We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view - price ok”
Review of Hotel Sunny Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunny Villas
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2011

If you like to see the Caldera from your hotel room, it gets expensive. We stayed for a week and Sunny Villas was one of the affordable. The room is tiny, but got everything you need. The same goes for the bathroom. Breakfast changed every second day and was ok, but not great.
To tell the truth, we knew if we like to see sunset from our room it will get expensive and for that it was ok. Staff was nice and helpful.
The hotel is right at the Caldera walk - people are walking trough the hotel, but in September it was ok.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank datsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sunny Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 477 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

I am amazed with this hotel in Imerovigli, in Santorini. You can see the wonderful sunset from the swimming pool and the terrace. You can drink a fantastic margarita from the pool and have breakfast every morning in your private terrace.
Less crowded than Oia. We loved that.
We stayed at the double suite: it was perfecte as we were 2 couples.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgumbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

It’s quite a distance from the Town centre (Fira). We mostly travelled by foot and sunny villa is about 20-30 minutes walk to the Fira. Buses don’t come very often so it’s probably best to hire a car.

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon, we went in October which is an off peak season. It was too quiet and it gets very dark so having a night out in Fira and walking back to Imergovili was not an option for us.

Sunny villa has a cave like feeling to it in the room, but we would mostly hang out in the balcony and I will never get tired of that view.

It’s quite close to Skaros as well, and quite a few tourists would hike to the top of skaros.

We were the only guests in the villa (as it’s off peak) and that was very fortunate because 2 rooms share a balcony and I don’t really want to share a balcony with strangers.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grets20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Being somewhat reluctant to reserve more than one night as you never realy know until you get there, we were very pleased with the accomodations Andreas provided. Their location is gorgeous and they go out their way to make sure your stay is plesant. Highly recommend by me and my wife. Only wish is that we could have stayed longer...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me1wojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Ok, this was my 3rd visit over 7 years but honestly I cannot I cannot begin to tell you how beautiful those views and sunsets are. The location is a peaceful tranquil atmosphere and definetley a better location than Oia which I find far too touristy and commercial. You can just chill out with a good book on your terrace or visit the pool and bar. Our room was 2 bedroom 2 baths, a traditonal cave room furnished with traditional old style furniture. The ladies come in every day to clean and make the beds and the whole hotel areas are spotless. There is a small reception which is manned by Andreas most of the time and he will help you with anything if he can, he is always friendly and chatty and makes you feel very welcome. The best thing I like about the hotel is that you dont have anyone bothering or fussing over you (to the point of bieng uncomfortable) but you know they are there if you need them. We had breakfast everyday on our terrace and you could order drinks from Timmy at the pool bar to your room or small snacks.There are plenty of good places to eat in Imerovigli village and some also along the cliff walk towards Firofestini and Fira. I would be happy to reccommend this place to people and if anyone wants any further details just send me an email hope you enjoy the pics

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukjillie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We booked Sunny Villas but were actually put up around the corner in the Phenix. It was still nice - but it was not what we thought we were getting. Apprently it's owned by the same company.

Since we had stayed in Fira for five days and were only in Imerovigli for 2 nights, we didn't bother pushing the issue...but be aware they may try and put you at Phenix, where the view is not as good as Sunny Villas. It all felt a bit dodgy...which was disappointing.

I probably wouldnt stay in Imerovigli again. We preferred Fira - more action and buzz.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
2  Thank PressSecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The van provided by the travel agent dropped us off on a cobblestone driveway with a 45 degree angle about 30 yards to the top of the volcano rim. We managed to drag our wheeled suit cases up the grade and down a multitude of steps to get to our hotel.

The hotel manager said were supposed to be met at the top and assisted with our luggage. We thought our flawless Greece travel plan by Fantasy Travel had just expired on the third leg. Not heavy on apologies, but we were upgraded from a studio to a better room and it was all great from then on.

The cave style standard room had a breathtaking view of the caldera, whitewashed buildings stacked on the rim of the crater and the volcano. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was small as usual in Europe, but functional. We got a bottle of water on check-in and told not to drink the water from the pipes. I don't think it was a health issue, but a taste issue.

Once you scaled down a couple flights of steps you could walk along a relatively flat scenic walkway with caldera view from the Sunny Villas to several very nice restaurants in about 15 minutes. Gorgeous sunsets came with dinner at most restaurants.

It is a trip back up the steps and down the cobblestone drive to the main road to catch a bus or taxi. We took a bus into Thira after an extended wait and a taxi to Oia. Sightseeing and people watching were excellent. Photo opportunities were unmatched by any place we had ever visited before. Simply the most romantic scene ever, including our previous favorite Venice.

We ended up hauling our bags up the steps to catch the shuttle upon leaving at 5:00am because the hotel was not staffed that early. The shuttle, arranged by the travel agency, was uncharacteristically late. We had a plane to catch and after waiting 30 minutes we managed to flag a taxi as we stood in the dark at the beginning of the same cobblestone drive we walked up on arrival.

By the time these unfortunate events occurred, our legs were highly developed and we were so enchanted with Santorini and our experience at Sunny Villas, that we took it all in stride. It was a wonderful experience and everything we had hoped for in a Silver Anniversary trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel34728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 51 in Imerovigli
443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#18 of 51 in Imerovigli
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.5 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunny Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny Villas

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#11 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#21 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: $148 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunny Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunny Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing