We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Stay at Sunny Villas”
Review of Hotel Sunny Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunny Villas
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical Stay at Sunny Villas”
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Sunny Villas in July of 2008 after making a last minute online booking through Venere.com.

Our arrival by taxi was met with a helpful staff member who promptly took our luggage off our hands, leaving us unencumbered to walk the numerous steps down to the hotel.

Our first impressions from the walk down to the hotel reception was that we'd chosen a most beautiful location. The views of the Caldera from the hotel surrounds were absolutely breathtaking.

Andreas, the hotel manager, greeted us with a welcoming smile and quickly took us through the registration process, taking the time to provide us with all the information we could possibly need during our stay. We generally research our activities well beforehand to ensure we're getting the best possible experience and his advice (from suggested restaurants to car and moped hire) proved to be right on the mark.

We had booked a Suite and the rooms were quaint, clean and cool. Ours had two double beds and two bathrooms with a private terrace overlooking the pool and bar.

While taking dips in the pool, Timmy the bartender played perfect chillout music for us and was willing to deliver anything we needed direct to our room. He even lent me his laptop to transfer data off my bergeoning memory cards to flash media. Excellent!!

Michael popped in occassionally (in between general maintenance jobs) to see if we needed anything.

Overall, I would definately recommend this hotel based on location, friendly staff, cleanliness and service.

A+++

  • Liked — Cool and clean
  • Disliked — The showers
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    87
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
63
289
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Having read some truly glowing reviews on the 'Hotel Sunny Villas', my boyfriend and I decided that it sounded like the ideal setting for a romantic summer break.... We were not wrong!

'Sunny Villas' has plenty to offer: Danny and I stayed in one of the cave rooms: we were actually rather impressed by its size, despite what previous reviewers say! The rooms are large and spacious with a bed area, kitchenette, bathroom and terrace. We were very fortunate that our terrace was particularly large. In my opinion, the bedrooms are far more appealing in person than on the photographs. Every morning a delicious array of food was delivered to our balcony for breakfast - including cake, Greek coffee (wonderful stuff!), bread and condiments and a variety of meats and veg. Very continental! The pool was a little walk away, but well worth it! Even though 'Sunny Villas' is always busy, the pool was quite quiet most of the time. A great atmosphere is created by Timmy, though - he brings the tunes to the poolside and makes divine cocktails! He became a good friend of ours. He has a lovely amiable nature and can never do too much to help. We miss you, Timmy!

Imerovigli was an ideal location. Set back from the bustling Fira and separated from the night time hot spot Oia, it emanates tranquillity and calm. Up a flight of stairs from our apartment was a mini market, bakery and tavernas facing away from the Caldera - meaning they were somewhat less expensive. One of the downsides to Santorini is that its cosmopolitan reputation has led to prices as steep as the surrounding cliffs! Imerovigli is a great base and has some good surrounding tavernas with amazing views of the sunset; you really do not have to travel to Oia for this, but it is a great experience, because the sheer quantity of excited people is really something to behold! One of our favourite places to visit was Firostefani, which is on the way to Fira. We became fans of 'Il Cantuccio', a local Italian restaurant. You can order a bottle of wine for about 5 Euros - a snip of a price in comparison to most other restaurants. It has a lively, homely atmosphere, integrating local and tourists alike.

For those who desire activity, visit the Volcano and the Hot Springs. In the heat, it is exhausting work, but it is of interest, although the 'Hot Springs' are changeable in temperature - not quite as 'hot' as they claim to be. There are plenty of museums to see, some of the black beaches are fascinating and bars and nightclubs are there for the taking. There really is something for everyone!

I would like to take this opportunity again to thank Andreas, Michealis, Timmy and all the staff of the 'Sunny Villas' for their outstanding hospitality. Santorini is a breath-taking island and the care of such warm-hearted people only made the holiday better. I hope to return again soon.

Grace Bird and Danny Robinson

  • Liked — View, room, staff. SUNSETS!
  • Disliked — Steep stairs!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank graceofthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We stayed at this hotel 4 nights and the experience was great. The rooms were spacious with large balconies over looking the Caldera. The swimming pool at the edge of the cliff was big (most on Santorini are very small) and clean. The owners are very helpful. Just a word of caution ask not to be given the room directly underneath the stair well that connects the hotel to the main foot path.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shared Balconies
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningtraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

The best thing about this hotel is the view! You do not have to go to Oia for sunset if you stay here. And there is a small hill on the opposite of the hotel that you must climb over--there is a small church on the other side of the hill!
Some of the previous reviewer said there is no restaurant around, actually there is a very good restaurant outside the hotel, only you have to climb up to the road side, it is just across the road, the food there is a lot better than the restuarant at Fira, and cheaper!
The down side of the hotel (I think it would be the same as all other cave room), is that the ventilation is not that good! Avoid cooking or smoking with the door shut!
We were out of electricity one night, around 2 am, and the owner (not Andrea, his father, a Greek captain on vacation) attend to our problem immediately. Turn out to be a popular problem in Santorini, as we met the same problem at Kamari 2 nights later.
In conclusion, very good hotel with excellent view~!

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — bathroom is small!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I stayed there June 27-July 3, 2008 and loved every minute of it. Andreas, Michael and staff were awesome and accomodating. The rooms were very rustic greek..very comfortable and well maintained. The pool and bar area was awesome, you can have anytrhing you want all day long. Imerovigli is a perfect area to stay in if you want a little more peace and quite, with Fira to your left and Oia to your right....It costs us about $1500 euros for for 2 for 6 nights and it was well worth every penny. Thanks to everyone at Sunny Villas for a very memorable stay. Hope to see you again soon.

DANA-NY

  • Liked — The location and The staff!
  • Disliked — The stairs after a couple of bottles of Vino!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ForzaItalia1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2008

This hotel is in the most perfect location for a quiet and relaxing vacation. We were on our honeymoon, and could not have been happier. Andreas was eager to help and was always around when you needed him. The man is a machine climbing the stairs as many times and as fast as he did!

We stayed in the 2 person cave room (the second-cheapest room that there was) since we figured we would rarely be there. We ended up spending a lot of time there because it was so nice. The room was bright, clean, and spacious. We had a wonderful private patio where we were served breakfast every morning. After a long day of taking in the sights or hanging around the pool, we would watch the sunset on our private patio and then retire to our room and watch the Euro Cup. The pool area has a bar and maybe 8 lounge chairs, but it was never busy. Our room had a kitchenette with table settings and a bar-fridge, which we used on the evenings that we decided not to go for dinner. There were mini-supermarkets and bakeries a little ways (10 minute walk) from the hotel, which were very reasonably priced.

The location is ideal and the view of the sunsets was unobstructed and breathtaking. To get to Fira, it was a very scenic 20-25 minute walk along the side of the cauldera through the other villa clusters and small towns. With 4-7 cruise ships docking daily, Fira is very, very busy and loud. When booking our trip, we had been cautioned about staying there.

All-in-all, we highly recommend this hotel and have vowed to return for our 10-year wedding anniversary (if we can wait that long)!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank kl_vanderwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We stayed at Sunny Villas in the middle of June 2008. There were 6 of us (my mother, father, my younger sister (19 years old), my husband, me and our daughter (8 years old), and we had a super suite with outdoor jaccuzi. Patio with outdoor jaccuzi, large terrace with 3 chaise longues, a sofa, a table and 4 chairs, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, two living-rooms and a kitchenette - there was plenty of space for all of us. Although jaccuzi was not heated, the water in it was warm enough, I think about +23 C, and it was a real pleasure to use it. When we returned late in the evening after having dinner, there were lighted candles near our jaccuzi, that was beautiful and very pleasant.
The view of the famous sunset from the territory of the hotel is excellent. The view from our personal terrace is a bit "spoiled" by the electric cable, but it didn't matter to us.
Famous Andreas is really a super guy! He is very hospitable, takes care of everything, always ready to help and to answer the questions.
Two girls cleaning the rooms and two guys doing all the rest are helpful, laborious and friendly. Breakfast brought to our terrace was tasty and well served.
Transfer ordered with the help of Andreas arrived in time.
It was really pity to leave Santorini and Sunny Villas. Many thanks to Andreas for our wonderful stay there! Can recommend this hotel! Come and have a nice time!!!
Thanks and many greetings from Estonia!

  • Liked — View, comfort, jaccuzi, - everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anmadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#22 of 50 in Imerovigli
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#18 of 50 in Imerovigli
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 50 in Imerovigli
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunny Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny Villas

Property: Hotel Sunny Villas
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#21 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunny Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunny Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing