We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iliovasilema Suites
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We went to Iliovasillema suites Sept 17-20 for our honeymoon. We stayed in room 12 and all i have to say it was AMAZING and BREATHTAKING! We decided to stay a few nights on the cliff side, and then went 4 nights to Kamari beach. We thought everyday about this hotel.

The rooms were spacious, had everything we needed. The small jacuzzi outside the room was perfect. We were always around the terrace and never used the main pool only our small jacuzzi to cool off.

Another mention i have to make was about the staff. Everyone works so hard and they go out of their way to make the guests happy. From the front staff to the food runners, they were all perfect. We also enjoyed the breakfast we received on the terrace every day. Oh and they have the best cappuccinos.

We will definitely be back again!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to room 12 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daisy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    71
    20
    11
    12
See reviews for
34
293
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

... location isn't always everything! The hotel is located inside the crater of a (hopefully) extinct volcano whose last major eruption allowed the sea to create a lagoon in the caldera: the view is simply breathtaking (literally so for those of you with even the mildest touch of fear of heights)! Too bad it is almost always marred by unsightly mega cruise ships weighing anchor and belching smoke in the lagoon. Still, Iliovasilema stands just below the highest point of the rim (350 m; let those of you who stubbornly refuse to go metric figure out by themselves how high this is in their own weird units): this explains why it probably has one of the best views of all hotels in the Imerovigli area of Santorini.

Like most similar hotels in this area, Iliovasilema hugs the sheer cliff wall, which means that horizontal space is at a premium: small pool, small sunning area; our room (nr 12) and its bathroom (shower) were rather small too: space for a single bedside table only. There is a kitchen corner with hot plate and fridge, but no tableware... but we had our own personal jacuzzi on the (guess what) small terrace. Free password-protected WiFi is available, with the usual spotty coverage proper to the technology.

When we arrived, there was absolutely no wind, but the wind started blowing during the night, which rattled door and windows noisily. As in all Cyclades islands, when the wind blows, it BLOWS in strong gusts, which may drive some people crazy... and various flying debris through open windows.

The room and bathroom were clean, but not spic and span (hard to achieve in this kind of hot, humid, and windy climate). The staff were very friendly. A complimentary bottle of local white wine was offered on arrival (not pre-chilled, though).

Breakfast must be ordered the night before: no last-minute impulses allowed, nor any breakfast cereal. Additional items (e.g. fresh fruit) are billed. One also needs to specify a time for breakfast delivery (too bad for those of you accustomed to a lavish breakfast buffet between 7 and 11 a.m.!). Since there is neither restaurant nor breakfast room (horizontal space again), breakfast is eaten on the terrace (on the days when the wind allows it) or on the small table in the room.

Final note: due to the shoddy state of Santorini's sewer system (not really designed with all us tourists in mind), one is forbidden to dispose of used (i.e. soiled) toilet paper in the toilet: a waste bin is provided for that very purpose (...). Let's put it this way: if you look for the Des Moines Sheraton here, better try Iowa :-)

Conclusion: a very nice place to stay on a beautiful island, but not quite 5-star material.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile_Grom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is at a great location, with a fantastic view from all the rooms and a great public area with an adequate refreshing pool and very peaceful atmosphere. You'll be in awe of the view.

Get lots of music and headphones for your portable mp3 player or smartphone. You'll enjoy it.

Try and book a suite, not a studio, cause they have small balconies with no privacy. Although the area is very quite. Still, if you're after a honeymoon type of vacation, ask for a suite with a private balcony.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boldman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This hotel sells on its website services and facilites that it simply does not have. We got a much smaller room than sold to us; it is generally tacky and amateurishly decorated and run - nothing like the lovely pictures on the website. We could not stand in the bedroom due to the barrel-ceiling design; it stank of blocked drains which they did not bother to fix in the 4 days we were there. I was subsequently told that the stench was the sulfur from the volcano and not from the muck bubbling up from the open drain in our bathroom that flooded the floor. I asked where the sofa was (as advertised) and was told that we got a kitchen instead. The kitchen only took up valuable space in our tiny room as it did not even have as much as a teaspoon. There is no restaurant as advertised, I have pointed out to them that their website offers this - they said they would correct it, but have not. A very lame breakfast is brought to your room. They do not have gowns as advertised. The hotel is perched against the cliff, like most of the hotels in Santorini, the steps are tricky - in the 3 days we were there 4 people fell down the steps. Most of the rooms look right onto the path between rooms and offer little to no privacy. Our safety deposit box did not work and they are not attached to the wall so walking off with it under one's arm is not security. I sincerely regret booking into this awful hotel. Santorini is lovely, but 2 nights and one day would have been enough for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nicci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We've just returned from a weekend at Iliovasilema and had an amazing time enjoying the most awe inspiring view we could dream of.

The hotel management and personel are very kind. In fact they upgraded our studio booking to a suite and that made a big difference for us.

The view is amazing from all rooms. However you should try and get a suite since most of the balconies are very small. Of course you can always enjoy the view from the public terrace, but it's much more convenient to have immediate access from your room.

If you especially want privacy, you should try and get a suite with a private balcony, like room No 5, where we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had a terrific five night stay. We stayed in the superior suite (thanks to a free upgrade from the superior apartment we had booked). We were initially disappointed that this meant we no longer had a private balcony, but we were right next to the pool, which was nice. (And we had a massive interior - separate large living room with a double bed for our daughter, two bathrooms, a jacuzzi in our bedroom etc, which well compensated!).

The staff are incredibly good at this hotel, all of them - front desk, housekeeping etc - were all so friendly and helpful. They gave us a number of recommendations for restaurants which were all spectacular. The location is very good, amazing views from every part of the hotel, nicely decorated rooms. The walk along the path to Fira is a highlight, such a nice thing to do every evening, though definitely one to do downhill from Imirovigli to Fira, not back in the reverse direction, and not in the heat of the day!

A couple of points to note to moderate expectations for this hotel: the wifi didn't work inside the room (I gather due to the thick walls everywhere) but it was fine by the pool. The pool is small and very deep (you can't stand up at any point) but it is wonderfully refreshing! The continental breakfast can get monotonous after a few days, but you can order off a menu/pay extra for American, or some fruit and yoghurt etc. The rooms are all different, so you need to specify if a particular feature you've seen on the web page/information is important to you (eg. balcony, bath etc).

We had a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cannotpacklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I stayed there with my wife in Aug-11. This hotel fulfilled our expectations and we have left very happy.
- The rate (Eur180 per night) was reasonable for the excellent location.
- Excellent location with amazing views
- Very friendly staff that go out of their way to be helpful
- Rooms are a bit small but this is to be expected in caldera
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gonthenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#13 of 50 in Imerovigli
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#17 of 50 in Imerovigli
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 50 in Imerovigli
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iliovasilema Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliovasilema Suites

Property: Iliovasilema Suites
Address: Imerovigli 84 700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#23 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iliovasilema Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Imerovigli, one of the most beautiful villages of Santorini Island, you will find the ILIOVASILEMA HOTEL APARTMENTS ("Iliovasilema" is the Greek word for "sunset"). Iliovasilema is situated on the enchanting and world famous Caldera. Built 350m above sea level, offers to its guests the most fascinating view of the volcano and the little islands of the Aegean Sea, as well as of the dazzling sunset. Iliovasilema was initially built in year 1996, has been renovated and remodeled in year 2002 and still grows, following always the rules and the tradition of the Cycladic architecture! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iliovasilema Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iliovasillema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing