We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveler rating
398
68
14
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
68
14
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar natural cave cave restaurant highest point of the caldera sunset view greek coffee look no further santorini experience spent a week amazing views breakfast was delicious amazing hotel cave room every morning would highly recommend this hotel aegean sea we loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 494 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Love this hotel! It takes your breath away! The staff is the best :) Our room was perfect. It is very romantic and has amazing sunset views. The breakfast is very good and the staff is always there to help! We stayed here for our honeymoon and I hope to return every anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We travelled to Santorini to check it out as a place to have our wedding!
The transfer arranged for us by the hotel delivered us right to the door where my breath was taken away with the view as we stopped! The excitement and happiness ran through me further enhanced as we were offered a welcome drink at the reception . The view from the hotel is astounding and with the beautiful sunsets Santorini rapidly became prime location for us to celebrate our love.
Our room was so cosy/ homely with a boutiquey greek type feel/ decor and everything we needed. We particularly loved the window at the bottom of our bed which was cutely situated in its own alcove with a step leading up to it!
The staff at the hotel were so friendly, welcoming and helpful.
After a lovely breakfast ( which we enjoyed every day of our stay) We met with Yiota and Mrs. Vanda the wedding planner who kindly showed us a couple of venues that could accommodate our approximate numbers...... The wedding started to become a dream turning into a beautiful reality.
We continue to plan our Santorini wedding and feel sure that with the help of everyone at the hotel heliotopos it will be everything we could've wished for and more.
Thank you everyone at The Hotel Heliotopos for making our stay so enjoyable we look forward to seeing you again next year as we continue with our plans. X

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Firstly, I feel I should comment on the handful of bad reviews of this excellent hotel. Looking at the dates of most of the reviews I have to assume that any of the issues regarding the staff, service, location, odours, etc are no longer relevant or the problems that have been addressed, because I can not think of a single thing to complain about; hence the 5 stars which I do not give lightly.

We arrived at the hotel via a transfer from the airport that they arranged for us. It cost us 24 euros each way which may seem a lot but when you consider the hotel is 20km from the airport, maybe not! Immediately our bags were taken and we were warmly welcomed by Yiota, the joint owner. We were offered a free 'welcome drink' and advised to sit out on the terrace. We sat down, beer in hand, sun beaming down, 180 degree panoramic views of the beautiful sea and stunning rock faces. We were quite speechless.

We were shown to our room and were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the decor may not be the standard of The Savoy but we found it endearing and it reminded us that we were on a tiny Greek island, with its white painted bare brick walls and blue painted window frames and wooden shutters. Also, it was impeccably clean. We had a decently sized living room with good seating and table space, a desk, a kitchenette, a safe, a comfortable bed and a bathroom that was fairly small but had everything you would need - including a very nice shower. Let's not forget our beautiful balcony with those amazing views again; an absolute delight. It also had a room with bunk beds which we had forgotten about and would be great if you were a couple with 1 or 2 kids.

Regarding the location, I can genuinely understand why there may be a division of opinion here. If you are a person that needs bars, restaurants, shops and a beach on your doorstep then this is possibly not the hotel for you. Equally if you have mobility problems, this is not for you due to the cobbled mountain paths (although Santorini as an island may not be the right place at all in this case). However, I must stress that you do not need a car. We were a 25 minute walk from the capital Fira and the walk down was one drenched in stunning views of the Caldera - absolutely fine for us! Once in Fira you have a bus station where you can go to any part of the island: beautiful beaches in Perissa and Kamari, ancient Akrotiri, stunning Oia etc. A car may be handy but we were fine with just taking our time and soaking in the scenery. Plus I think it's a bit nicer and more interesting when you have to 'find' places rather them just be shoved in your face. It also meant that at any time of day in the hotel it was unbelievably peaceful which is lovely if you need to escape for a bit as we did.

All in all, a holiday we will never forget and one that was made that much more enjoyable by Hotel Heliotopos and its staff. Breakfast was GREAT and a lovely way to start the day. It included freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade pastries, fresh bread, cereals and most importantly English tea! The service was remarkable and we just felt completely welcome and at home there.

We were already thinking about a return visit before we had even left - Highly recommended!!!! I have added a photo of the sunset from our balcony as we were getting ready to go out, to at least try and convey how stunning the views were.

One last thing is that we travelled during October half term and the weather was still glorious and everything was still open for business.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finn_K85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My third day here at Heliotopos santorini and having a gr8 time with family . Stratigically located with stunning views of the caldera this hotel gives value for money . Extremely helpful and friendly staff, neat little rooms couldn't have asked for more ,will definitely recommend this

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Cannot find a single negative thing about this place!

Service was Great and staff very helpful and Friendly.
Breakfast was FANTASTIC.
Sunset View was UNFORGETTABLE.
Our room was so spacious and clean!

Location was perfect! with lots of restaurant , cafes and local supermarkets around the hotel. We walked to Fira (20mins) and we walked to Oia (2.5hrs).
Watching the sunset here was so peaceful!

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustAim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews