We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astra Suites
Nearby Hotels
Santorini Princess(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Antonio Luxury Hotel(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$778
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iliovasilema Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$470
$436
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Remezzo Villas(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$555
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$825
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$441
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heliotopos Hotel(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chromata Hotel(Imerovigli)
$674
$634
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pegasus Suites & Spa(Imerovigli)
$1,125
$1,093
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,506)
Filter reviews
1,506 results
Traveler rating
1,408
71
15
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,408
71
15
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonevery morninggeorge karayiannispool bartenderpool suiteroom servicesenior suitefamily suiteprivate balconythe entire staffbottle of champagnesantorini winethe entire islandwine tourthe cliffservice was impeccabledaily breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
705 - 710 of 1,506 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Out stay was in October, 2013. In short, this is an outstanding hotel, with great perfect in an out-of-this-world location. The whole staff provided excellent service, attentive but not obtrusive. We believe you will get what you pay for. The suite/room provided a great combination of privacy, convenience, and outstanding views. Be aware that you’ll have to walk up and down many steps to get to and from your room. Perhaps that is part of the reason breakfast is served room-service style. But the quality of the food does not suffer and they make every effort to accommodate your tastes etc. -- if something is not on the list of breakfast-options they will go out of their way to get it for you. We also tried the room service for a light meal and were pleased with that experience as well. As a practical matter, you can easily reach other locations on Santorini via the public bus (its not very inconvenient) if you do not want to walk or try taking one of the limited number of Santorini cabs. The bottle of wine and liter of water provided upon arrival are nice touches.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 9pm with no luggage and during a power outage in August. George and staff were extremely helpful. They guided us to our room by candlelight and it was set up with candles when we got there. They took care of getting us our luggage and delivered it to our room by the next morning. The service and view was truly outstanding. They arranged a car for us to go sightseeing, helped set us up with a sunset cruise and were very helpful throughout. The breakfast on our balcony each morning was a true highlight, as well as hanging out by the pool and enjoying some great cocktails with an incredible view. Overall it was an absolutely wonderful stay, and we would recommend it to anyone. One note of caution: if you're disabled or have trouble climbing 3 to 5 flights of stairs, this hotel (and Santorini in general) probably aren't for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Honeymoon Jacuzzi Suite at the very bottom of the hotel, completely unobstructed views and probably the most private room at the hotel. Would highly recommend this room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Astra Suites in July, and had the most amazing time. The view from the hotel is breathtaking; I'd say we had a better view from our balcony sipping wine and eating cheese than anyone in Oia. The hotel staff was also very friendly and accommodating; the breakfast included served on your patio or in your room is a nice touch. George was great about making sure we had all the details of the island, providing us with a great map and dinner recommendations too. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

As always, we pored through many TripAdvisor reviews to find the best place to stay for our trip. This was a little more difficult for Santorini as there were so many different places you can stay (Thira, Imerovigli, Oia...) We settled on Imerovigli as it was in between Thira and Oia and Astra Suites looked amazing and had really good reviews.

Our journey to Astra Suites was so smooth. As soon as we got off the plane, there were two buses ready to take all the passengers to the terminal. Being a small airport, getting through passport control was very quick and it was only minutes before our luggage arrived. When we exited, the driver from Astra Suites, Yiannis, was there waiting for us. He was very friendly and took us in the Astra minibus. Although we had paid €20 for a shared-shuttle service, we effectively received a private transfer as there were no other passengers. Not too surprising as November is the end of the season.

The minibus takes you to a square, where you then have to walk down many steps to get to the hotel. Tip: there is a left turn and then a right -- memorise some land marks as we forgot the way back up and got a bit lost the first time we tried to get back to the square in the dark! A porter carried our luggage down for us.

On arrival, reception staff (on this occasion, Popi) gave us a welcome pack of maps and some suggested activities and other useful information. It's a lot to take in given you just got in, and perhaps it would've been better to have just given us the information pack, let us get into the room to freshen up and relax a bit, and let us ask for more information as and when it's required.

We had a complimentary bottle of local wine and a bowl of fruit waiting for us in the room, which was a lovely start.

The room was pretty basic and decorated in typical Santorini style -- arched rooms, windows with shutters, colourful tiled floors. There was a lounge with a kitchenette hidden behind wooden doors, a sofa, hifi, tv, dvd player. The bathroom had a huge shower (you could fit three people in there! Not that we tried!!), hair dryer, plenty of towels, nail file, cotton buds, sewing kit, dressing gowns, slippers, and a range of Bulgari toiletries.

The bedroom was simple, a king/queen sized bed, wardrobe containing a safe (the most complicated to set up I've ever seen) and a bed-side cabinet.

There were two private balconies, one accessible only from the bedroom, and the main one outside the front door. The main balcony overlooked the public pool and was not secluded but was private enough from the other guests. Only one other balcony overlooked ours. A small set of stairs went up to our front door / balcony, so we didn't have any other people walking past our room.

The complimentary wifi was strong and the internet connection was pretty fast. We took our complimentary spa session which involved private access to their jacuzzi and steam room, which was a great way to relax after a day of tourism. They provided music, juice, water and candles.

Every day we had to fill in a form to order what we wanted for breakfast the following morning and what time. Breakfast was served on our private balcony (or in your room if you wanted). It was of good quality and quantity. The bread was still warm, the orange juice freshly squeezed, the eggs nicely done (although sometimes a bit salty). Eating on the balcony with such an incredible view is just something that has to be done to be truly appreciated.

We had a brilliant time in Santorini. We started off by walking to Thira along the coast. It took about 20 minutes, and was brilliant. There were a few places to eat along the way, but most were closed as it was off season. Once were got into Thira, there were plenty of places to eat, most with incredible views. It was rather busy here, I'd hate to imagine what it is like in peak season. On the walk back to Imerovigli, we got caught in a thunderstorm. We sought shelter in somebody's porch to get out of the driving rain and crazy wind. After 10 minutes, a little old lady invited us in to get out of the cold and rain. How amazing and kind she was to invite two strangers into her home to shelter from the storm!

The next day, the weather was much better and we did a hike from Imerovigli to Oia, which took us 2.5 hours with stops for photos. You should be at least of average fitness to do this, and have sensible shoes on as it's quite rocky and steep in places, but if you can you have to do this as the views are incredible. We had lunch in Oia which was an absolutely stunning place, and returned by bus (€1.80 each, buses run every 30 mins).

On our last day, the sun was out and it was glorious! We hired a car (€35 for 24 hours in a manual-shift Nissan Micra) as suggested by hotel staff. The car hire guy said that €15 of petrol was enough to drive around the entire island. We only used half of that, so would say don't put any more than €10. Having the car was great at this time of year as the roads were really quiet and parking was easy. We zipped around to look at lots of different places like Akrotiri, the red beach, Perissa beach...

The downside of it being off season was that many places were closed throughout the whole island, especially in the evening so it was slightly annoying to eat out in the evening. The first night we took a taxi to Thira (€5) and ate there. The second night, we were tired from the hiking and we ended up ordering a take away (reception suggested this and arranged it!), and the last night we had a car so drove to Oia to see the sunset and have dinner there. The sunset was absolutely magical, and because it was off season, there were only a handful of people there. We were told that during peak season, it's not even worth trying to see the sunset at Oia because of the sheer number of people.

Oops, this review has become more about the island than the hotel, but it's so beautiful and lovely that it's hard not to rave about it. We definitely felt that we got more out of the island due to the helpful hotel staff at Astra. They made us feel at home and were so helpful every step of the way.

We like going to places off season because we dislike crowds, but on this occasion it probably would've been better to go a month earlier as too many restaurants were closed. However, there were more upsides than downsides and we had an amazing time helped by Astra Suites. We would happily book this hotel again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tung M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Astra was recommended to us for our honeymoon by our wedding planner who spent her own honeymoon there! So how could we go wrong, right? Of course we did some additional research of our own, but kept coming back to Astra Suites, mesmerized by the amazing photos on their website but still wary if it could truly be that beautiful! Well we are happy to report, it truly is that beautiful, and then some!
From the moment we were whisked away from the airport by Astra's friendly driver, and deposited into the caring, capable arms of the incredible Astra staff, we knew our wedding planner was right all along, there could be no better honeymoon spot in Santorini, or the world, for that matter!
The hotel manager, George Karayiannis, runs a tight ship, we never experienced anything less than stellar. From the superb breakfasts served on our balcony every morning, to the sunset cocktails pool side, and the starry alfresco dinners served late into the night, talk about romantic! George even sent us sunset champagne & chocolates to enjoy at our own private swimming pool, and other charming honeymoon surprises throughout the week, completely complimentary just for honeymooners! His staff suggested a rental car for at least a day or two to explore the island at our own pace, which we highly recommend, especially since they arrange the car to be delivered and picked up there, so no worries. We also enjoyed leisurely walks along the caldera cliffs near the hotel, so pretty! But in all our island exploration, nothing matched the stunning views from our very own balcony at Astra Suites. Hands down, the best honeymoon spot in Santorini!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank felix11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews