We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than i had imagine..........”
Review of Hotel Sunny Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sunny Villas
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We always trust tripadvisor for our holiday booking.Once more it took me and my husband to the most breathtaking place for vacation in greece: Eventhough i had second thoughts of the hotel because of negative reviews i chose it among a big list and i never regret it .The magnificent view of the volcano lying in front of our private terrace and the fabulous sunset worth every single penny.
The cave style studio was first of all to mention clean,with romantic atmosphere ,lighting and ventilation.
The service was excellent and Andreas very helpfull.He suggested the hotspots of the island for dinner,drinks and beaches away from the crowded noisy places.
PS.THE BEST AMERICAN BREAKFAST I EVER HAD

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sunny Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 478 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2009

Hotel Sunny Villas was the most enjoyable Hotel we stayed in Europe.
The location was great it was the best of both worlds: 1) relaxing with a magnificant view and peaceful as you were away from the cruise ship tourists. 2) Close enough for a short walk to be in the middle of Fira with all the shops if you wanted. Also there was a supermarket, restaraunts and bakery nearby that were much cheaper than those in Fira.
Our room was very comfortable and clean, with a great view and reasonably priced in comparison with other hotels.

The hospitality was by far the highlight, the best we experienced in Europe and it truely made our trip unforgetable. Andreas really made you feel welcome and was always willing to help. All the recommendations on restaraunts, wineries, activities and even hairdressers were exactly spot on.

I would highly recommend staying at Sunny Villas, if we go back to Santorini I wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamandEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We booked the trip via hrs and were very disapointed upon arrival. The room we had was not the elangtly decorated ones showed on the hotel home page, but some uncosy basic equipped room on the top of the cliff which the hotel owner had additionnally acquired to lodge guests. This is a big fake!
The service was really poor and unfriendly. We were served daily (14 days) exactly the same breakfast. No room service, even when ill. Sad experience.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gicabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasMarinis, manager at Hotel Sunny Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2009

I should first like to point out that this review, although posted in October 2009, concerns a stay, according to the reviewer, in August of 2007. Complaints of any nature made more than two years after the event make one wonder what reason lays behind them. Without the reviewers name so that our records can be checked and the events recalled (I have already contacted you through Tripadvisor but I still haven't received your
reply), there is very little we can do. We can of course categorically deny that any ‘additionally acquired’ rooms were used as there simply aren’t any available and secondly all our rooms are located on ‘the cliff’, after all the Caldera is considered to be the prime location in Santorini. In conclusion, had the reviewer made known his complaints to the management at the time, then all this could have been amicably resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was a cozy little place to stay. The rooms were unique - we stayed in one of the cave rooms. The staff was very nice and helpful. It was a good location - excellent views of the sunset right from our balcony! My only complaint would be the breakfast - it was ok, but it was the same thing every morning, so it got boring.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubagirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Sunny Villas for about 5 days and the experience was nothing short of amazing. The hotel staff, Michael and Andreas, were extremely friendly and willing to work with you on just about anything, i.e. late checkout, upgrades, help with your bags... If you decide to stay in the jacuzzi rooms every penny you spend will be worth it. The hotel is extremely clean with great room service. It has an amazing view of the Caldera and is sincerely breathtaking. The location was great as well since Imerovigli is right in between Oia and Fira. When we did our initial planning of our Santorini trip, we were under the impression that Oia was the best place to be on the island. That is very untrue. Everywhere in on the island is pretty much a 10-20 min drive via moped or ATV. If you opt to rent a car it's even quicker. Just riding around in an ATV was fun in itself. Sunny Villas is highly recommended to anyone that decides to plan a trip to Santorini.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

After reading reviews about how nice the place was and seeing the website photos, my wife and I chose this hotel. However, we were slightly misled. Slightly because the pictures are correct, but only if you are lucky enough to get the rooms with views. We got the cave. Our view consisted of a window with shutters, overlooking a table, which overlooks a railing, which you could slightly see the ocean and caldera through.

Also, they told us we had a "private veranda". Only private when you sit there and do not look around. But not private since you see another "private verandas" 6 inches away and people walking behind you looking at your breakfast.

Oh and the breakfast... do not spend extra for any breakfast. This is where any expense they could have spent... they did not. What a waste. I would have been even more upset if we actually paid extra for it, but it was included in the Travelocity package.

Then the room itself. At least the room was fairly cool and had an air conditioner. But we were there for three days and our shower never drained at all. Try taking a shower in 4 inches of dirty water. Fun ey?

Forget asking questions too. The night guy Micheal at least knows something, but the day guy (at the time when you need information) is useless. Abrupt and ignorant are my two words to describe Andreas (a guy). Before you even walk in to ask a question... know that you increase your chances of dying from second hand smoke instantly when you walk into the office. A little room, no ventilation, and they stand there chain smoking while "helping" you.

Next time, I am listening to our friends that told us to stay at a different place. Especially for the price we paid. After talking to another couple from the US we met in Santorini, the price they were paying was a lot less. They might have been one block away from the view, but we allegedly had a "view" and couldn't see it.

Santorini is beautiful, but this hotel is a rip-off.

Oh and almost forgot the internet that you can only connect to by sitting outside (or dying inside) the office. What an experience.

At least the restaurants and beaches in Santorini made the trip great.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artdezine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

2 friends and I stayed in Imerovigli at Sunny Villas for 8 days, longer than your average tourists. We decided on the hotel after months of investigating because it seemed like the best value - someplace peaceful, had comfortable rooms with spectacular views of the Caldera (the volcanic side of the island), 2 baths, a pool with a view & poolbar, not too much tourist traffic scrambling to buy souvenirs, etc.; other hotels cost 3 times as much and offered less. The hotel manager, Andreas, was terrific even before the trip - very helpful in getting our reservation set up through e-mails. We got to the beautiful island and Andreas got us checked in quickly, situated and ready to relax and take in the beauty of the view right outside our hotel room door - a spectacular view of the Caldera side of the island. Sadly, I left my camera in the taxi on the way from the port to the hotel. We mentioned it to Andreas. He assured me I'd get it back, called the cab company, drove down to the port halfway across the island to find the taxi driver and returned my camera to me...an example of the extra attention he and his staff give the hotel guests.

The 2 bedrooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable with the cave-style set up of the rooms typical on the island. You could even see some of the volcanic rock in one of the bathrooms - instead of shelves, it served as a cove to put your shower amenities. The hotel room had a charming mini-kitchenette area with a mini-fridge, plates and utensils so we could enjoy the snacks, beverages and wine we bought. The patio right outside our door was a perfect place to have our early morning continental breakfasts, bask in the hot sun, read a book or watch the outrageously beautiful sunsets. We did venture down to the pool and jacuzzi many times and enjoyed some fruity concoctions from the pool bar. The lounge music playing over the speakers there made it feel like we were chilling in a lounge in Ibiza.

Being the early riser in the group, every morning I watched the staff sweep, mop and maintain the entire hotel. It was so clean! The pool was cleaned everyday - better than many nice hotels in the U.S. that I've been to. The staff was so nice and friendly but Andreas really was the best - he really took care of us and made sure our stay was perfect. It truly was one of the most relaxing stays we have had in a very long time. All of us miss Andreas and Sunny Villas; we'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#23 of 51 in Imerovigli
445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 51 in Imerovigli
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.5 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#19 of 51 in Imerovigli
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunny Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny Villas

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#11 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#21 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: $146 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunny Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunny Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing