We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay on the island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iliovasilema Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iliovasilema Suites
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed 6 nights at Iliovasillema Suites between 17th – 23rd July 2013. We stayed in room 9 with an outdoor Jacuzzi. THE VIEW - The first thing to mention about the hotel is that the views are spectacular throughout the day. The sunsets definitely live up to the hype and completely transform the horizon. I think the view is unbeaten by all other spots we visited on the island, so to have it on your doorstep every morning was incredible. This is one of the main reasons people come to Santorini and I think Iliovasillema (which means sunset in Greek!) completely exceeded our expectations on this front. THE HOTEL & STAFF – This is a really warm, friendly, beautiful hotel. All of the staff were great. They were always smiling and came across as genuinely happy to be there helping to make our stay enjoyable. The wifi is better in some places than others (it didn’t really work in our room) but it’s enough for browsing the essentials like facebook and the news by the pool. Bear in mind that it can get pretty windy in Imerovigli (and the rest of the island) so bring a jumper for watching the sunsets and going out in the evenings. THE ROOM – Room 9 was right by the pool but the hotel is so quiet and peaceful that this didn’t affect our privacy at all. I imagine that the rooms lower down have a lot more privacy but as I said this wasn’t a problem for us. The unheated Jacuzzi was an amazing way to cool down in the heat and definitely recommended. You’ll also get a bit more balcony space if you have one too. However all rooms have the amazing view and that’s all that really counts! THE FOOD – The breakfast is served on your balcony each morning which we loved. It was so relaxed. It’s recommended that you let reception know what time you want it the night before and they serve this until 11am. The breakfast includes pastries (very tasty), ham and cheese toasties (which weren’t really my thing first thing in the morning), fruit, greek yoghurt and bread rolls with a selection of jams/honey. I bought some cereal from the local shop to add to the yoghurt with some honey for a bit of variation. The light meals they offer throughout the day are nice although don’t compare to any of the restaurants we ate at (though that’s a bit too much to expect!). The portions were really big so you won’t go hungry there. I particularly enjoyed the pesto spaghetti. THE LOCAL AREA – Imerovigli was definitely the best choice for us. Close enough to the busy hubs on the island but very chilled out and quiet when you wanted to escape them. There is a little ‘Mini Market’ two minutes’ walk from the hotel which has a good selection of food and drinks. There are some really good places to eat less than a 10 minute walkaway – Anogi, Kapari Wine Restaurant (right next door) and Imerovigli Taverna would be our top recommendations. The latter was recommended to us by the reception and had a very authentic feel. The food was incredible too. Also in Imerovigli is Skaros Rock (right in front of the hotel). If you have the stamina for the steps down and (more importantly) up again then it’s a great climb. Obviously wear sensible shoes and don’t take small children as it’s pretty dangerous in places. The view is well worth it though. THE REST OF THE ISLAND – Other places to eat; Metaxi Mas (family-run restaurant that is very popular despite it is small size and remote location. People keep coming because the food is very good and they are incredibly generous with what they give you. Get a taxi there!) and Blue Volcano in Fira. Try and book a boat trip to the caldera if you can. We spent an amazing half-day with Spiridakos who are a great option with plenty of opportunity to swim and snorkel. CONCLUSION – We had an amazing week. We can’t recommend this hotel enough and especially the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Holly_lw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    65
    19
    11
    12
See reviews for
27
258
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

When we left the hotel after 4 days, we felt that we were leaving our friends not the hotel staff. They were friendly, knowledgeable, and courteous. They provided phenomenal suggestions on places to eat, and areas to visit. We received complementary breakfast in our room every morning which was a great treat! Finally the view was amazing, simply breath taking..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Let me start by saying a big thank you to the amazing staff at this small gem - they truly made an effort to ensure we had a great stay!
There is something truly remarkable about waking up to the spectacular caldera view each morning, and then enjoy it while have a great breakfast on the terrasse. We had 6 great days at this wonderful little hotel in imerovigli. It goes without saying that it is a place you come for the view and the santorini sunset experience, but good rooms (we had a comfortable and charming junior suite) and great service makes all the difference. Can warmly recommend this as a getaway spot!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My reaction when seeing our room (16) and view for our 3 day 25th Anniversary celebration was WOW, WOW, WOW this view is ridiculous and WOW again. The staff was professional and super friendly. Having breakfast delivered to our terrace every morning overlooking the caldera was simply amazing. The icing on our cake for our stay was having the staff locate someone to renew our vows again on our terrace at sunset. Very Romantic! Would stay there again in a heartbeat also the best sunset on the whole island. 5 stars from us

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazurenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed only 4 nights, but it was enough to realize about what is one of the best Hotels I've ever been (and I can say that after travelling around the 5 continents during the last 15 years ...):
. Location: incredible views
. Description: perfectly quiet
. Service: excellent. The Manager called us before our departure to ask if we needed transport from the airport and waited awake until our arrival at 04.00 am

Then, the staff (coffe boy & cleaning girl) also very kind and always there in case we needed someting.

Would recommend it strongly to couples that are looking for tranquility and full relax.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 9 and it was very good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidBosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

If there are 25 better hotels (see Tripadvisor ranking) than this in Imerovigli I would be utterly astonished.

For the spectacular view of the Caldera and utterly gorgeous suite we had (room 11) this merits a five star review alone! The bathroom was cut into a cave and was enormous - my wife wanted to take it home with us!

As others have said the staff are excellent and there are few things I can find to fault. Perhaps only the swimming pool being very small and the addition of a kettle to the rooms ( we are after all tea-addicted Brits) are the only minor issues.

Ideal for couples or honeymooners who want to canoodle whilst watching the sun set.

Room Tip: All facing west and cool as they are set in the rock. We scarcely needed air conditioning even at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TC_Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We’ve been to Santorini three times since 2010, and stayed somewhere different each time. This year we’ve just spent a week at Iliovasilema Suites in Imerovigli and we probably won’t need to look for anywhere else to stay when we come back.

The view might be similar to where we’ve stayed before, but the accommodation was much, much better. A fantastic room with a hot tub on the spacious balcony meant lazy afternoons/early evenings with drinks and those breathtaking views .

Add to all this the fabulous service we had from Youli, Stavros, Roberto and everybody else there and we have found somewhere where we will return to again and, hopefully, again!

Highly recommended for a fabulously relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#6 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#12 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.0 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#37 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iliovasilema Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliovasilema Suites

Property: Iliovasilema Suites
Address: Imerovigli 84 700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#20 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#23 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iliovasilema Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Imerovigli, one of the most beautiful villages of Santorini Island, you will find the ILIOVASILEMA HOTEL APARTMENTS ("Iliovasilema" is the Greek word for "sunset"). Iliovasilema is situated on the enchanting and world famous Caldera. Built 350m above sea level, offers to its guests the most fascinating view of the volcano and the little islands of the Aegean Sea, as well as of the dazzling sunset. Iliovasilema was initially built in year 1996, has been renovated and remodeled in year 2002 and still grows, following always the rules and the tradition of the Cycladic architecture! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Iliovasilema Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iliovasillema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing