We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of the sunset”
Review of Hotel Sunny Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sunny Villas
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best view of the sunset”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

A friend of mine said... "go to Oia, it has the best view" and "get a hotel with a large swimming pool". We went everywhere on the island on an ATV and compared all places to stay, including Oia. My friend was totally wrong.

Imerovigli is, in my opinion, far better for couples than Oia. And in Imerovigli, Sunny Villas was the nicest hotel possible. Everything was perfect: the hotel is perfectly aligned with the beautiful sunset, our room had a private balcony and Andreas (the chap on duty at the hotel) was always willing to help.

The pool is not huge, but as the hotel is small, everytime we went to the pool we either had it for ourselves or shared with 2 other people.

Just a stone's throw away from the hotel is a terrace restaurant called La Maison where we had an amazing dinner whilst watching the sunset (for about 50 euros for the 2 of us).

Sunny Villas cost us about half the price of some of the expensive hotels in Imerovigli, but frankly it is no inferior in quality or view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenofonts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    87
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
60
287
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
matthews nc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Magnificent location, fantastic peace and quiet, great breakfast, helpful staff. I had even asked for a specific room I saw featured on their website, and Andreas held that one for us. It was just perfect! In all our walking around Fira and Oia we never saw anything better than our piece of paradise at Sunny Villas in Imerovigli. Price was so reasonable, too. Would love to return!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmgMatthewsNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Perfect. Not super luxurious, but very comfortable, great location, very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

This hotel is perching on the volcanic rim, right in front of the ancient castle ruin of Scaros, with a full view of Caldera. It's located at a quiet location within a pleasant walking distance to Fira. We had a spacious room for family and breakfast was delivered to our private veranda. The hotel manager was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matias2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

My fiancee and I stayed here in the end of June, and plan to go back as soon as we can. This place is the place to go if you plan on visiting Santorini. It is located about 10mins (by atv) from the main town of Fira. The brothers who own this place are so helpful and make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive.

The view from every room is a spectacular panoramic view of the Caldera and Ocean. It was just breathtaking, you can literally sit on your terrace all day and never get tired of looking at the crystal blue waters of the ocean. There is a nice refreshing pool, and pool bar located at the hotel as well. The rooms are well decorated and cleaned every single day.

I would recommend going to Oia to see the sunset, as well as going to all the different beaches on the island. You can rent an ATV (best way to get around the island) for as little as $15 Euro a day.

You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmOkeythebear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Pack your most comfortable walking shoes! The cliffside town of Imerovigli is unforgiving. I nearly fainted dragging my suitcase down to Sunny Villas but once I got to the hotel I completely forgot all the pain. The view was simply unforgettable. Imerovigli is located between Thira and Oia. You can walk between the two towns. The walk can be challenging but well worth it. We checked out Red Beach and Black Beach however we were not impressed. The best thing to do was lying on our balcony at Sunny Villas with a good book and a nice bottle of wine. Relaxing and peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Sunny Villas, in Imerovigli for 4 days in late July of '10. We were extremely satisfied by all aspects of our experience there. Our only regret is that we stayed for too little, we wish we had stayed longer, but hopefully we'll be back next summer.
First of all, the location of the hotel is just superb: It's in the village of Imerovigli, which is in between Fira (the capital) and Oia (famous for its sunset views). The village is definitely within walking distance from Fira (and thus you get easy access to all the amenities there, like banks, etc.) . It's not too far from Oia either, but you probably need to drive there. The sunset and caldera views of Imerovigli are just as good as from Oia. So, Imerovigli may be the best village to stay in Santorini: Superb caldera views, close enough to Fira, and without the crowds of Fira and Oia…
Sunny Villas’ location in Imerovigli is particularly advantageous as the entire hotel and the rooms/studios have unblocked, fascinating views of the caldera and of the impressive rock of Skaros… Words cannot describe how great the views are. Even the attached pictures that show the views from our room’s balcony don’t do it full justice – you have to see it with your own eyes…
Our room was cute, stylishly decorated to look like a cave, for an authentic Santorini feel. My girlfriend was particularly impressed with the bathroom, hence the attached photos… Our veranda was large, with comfortable furniture, and…, did I mention the view?
The hotel staff was extremely nice, friendly, and responsive to our needs… They have efficient room service, bring you your breakfast to your veranda in the mornings, and a nice pool bar. Andreas (the manager) is an exceedingly nice guy. You get the impression he genuinely cares about his guests (contrast this to the artificial politeness you often encounter in big hotel chains) and will go out of his way to be helpful.
The hotel’s rates are very reasonable, probably a bargain, given the quality of its rooms, the level of service, and its superb location. It has a limited number of rooms though, which might create problems with availability, especially in the high season.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeandMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#22 of 50 in Imerovigli
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 50 in Imerovigli
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Imerovigli
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 50 in Imerovigli
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunny Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny Villas

Property: Hotel Sunny Villas
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#21 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunny Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sunny Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing