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your On The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Rocks Hotel Imerovigli
Rocks Santorini
On The Rocks Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing