We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel is NOT luxurious!”
Review of On The Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
On The Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This Hotel is NOT luxurious!”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Before  I start, the situation of the hotel is stunning,  the views absolutely amazing and it's pretty tranquil, but that is where the good news stops.

 I read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking through Small Luxury Hotels so had pretty high (but i like to think reasonable) expectations. I did note a couple of negative comments amidst the sea of positive ones, but as 90% seemed more than positive I put any niggling doubts to the  back of my mind. 

 We stayed in room 7. The cave like  room was very small and basic, sparsely, but prettily  furnished. More  upmarket backpacker than 4 star luxury. Although first impressions of the room were disappointing, we decided it wasn't too bad as we wouldn't be spending much time indoors. The view from our little terrace was, after all, absolutely awesome - but it soon became very apparent that was what we were paying a premium for - certainly nothing else we experienced warranted the £325 a night price tag we were paying for a 7 night stay.

 The room smelt strongly of air freshener on arrival - which immediately recalled a negative comment someone else had made about the smell of sewage. Sure enough, we got the benefit a day or so later when the air freshener ran low. Every time we returned after that we could smell it and had to leave the door open to let the room breath. The small shower quickly proved to be an absolute disaster and constantly flooded the room.   The comments about not enough storage and coat hangers were also correct.

 The staff were very polite and helpful at all times - but I would expect that from a 4 star hotel, wouldn't you? The service was certainly not as mind blowing as others have made out on this site.

 Breakfast was VERY basic - a slice of processed ham & cheese each, an assortment of bread, plain omelette, v. limited choice of cereal etc;  We had to order it a day in advance. Unfortunately, I don't know what I want for dinner let alone what I want the following morning for breakfast.  Despite the advance notice, they still  got the order wrong during the first two days, could not boil an egg properly (we stuck with it for 4 days before giving up) and even ran out of egg cups one day.

There were no sun loungers for our  private terrace, whilst all the neighbouring hotels equipped theirs with plenty; there was no on site restaurant, although there was a little snack bar in the pool area which served light snacks and a couple of cocktails  but you had to wait rather longer than what might be thought reasonable after ordering on several occasions; the pool area was cramped and lacking enough sun loungers; there was no Internet connection in the room although I could pick up the signal from the hotels on either side (but of course didn't have the access code); there was no iron in the room, and they didn't have one you could borrow.

But the  last straw was when the simultaneous romantic massage for myself and my partner was screwed up, only one masseuse pitched up and our (very separate) experiences were ruined by the sound of staff talking/shouting outside the room. 

Four days into our holiday we politely explained that we were very disappointed with our experience. Katriana, the Manager, proved very sympathetic and helpful and arranged for an immediate  upgrade to Room 3. Much bigger and in a proper cave, with great frescos on the wall. Our delight was short lived however, as the shower proved unusable,  producing just a trickle of water. We had to resort to sitting on the floor under the faucet in a fruitless attempt to wash our hair. Might be acceptable in a backpacker hostel but not what you expect from one of The Small Luxury Hotels of The World. We reluctantly (but politely) complained again and the flow of water was improved the following day but the faucet tap and the shower hose connection was left hanging off the wall in the process. 

The bottom line is that whilst the views are absolutely fantastic,  if you are after luxury from your Santorini trip look elsewhere, and clearly be prepared to pay more for it. We looked around Icons and Chromata whilst there, both offered exactly what we were looking for with large stylish rooms etc. Alternatively  pay less and stay in another hotel with pretty much the same views (there are plenty of them) and be prepared to manage your expectations accordingly.   This one is marketing itself as something it clearly isn't. How it can claim to be a 4 star hotel and be a member of the SLH stable is beyond me.  Would have loved to recommend but, on the back of our experience and despite the very best efforts of Katriana the manager, we definitely, absolutely,  can't. 

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid rooms 7, 2 and especially 4. Room 3 is a good size and the best we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mobysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    90
    36
    31
    28
See reviews for
30
315
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wenduine, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Our stay at this hotel was super. We had a nice room with terras and the view of the caldera here was superb. The staff were very friendly, receptionists, luggage boys, waiters, but what we were most pleased of, was the warm hospitality of the manager, Katerina Bouhagier. She made us feel at home, and every day when we came by the reception, she gave us great tips on restaurants, public transportation and nice places on Santorini worthwile visiting.
We were sorry to be leaving, but we will certainly visit the beautiful island of Santorini again.
Marc and Nicole, Belgium

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocks2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Just returned from a week at On The Rocks - our first trip to Santorini and what a fabulous week it was.

We booked the hotel via Thomson Holidays with no prior recommendations - just having looked at reviews on Trip Advisor and we were absolutely delighted.

We arrived late at night and were shown to our "cave" but couldn't see what what actually outside our window as it was so dark. Next morning, our breath was taken away as we saw the view from our terrace and the caldera and volcano right in front of us. Truly stunning.

The hotel is small by our standards but I guess normal for Santorini. No breakfast room or dining room so breakfast is delivered to your terrace each morning - and what a joy that is - to eat overlooking that spectacular view.

The steps we were ready for - but boy they are steep! But if you take it slowly and have lots of stops, they're do-able and it's well worth being puffed for that fantastic view.

The staff at On The Rocks have to be praised to the heavens as they are an absolute delight. Nothing was too much trouble for them - whatever the request. They simply couldn't do enough to please us, help us, make our holiday enjoyable - they were a joy. The recommendations they gave us for trips, sightseeing etc too were absolutely splendid.

I really can't praise On The Rocks and the staff there enough. If you're off to Santorini, and looking for somewhere to stay, you won't be disappointed.

Thanks to all at On The Rocks for a fabulous stay - we'll be back as soon as we possibly can!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mollysouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This hotel has to be considered one of the best we've stayed in over the years, especially considering it's almost unique situation. We didn't arrive there until almost midnight, but were met with the utmost warmth and charm. We were taken to our room, which was immaculately prepared and spotlessly clean. The only downside to us personally were the amount of steps down to the room, but we had been warned about this,and were quite prepared. On reflection however, we realised that we would have problems for the duration of our stay (due to my health problems),, and asked the next morning whether it would be possible to change rooms for one nearer access level. We offered to pay for any upgrade required, but were assured that this would not be necessary, and duly moved up to a suite much higher in the hotel. The staff at this hotel seem to only have one mission in life, and that's to make their guests feel like they are the most important person in the hotel ! We sampled virtually everything that the hotel had to offer, and were delighted with the standards of both Room Service and Amenities. The overall standard of cleanliness and hygiene is most impressive, and I honestly can't think of any downsides. The reception staff, headed by Catherine cannot do enough for you, and are always on hand to ensure that your stay is most enjoyable, and the support staff are, in my mind,superior to many larger and more expensive alternatives. As this is a 'couples' hotel, the ambience is one of total relaxation,and if you are looking for a romantic and relaxing holiday, we would highly recommend this establishment. With regard to location on the island, I would say pretty good, as you would be located on the west side, and in easy reach of Thira and Oia.
If I had to sum up our visit, I would say that the "On the Rocks" is fabulous, but it's the staff that make it PERFECT !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoneturner187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Me and my boyfriend decided to have a short break in beautiful Santorini and chose to stay in Imerovigli…we had to decide between 3 options but something about On the Rocks urged us to stay there…and it proved to be a great choice!
We spent 3 nights in mid May in a superior double room. The view was incomparable! The hotel is really situated on the rocks facing the amazing, popular and worldwide known Caldera!
The hotel’s staff offered us such a warm welcome and were there for anything we needed. During our last night there we decided to stay in the room and enjoy the amazing view from our own private balcony with our drinks.
The hotel’s position is perfect since we could visit not only Imerovigli but Fira also, which is very close and easy to get to…
I would definitely recommend this hotel to people wanting a great holiday combining relaxation with cosmopolitan and vivid surroundings. Besides, I have already suggested On the Rocks to my sister and her husband who have already booked their summer vacation there!
Not to miss!!!

Room Tip: Try the suites as they seemed really luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maraki_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

this trip is part of our honeymoon and these are our last momets in santorini. We booked through the website bnd booked a package that had a lot of amenities plus a free upgrade . Our suite was simple, with elegant decoration and big veranda with fantastic views of the volcano. We spent romantic moments watching the big blue.
The staff was young, friendly and eficient. The private boat tour in the volcano is a must.
We will definately come back in the future. Great place

Room Tip: the suites on the lower part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polanka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This place brought life back to our holiday after a very disappointing stay at another hotel, On The Rocks put a smile on our faces.

Staff were very friendly and professional, I cannot praise them enough. The hotel, bit overpriced even for off-peak season but after hunting for a room we found On The Rocks was value for money compared to the hotels on either side of it charging almost an extra100+ euros/night for the same view which cannot be justified i dont care how great their rooms are.

The room we stayed at (no. 16) had a great view from the mattress which happens to be on the rock it self. Dont let that put you off, it was very comfortable. It wasn't a large room, but more than enough space for 2 people, good size balcony, ample storage space, small bathroom but nice. I noticed a few people complained about the musty/damp smell, this was the case for the two hotels we stayed at. Open the windows get some air circulation going and its fine. As these hotels are built in the mountain rock, its expected this would happen, dont let it put you off, once you're there you'll understand and except it, well, we did! Breakfast was nice, they bring it to the room what more could you ask for!

For those who are travelling this part of the island, dont be surprised if you are paying over the odds per night even when compared with 4/5* hotels in London. I suppose its the price you have to pay for sun, sea and views!

I would recommend this place to anyone, it was very nice, but dont forget you get what you pay for. We did see another room at this hotel, it was tinny, it looked like a cave with a bed!

One last thing, the outlet pipe for extractor fan from the bathroom unfortunately routes via the room, its only a small elbow pipe near the celling above the mattress, its not an eye sore however, its not insulated very well. hint hint!

Anyway, that all from me, enjoy your stay if you are to stay here i know i would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alladin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#22 of 50 in Imerovigli
403 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 50 in Imerovigli
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#12 of 50 in Imerovigli
594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Rocks

Property: On The Rocks
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — On The Rocks 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel On The Rocks, 200 meters above the Caldera basin, in the famous village of Imerovigli, 10 minutes from the island's capital, Fira town. Easily accessible via air and boat transportation, 10 km from Santorini airport and Athinios port. Room Facilities All Rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, fax upon request,direct dial phone, safe deposit boxes, mini bar, hair dryer. Profile: On The Rocks has 24 hrs Front Desk, Swimming Pool, Pool Bar and Restaurant, Free wi-fi access. Guest Services: Front Desk, Bell Boy service, Travel Desk, Personal Concierge,Room Service, Daily maid service, Turn down service. Spa Facilities: On The Rocks Spa Room with Indoor Jacuzzi and massage treatments realized by experienced professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your On The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Rocks Hotel Imerovigli
Rocks Santorini
On The Rocks Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing