We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view, wonderful services”
Review of Hotel Sunny Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunny Villas
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, wonderful services”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

This hotel is perching on the volcanic rim, right in front of the ancient castle ruin of Scaros, with a full view of Caldera. It's located at a quiet location within a pleasant walking distance to Fira. We had a spacious room for family and breakfast was delivered to our private veranda. The hotel manager was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matias2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    89
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
68
294
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

My fiancee and I stayed here in the end of June, and plan to go back as soon as we can. This place is the place to go if you plan on visiting Santorini. It is located about 10mins (by atv) from the main town of Fira. The brothers who own this place are so helpful and make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive.

The view from every room is a spectacular panoramic view of the Caldera and Ocean. It was just breathtaking, you can literally sit on your terrace all day and never get tired of looking at the crystal blue waters of the ocean. There is a nice refreshing pool, and pool bar located at the hotel as well. The rooms are well decorated and cleaned every single day.

I would recommend going to Oia to see the sunset, as well as going to all the different beaches on the island. You can rent an ATV (best way to get around the island) for as little as $15 Euro a day.

You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmOkeythebear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Pack your most comfortable walking shoes! The cliffside town of Imerovigli is unforgiving. I nearly fainted dragging my suitcase down to Sunny Villas but once I got to the hotel I completely forgot all the pain. The view was simply unforgettable. Imerovigli is located between Thira and Oia. You can walk between the two towns. The walk can be challenging but well worth it. We checked out Red Beach and Black Beach however we were not impressed. The best thing to do was lying on our balcony at Sunny Villas with a good book and a nice bottle of wine. Relaxing and peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Sunny Villas, in Imerovigli for 4 days in late July of '10. We were extremely satisfied by all aspects of our experience there. Our only regret is that we stayed for too little, we wish we had stayed longer, but hopefully we'll be back next summer.
First of all, the location of the hotel is just superb: It's in the village of Imerovigli, which is in between Fira (the capital) and Oia (famous for its sunset views). The village is definitely within walking distance from Fira (and thus you get easy access to all the amenities there, like banks, etc.) . It's not too far from Oia either, but you probably need to drive there. The sunset and caldera views of Imerovigli are just as good as from Oia. So, Imerovigli may be the best village to stay in Santorini: Superb caldera views, close enough to Fira, and without the crowds of Fira and Oia…
Sunny Villas’ location in Imerovigli is particularly advantageous as the entire hotel and the rooms/studios have unblocked, fascinating views of the caldera and of the impressive rock of Skaros… Words cannot describe how great the views are. Even the attached pictures that show the views from our room’s balcony don’t do it full justice – you have to see it with your own eyes…
Our room was cute, stylishly decorated to look like a cave, for an authentic Santorini feel. My girlfriend was particularly impressed with the bathroom, hence the attached photos… Our veranda was large, with comfortable furniture, and…, did I mention the view?
The hotel staff was extremely nice, friendly, and responsive to our needs… They have efficient room service, bring you your breakfast to your veranda in the mornings, and a nice pool bar. Andreas (the manager) is an exceedingly nice guy. You get the impression he genuinely cares about his guests (contrast this to the artificial politeness you often encounter in big hotel chains) and will go out of his way to be helpful.
The hotel’s rates are very reasonable, probably a bargain, given the quality of its rooms, the level of service, and its superb location. It has a limited number of rooms though, which might create problems with availability, especially in the high season.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeandMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stayed here with my family and a few friends and it was perfect!! The rooms were very spacious and the view is to die for! You have uninterrupted views of the Caldera, Oia and Fira. The rooms are naturally cool as they are dug into the hill and each have their own patio. The manager is very helpful - when we couldn't get a taxi to the airport on our last day he drove us into town. He also helped with recommending restaurants, sightseeing and organising and maxi taxi.
The breakfast is delicious and it is very nice having it on your patio. The kitchen was also very useful and large.
The location is lovely - it is a nice 20minute walk into the heart of Fira along the cobblestone path.
The only downside would be the lack of sunbaking area by the pool - sometimes it got a bit too full.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed at Sunny Villas in July of 2009. It was my 4th time in Santorini and I was taking my then girlfriend to propose to her. After reading the reviews on how great the hotel was and how nice the staff was we decided to stay at Sunny Villas. We reserved the cave studio and it was fantastic. The style and the design of the room was exactly what we wanted. The bathroom was great and we both loved the shower. Our veranda and view of the caldera outside was worth the price of the room itself. We loved waking up in the morning and having breakfast outside and enjoying the view. The pool and pool bar were great. All the staff we met took great care of us. We were hoping to go back again this year but we'll have to wait for another year. I've been to many greek islands and Santorini is by far my favorite and now I also have a favorite hotel to stay at when I come there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avainas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

SUnny VIllas is in a great location, which i think is the best in Santorini. It is between Fira and Oia, with an outlook of the afternoon sun and sunet, directly out to sea and the caldera. View is thebest thing about this hotel.
In terms of features, service and facilities Sunny villas does the main things, but not to a very high standard.
it is fine for a 4 day stopover, but there are too many shortcomings to spend longer there.
Positives:-
Very helpful reception - Andreas. he cannot do enough for you and makes you very welcome.
Pool/ restaurant staff also helpful and friendly.
Location and view is perfect.
Rooms are cavelike and quaint. adequate space and basic facilties.

Negatives:-
Steps everywhere. Obviously as built on a cliff..
Lots of tourists all day taking photos of the view and looking into your room if door/ window is open. Annoying.
Pool is literally the size of a jacuzzi. You have to swim in circles. No shower. entry via ladders.
Sun deck is tiny and normally full. Deck chairs are very old fashioned, uncomfortable and basic. Cannot lie flat, must sit up all day. only 6 chairs available.
poolside bar is also the kitchen and restaurant. minimal menu choice and often waiter disappears for long times during the day.
Rooms are often full of moisture, humidity and damp. hair and clothes get wet at night.
Bathroom fittings and bedroom furniture is 1970's and old fashioned.
Not all surfaces are clean - e.g. wardrobe shelves were v dusty.
TV is small, old and rubbish. mainly german and greek channels.
Breakfast is very limited selection. mainly just bread, juice and greek yoghurt.
We requested eggs but they were special order and came out all wrong (e.g. bacon served to a vegetarian, and were fried when we asked for scrambled)
Wifi only works near to reception, and there is nowhere to sit with a laptop except for directly next to busy reception desk.

Santorini was very interesting and different to visit, we rented a scooter and explored whole island. Restaurnats are hard to find good ones, even with tripadvisor recommendations! and expensive due to high number of tourists.
Volcano tour is let down as it's just looking at rocks and walking around in high sun heat.
Sunsets were magical.

I would stay elsewhere nxt time, there are loads of similar guest house style B&B's to stay at in Santorini. We are simply used to more luxury for the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICKMLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#19 of 51 in Imerovigli
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 51 in Imerovigli
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#15 of 51 in Imerovigli
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunny Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny Villas

Property: Hotel Sunny Villas
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#21 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunny Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunny Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing