We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Fantastic views, wonderful experience!”
Review of Heliotopos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heliotopos Hotel
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“WOW! Fantastic views, wonderful experience!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Words are not enough to describe our experience in this lovely family run hotel! It was perfect. The views are worth a million words, the hospitality of all the staff members was incredible. From the moment I made the booking I felt I was going to stay at a close friends house. Nora and Eleni made sure we had to adjoining rooms and they were ready for our arrival and organised our transfer from the port. Our Luggage was taken to our rooms and we were provided with maps and directions for the walk to Fira. The breakfast was traditional homemade greek food and was delicious. We went to Oia for the sunset but there was no need as the sunset from our balcony was just as good if not better. The only minor comment would be that the bathroom was a little damp but that is only a small complaint compared to the beauty and hospitality of this wonderful boutique hotel! Thank you for making our stay in Santorini so memorable. I will be back!!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    56
    13
    6
    10
See reviews for
92
175
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I'd better start by saying we stayed here in the off season (Feb 2014). It was very quiet, yet the weather was gorgeous. About 18 - 20 degrees C every day.

We chose this hotel after the place we had initially booked and paid for in Fira advised us the day before we were scheduled to arrive that they were closed for renovations and had booked us into another place in the main town. This turned out to be a blessing in disguise as the stay at Hotel Heliotopos was just perfect. It is a short taxi ride from the airport (we paid 20 Euro for a cab fare). When we turned up, the congenial host was not expecting us at all (owing to the hastiness of the booking). Despite being caught "on the hop", they graciously checked us in and asked us our plans. We mainly planned to chill and walk. Kostas, the owner, then gave us a book on the history of Santorini, a beautiful walking map and advised us on the best places to walk. We spent the next few days walking along the rugged coastline, enjoying the views and the gorgeous food in the very few Taverns and Cafes that had remained open during the season.

Breakfasts at Heliotopos were a joy. The woman who served us gave us fresh orange juice every morning and when we had finished one, immediately offered another. Breakfasts always included beautiful Greek specialties like Spanakopita or tyropites as well as a beautiful selection of breads. The coffee wasn't great (instant?)...but that was a small quibble and we drank several cups without complaining at all.

The room was split over two levels, very spacious and clean. I have read the other reviews about the bathrooms, and whilst it was pokey and water was sprayed around liberally during showers, it was perfectly adequate for our needs.

WiFi reception was great too.

In the evening, the breakfast space was converted to an atmospheric cafe (as it really looks like a cave in the side of a hill). Unfortunately, we did not avail ourselves of that, and regret we didn't.

Santorini at that time of the year is very quiet, and most of the restaurants and taverns were closed. Without a car, it was quite difficult to find something close by to eat. We got around this by having a late lunch in Fira (a 20 minute very scenic walk away) and then wine and nibbles in our room overlooking the caldera whilst the sun went down. Perfect. However, if you are someone who wants a big meal at night time, perhaps the hotel would do this in the cafe? In Summer this would not be a problem as there were so many taverns nearby.

This is a great place to unwind and enjoy the fabulous views from your hotel room or the terraces outside your hotel room door.

On our last day, we hired a car, which the good staff at Heliotopos organised for us. The car was dropped off at our hotel, and then we spent the day exploring the rest of the island, before dropping it off at the airport, to make our way back to Athens.

We loved our stay in Santorini and in future, we will try and stay here before flying back to Australia following a European sojourn on account of the place, the people, the culture, the food and the feel (as well as knocking a few extra hours off the return flight).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarflungEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed five nights at the hotel and overall we're very pleased. While not a five star hotel, our accommodations were very good. We stayed in a two story room that was very clean, spacious and well appointed with a lovely balcony view of the caldera and sunset. The staff is super - very considerate and welcoming and extremely helpful - really nice people. The only area where a bit of improvement is due would be the breakfast. We found it a bit sparse. Of course,our room had a stove and refrigerator and we could have made our own. However, all things considered, this hotel is a very good value and we had a lovely stay. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_Gottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We immediately felt immersed in the Greek Isle life. The architecture of the hotel is very interesting, with fantastic views. We loved everything about the setting, especially the locals travelling the paths by donkey.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharc9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better stay! This family owned and run hotel was lovely! Always helpful and a beautiful view! It was like heaven! The staff was so helpful in every way possible! I would stay at Heliotopos again if I ever go back to Santorini.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms in this hotel. All of them have wonderful views of the Caldera and the suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 367debrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had an absolutely amazing time in Santorini. The staff at this traditional Greek hotel were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our room (28) had amazing views of the Caldera and what felt like a private view of the sunset.

The team at the hotel gave us lots of great hints and tips for sightseeing and eating out. Freddie and Anna provided a lovely breakfast each day - with your personal preference of eggs and freshly squeezed orange juice (we liked this so much we cam home and bought a juicer!).

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone looking for a special break in a traditional Greek hotel.

Room Tip: Room 28 had marvellous views go the Caldera and the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I am currently sat in this amazing hotel admiring the stupendous view from the balcony of our studio. I have travelled extensively over the years and I can honestly say I have never met such courteous, friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble, they even ordered in my wife's favourite tipple because they didn't stock it. The hotel itself is extremely well maintained and immaculate, our room is restored to perfection on a daily basis. I will be recommending the heliotropos to everyone it know and I guarantee we will be returning very soon. A huge thank you to all who work here..... You are fantastic people

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#20 of 50 in Imerovigli
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 50 in Imerovigli
419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#27 of 50 in Imerovigli
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Imerovigli
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliotopos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliotopos Hotel

Property: Heliotopos Hotel
Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#22 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#25 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heliotopos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heliotopos is a unique boutique hotel complex in the traditional dome style, with one or two storey suites and studio apartments. Built on the foundations of old island structures it has been constructed to reflect the beauty of Santorini's architecture. Located at the highest point of the crater-top (the rim of the Caldera) it offers an extraordinary, breathtaking view of the volcano, the sea and the surrounding islets from every point of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heliotopos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliotopos Hotel Imerovigli
Heliotopos Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing