We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING!!!”
Review of Astra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astra Suites
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Astra Suites in April 2014 for 4 days/3 nights. We had chosen this hotel after reading all the outstanding reviews. Astra Suites exceeded our expectations! Their customer service and attention to detail was impeccable. From the moment we arrived until our departure, we were treated like royalty. The suites were outstanding with breathtaking views of the caldera. We cannot say enough about this hotel. Special thanks go out to Marie and George for making our stay a truly memorable experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RayandElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

There is a reason Astra receives so many 5 star reviews - it truly exceeds all description in terms of beauty, quality, and service. I'm sure what I say has been echoed in other reviews, but I must tell you a few details of our experience if you have any doubt about staying here.

Imerovigli - if you have done your research, you will know that this is a small, quiet village at one of the highest points on the island. The views from Astra are spectacular. The sunsets fantastic. You must be in decent shape for stairs, but it is all worth it. You hear nothing except the wind and the birds. The staff goes about their daily business in efficient silence.

Room - We booked the pool suite for 6 nights...I could have stayed 6 more! The colors and artwork reflect the island spirit. Beautiful, peaceful, relaxing. Spotless. Modern fixtures and plumbing with fantastic hot water and our own heated pool. Gorgeous balcony for breakfast and sunsets.

I am running out of adjectives!!!

Wonderful daily breakfast delivered at our requested time and with our requested items every day. White linen tablecloth and napkins. We had the same waiter everyday who made us laugh and ensured we had everything we needed. He spoke 5 languages and Lord only knows how many steps he does up and down everyday and joked that while others paid for gym memberships, he instead was getting paid to get his exercise.

The Staff- You hear people talk about "George".... He is a real person!!! He is so genuine and wants to make sure you enjoy your stay. The entire staff is this way. They go out of their way to make you feel special.

Just a few words to address some concerns other people have talked about - remember that you are staying in a hotel carved into the side of a volcano in the middle of the sea. You are a guest in a native land. Some things will be a bit different. Siga, siga. Yes, this is an expensive property. If you want the best room, book the best room. It is difficult to get everything you may desire and expect a bargain price. In some parts of the world, it may be possible. In Santorini, people want caldera views, sunset views and maximum privacy. There are only so many of these special places that exist. Astra Suites is one of them!

Room Tip: If you budget allows, book a pool suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatMan1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at Astra suites for 4 nights. 2 adults & 2 teens. We absolutely loved the cave like accommodation & our private balcony looking over the sea. The infinity pool was very quiet & relaxing & we enjoyed the cocktails by the pool. The service was exceptional, breakfast options were very big and choices extensive.
I would go back there in a heart beat. It was our second visit to santorini but Astra is truly amazing

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vangela1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Santorini is beautiful - as is the Astra Suites Hotel - but there was something I can't put my finger on, it just lacked the 'x-factor'.
We arrived late on the first night so I booked the cheapest room - which was nice - but had arranged to be moved to a private pool suite the next 3 nights. The difference between the rooms
- more comfy bed, much nicer bathroom products (bulgari) and more plentiful. But having said that I think the view may have been nicer from the first room?
Staff were competent but not overly friendly - they got friendlier when we moved to the more expensive room - but then less friendly when you were making a request of them - could just have been a language gap...
Having the private pool was lovely and the guys who carried your breakfast and luggage up and down those stairs, amazing!
All in all it was nice but many not for the $$$

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jocelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraSuites, Διευθυντής at Astra Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and allowing us to address your concerns. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, however with a few bumps. Yes, because of the many different categories of accommodation we offer, there will be some differences in amenities, and a range of different rates as well. The views yes, will also vary, but this is more of a personal opinion, as every guest has their own idea of the perfect suite and view. However we honestly do treat our guests equally, despite their room category, in fact often when you visit the reception we may be unaware which category you are in, thus you receive equal service. So perhaps it was just a different approach from the various staff members you came in contact with, and we apologize if you found someone to be less friendly than another, or at a different time. All of our guests are very valuable to us, and this is the reason we have so many repeat guests and referrals, we do our best hoping you will return! Again we thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the issues you experienced, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We spent a considerable amount to reserve a honeymoon jacuzzi suite for our anniversary. Even though it meant walking down 100 steps we felt it was worth it to get, as is advertised, "maximum luxury and privacy". The suite was exceptional ( although the bathroom colors didn't appeal to us but we realize you can't please everyone all the time). The deck was spacious and the view jaw dropping. The employees were friendly and helpful. There was a nice bottle of wine and bowl of fruit waiting for us. The night before we left a bottle of champagne with chocolate covered strawberries were brought down as a complimentary gift from management. Nice touch, especially since we were only there for a couple of days. Breakfasts were included and brought down to our room. Someone called before bringing food or coming back to get the dishes. We appreciated the gesture as it helped to assure the privacy we had sought.

Unfortunately the privacy advertised was not what we experienced. The morning after we arrived, we finished breakfast and were going to shower and get dressed. I was in the living room about to disrobe when I looked out and saw two female employees cleaning our deck. I found that quite startling and upsetting. There was no phone call to check with us first. I was surprised that Astra would advertise "maximum privacy" and then send employees down to a "private" deck to clean without being asked. That destroyed our illusion of privacy even within our suite. We both felt that we may as well have spent much less on one of the less private rooms.

I almost marked this rating down even lower but I couldn't honestly describe Astra as average. I do hope they read this review and change the way they arrange for the cleaning of private decks while the suites are inhabited.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morejourneystocome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraSuites, Διευθυντής at Astra Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and giving us the opportunity to learn from your particular experience. Yes, as you experienced during the breakfast service, we do have a policy of always calling your suite before entering, whether it be for room service or housekeeping. After consulting the housekeeping staff, from their memory they do recall phoning your suite and receiving no answer, thus assuming you had departed for the day. However perhaps they called a different room in error, or perhaps you were away from the phone just momentarily, either way we sincerely apologize for the miscommunication that day. We do hope other than this lapse in privacy, you ultimately enjoyed your stay with us, and to someday make it up to you upon your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hotel in May and loved every minute of it. As others say, the view is exceptional. Our room was very private and made our three day stay one of the most enjoyable experiences we've had while traveling. The Astra management (George) and staff (all of them, but Marie especially stands out) went out of their way to make everything right--and succeeded!

We did a lot of homework on TripAdvisor to make sure that we had the perfect place to stay in Santorini. Believe all of the effusive praise of Astra Suites!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prof046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our stay in the honeymoon suite was most enjoyable and memorable.
In summary, the staff are not there to just perform their work, they are there to satisfy the guest's desires and each of them are aware of this fine distinction. They are very self aware, knowing when and how to approach guests and how to be, when in the presence of a guest. They did everything they could to make us happy. The facility is magnificent in every way and superbly clean. Our room was massive as was the bathroom.The view from our room was breathtaking and unforgettable. George, Anne Marie, Helen, Vickie, Maria, Marinos, Yannis and the other staff members were very friendly, very caring and very professional. George helped make our special
occasion...very special. Staff recommendations were very helpful and reliable. They fully understand the term empathy. They put themselves in the shoes of the guest and behave
accordingly to guarantee guest satisfaction and joy. The breakfasts delivered to our beautiful sea
view terrace were an anticipated highlight first thing in the morning each day. The jacuzzi on our
terrace with those beautiful sea views was so relaxing, We wish we were there now. The location
is perfect. The village of Imerovigli was perfect for us with less tourists than in Fira and Oia.
The result for us, was a very relaxing and unforgettably enjoyable holiday. In our opinion, we
cannot find a fault. Just remember, you need to be ok with climbing and descending steps.
We highly recommend Astra Suites.

wonderful experience each day.

Room Tip: We had a higher level Honeymoon Suite and we would book the same again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 627Benjiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#2 of 50 in Imerovigli
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#18 of 50 in Imerovigli
350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 50 in Imerovigli
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Suites

Address: PO Box 45, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#4 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: $258 - $708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the highest point of Santorini’s steep cliffs at the legendary caldera, the Astra Suites complex enjoys the privilege of a magical panoramic view to the caldera and the immense Aegean Sea. It is the place where everything and everybody “conspire” to make you feel a VIP during your vacations. Twenty seven sumptuous Suites decorated in Cycladic style and 8 tempting suites with jacuzzi and private swimming pool welcome you to a hospitable environment where the discreet service of each individual guest is the complex’s basic instinct, and the protection of his private moments constitutes the staff’s basic priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Hotel
Astra Apartments Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Santorini
Astra Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing