We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, this hotel was never experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iliovasilema Suites
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sadly, this hotel was never experienced”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I booked to stay here as a surprise for my boyfriend's 30th birthday, but sadly never made it. Two days before our stay (when we were already in Greece island hopping our way to Santorini), we received an email to say they had double booked and we were to stay in the nearby Andromeda instead.

The Andromeda was acceptable, but when you plan a special birthday trip you don't expect to be the ones that get 'bumped'. (The rest of our trip was based round the availability of this hotel, so to not stay there left a bitter taste).

In their defence, Iliovasillema did book us in somewhere else, but it felt a bit like booking and getting excited about going to Washington DC, and ending up in a Washington somewhere in middle America.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank TravellingQuallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    71
    20
    11
    12
See reviews for
34
293
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent about a week at Iliovasilema Suites and loved every second of it. Our room was excellent with private outdoor spa) with an excellent view of the sunset. It was clean, had cable TV, air-conditioning, cd, and all-in-all was a great place to head at the end of the day to rest our feet and escape the crowds and get out of the heat to relax. From the moment we were greeted at the airport we were well looked after by the wonderful people . Everyone there was lovely, and I really looked forward to the wonderful home-cooked breakfast every morning. It was a real treat.
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katerina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louk7, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear reviewer

With this message we would like to thank you for visiting Iliovasilema Suites and for the time you spent on your review.
On behalf of our team and the new management I would like to express our sincere appreciation for your kind words and we all hope to see you again in one of your future trips in Santorini.

Kind Regards

Elina Drosaki
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have stayed in Junior suite with Jacuzzi for 5 nights in this hotel and I have to say it is one of the best. First of all the hotel is located on the cliff in Imerovigli on top of caldera facing the volcano. The view is fantastic and you will never get bored of day and night. Also from there you can have easy access to Fira the living heart of Santorini.

The room is well maintained, clean and very comfortable. Housekeeping and room service were excellent. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is served to your private balcony every morning. So you can have your private breakfast while looking at the caldera.

The only downside was the WIFI connectivity. The hotel has WIFI connection but apparently due to its architecture the coverage is very bad inside the rooms. You will have to go to the balcony to use the internet and if you heavily rely on internet to organize your vacation like us, this could be some kind of inconvenience to you.

I would definitely stay again here and I recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louk7, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear reviewer

With this message we would like to thank you for visiting Iliovasilema Suites and for the time you spent on your review.
On behalf of our team and the new management I would like to express our sincere appreciation for your kind words and we all hope to see you again in one of your future trips in Santorini.

Kind Regards

Elina Drosaki
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury,England
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Santorini, but our first time at this hotel, we really enjoyed everything about it, the staff including reception, porter and cleaning staff were very nice and friendly. We had a junior suite which was a good size with two flat screen tvs. Separate bathroom, with shower which was a little small but in the overall picture was not a problem.
Breakfast was included and is served in your room, we found there was plenty and of good quality especially the local yogurt with honey.
The best thing about the Hotel was the location overlooking the Caldera with views across Skaros Rock and Thirasia,with wonderful sunsets.
Imerovigili is a great place to stay great eating places plenty of shops etc, will definitely return .
We stayed in suite 18.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lankyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louk7, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear reviewer

With this message we would like to thank you for visiting Iliovasilema Suites and for the time you spent on your review.
On behalf of our team and the new management I would like to express our sincere appreciation for your kind words and we all hope to see you again in one of your future trips in Santorini.

Kind Regards

Elina Drosaki
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely week here in early September,very relaxing ,staff very friendly,would recommend to couples who want peace and quiet.There were good restaurants with in walking distance,but you need to be quite mobile as there are lots of steps and uneven paths
Our room was ok not the best,we probably could have upgraded but didn't bother as we didn't want the hassle,we were just in love with the beautiful sunsets and fantastic views during the day time that made staying here worth every penny.

Room Tip: If privacy is really important to you,be careful which room you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louk7, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear reviewer

With this message we would like to thank you for visiting Iliovasilema Suites and for the time you spent on your review.
On behalf of our team and the new management I would like to express our sincere appreciation for your kind words and we all hope to see you again in one of your future trips in Santorini.

Kind Regards

Elina Drosaki
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We are just back from here , On arrival we were told not staying there that night ?
staff over booked ,even though we got email to confirm booking ?.
We went sent to another hotel up the road , room was not good at all .
Next day went to stay here told we had a lovely room a suite ? Not !
It was just a room with bed up against the wall ? and a shower room .
Small balcony which the people in next room had to walk thru to get to there room ?.
Staff were not very helpful , and as for breakfast you have to tell them what time you want it , and it was not on time , not great at all .
would not go back here there is better places in santorini .
the only good thing I can say about here is the views are great .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mollys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louk7, Διευθυντής at Iliovasilema Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mollys123,

We are really sorry that you were disappointed by your room and that we were not able to accommodate you the first night. Unfortunately sometimes we do make mistakes that we are trying hard to fix afterwards when is possible.

What is more dissapointing & insulting though is the way you treated to our staff and the attitude you had during your short stay with us. As far as we can recall you stayed just for 2 nights your first & your last, due to the fact that you went to Mykonos for 4 nights. In a manner of speaking we believe is not so polite to turn your face to the opossite direction when someone from our staff greeted you with a smile or with a simple good morning.

However on behalf of the Iliovasilema Team we would really like to apology for not meeting your expectations and we will certainly be taking your experience into account as we enhance our services.

Kind Regards,
Yiouli Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our week at Iliovasillema Suites did not happen. It was booked in June, confirmed with the hotel in early September, and we were then notified a day prior to travelling that there was over booking and we were offered an 'upgrade' to a five star hotel in Fira which we didn't accept, and ended up at another hotel in Imerovigli with the help of the third party through whom we had made the original booking. The replacement accommodation being listed in Tripadvisor under B&B. I honestly believe we were dumped for a better price especially as rooms were still being advertised after our September confirmation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredBEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#13 of 50 in Imerovigli
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#19 of 50 in Imerovigli
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 50 in Imerovigli
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iliovasilema Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliovasilema Suites

Property: Iliovasilema Suites
Address: Imerovigli 84 700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#23 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iliovasilema Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Imerovigli, one of the most beautiful villages of Santorini Island, you will find the ILIOVASILEMA HOTEL APARTMENTS ("Iliovasilema" is the Greek word for "sunset"). Iliovasilema is situated on the enchanting and world famous Caldera. Built 350m above sea level, offers to its guests the most fascinating view of the volcano and the little islands of the Aegean Sea, as well as of the dazzling sunset. Iliovasilema was initially built in year 1996, has been renovated and remodeled in year 2002 and still grows, following always the rules and the tradition of the Cycladic architecture! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iliovasilema Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iliovasillema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing