We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astra Suites
Nearby Hotels
Santorini Princess(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Remezzo Villas(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$553
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iliovasilema Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$468
$434
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heliotopos Hotel(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$821
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chromata Hotel(Imerovigli)
$798
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pegasus Suites & Spa(Imerovigli)
$1,121
$1,057
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$2,000
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveler rating
1,412
71
15
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,412
71
15
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonevery morninggeorge karayiannispool bartenderpool suiteroom servicesenior suitefamily suiteprivate balconythe entire staffbottle of champagnesantorini winethe entire islandwine tourthe cliffservice was impeccabledaily breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
781 - 786 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family of four visited Santorini for 3 nights in July. As other have attested to, the service is excellent and the hotel has one of the best views on all of the isalnd. IMHO, the view from Imervogli far surpasses the views from Oia.

When you visit Santorini, please block out the hour before and after sunset to enjoy on your personal balcony at Astra. We had originally planned to dine at 8pm, but decided instead to eat late lunches (at 4pm) and enjoy drinks and snacks on our balcony. Alternatively, you could enjoy your drinks, and after sunset, go to dinner.

I have not stayed at any other hotels on Santorini, so it is difficult to compare room sizes. I understand that there are challenges w/ space when perched on a volcanos edge. Our romm, a family suite, included 3 small rooms plus 2 bathrooms. My biggest beef w/ the rooms was the bed, listed as "matrimonial," which CANNOT sleep two comfortably. As I have told the hotel, I think queen beds, even if it means jumping over your spouse to get out of bed, would be preferable to a matrimonial bed. My 13 yrd old daughters complained about the small beds as well.

The breakfast delivered to the room is nice. However, rather than the tray being left outside (like a picnic basket), I think the delivery person should set up the breakfast on the balcony table (weather permitting). The omelets were good but not great. The best part of breakfast were the croissants- very flaky and not greasy. I also enjoyed the multigrain rolls.

The pool is very cold - too cold for my family. And the sun is very hot - making the pool area almost unusable unless shade is provided.

I have not seen mentionned anywhere in reviews of Santorini the stairs. Because the cities and hotels are perched on cliffs, there are stairs everywhere....many, many stairs. If you cannot climb stairs, stay away from this island. Astra is situated several flights of stairs below street level - so anticipate a quadriceps workout during the visit.

I consider my above criticisms petty compared to the overall beauty of the island and the exceptional location of the hotel. If the hotel had queen beds, I would gladly up the rating to a 5. The sunsets are unforgettable.

Room Tip: Be certain to discuss bed sizes and room sizes when booking, as apparently there are several sized rooms within each category.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GRtraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went there with my fiancée for our "engagementmoon", and ended up in the honeymoon suite due to late booking - bummer. :) It was amazing. Staff is also amazing - very friendly and eager to help with anything, from carrying your luggage down (or up) the stairs to getting a cab to bringing you items from their extensive room service menu. We had free breakfast every morning delivered to our room (not sure if that's standard or part of a deal they were running). We miss it, a lot: a selection of scrambled eggs, omelets, cereals, yogurt, juices, etc, all of which were really really good. We took pictures for friends (and you! - see pics). The views from the room are, of course incredible, because, well, you're on a cliff and it's difficult to get a bad view from anywhere.

There are a few things you should know going to Santorini:
- The hotel areas are built on a cliff face.
- If you can't walk on stairs, don't go. There are many many many stairs. We're in good shape (Yoga twice a week) and got tired on the stairs from our room to reception.
- The honeymoon suite is at the bottom of the stairs.
- *Privacy is difficult to find*. (More on that below).
- The island is small - takes about 30-45 minutes to get from one end to the other. Imerovigli is in the middle. It's pretty and quiet. Oia is on the north(?) end of the island. It's the main tourist area. Go visit it, but only stay there if you like loud touristy areas.

Privacy:
The biggest (only?) complaints we heard there were about privacy. Zoning on Santorini may not be what you're used to: everything is (literally) built on top of each other. Hotels aren't separated from each other. You walk through Astra Suites to get to a hotel that's built next to/below it, for example. The rooms by the pool open into the pool area - directly. That means people by the pool can easily see into your room (people kept the windows covered). One room actually opens directly into the pool area; it's "balcony" is the pool. The staircases usually go past rooms, so if you're on your balcony, people will be walking by. Now, there's not a ton of people walking by, but it's by no means private. This is true everywhere on Santorini, not just Astra (Astra's one of the better places in regards to this in fact). Wherever you stay (Astra or elsewhere), make sure you look carefully at the pictures and reviews to get a good idea of how things are laid out in your room. The honeymoon suite we were in was one of the rare cases where it was mostly private: bottom of the hill so nobody was walking by, angled (and built) such that the inside was completely private, and on the balcony you mostly had privacy. Our room also had a jacuzzi on the (big) balcony, which was cleverly tucked under the stairs for maximum privacy without feeling claustrophobic. That said, we did have a neighbor for a day that didn't quite get the hang of Santorini privacy and was sitting on the edge of their wall. They figured out relatively quickly that we could see them, and vice versa, if they did that.

Room Tip: Look at the hotel map on their web site and look *carefully* at the photos. Rooms at the bottom (honeymoon suites) have the most privacy, plus they're just amazing. Pool rooms have *some* privacy (but people on the stairs can see your pool/deck). Cheaper rooms may have people walking by. If you're going for a room by the pool, go for one of the upstairs ones - people can't see in.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Decided to go to Santorini as it was our 30th wedding anniversary and we had special memories of the island from a trip we had 27 years earlier. A spectacular island with fantastic views. Airport means getting there is easier than it was when we first went there. Now quite a busy cruise destination so get to the sites early to avoid the crowds. We picked Astra Suites after doing a search online, looking at Tripadvisor and their website www.astrasuites.com. Also downloaded their app. The place is as per the website and the comments from others about the quality of the accommodation, service and staff are spot on. Ended up with a meal on the balcony, chocolates, wine on the house on our anniversary, which was great. We went for a Pool Suite, the view from which was the best you could hope for. Had breakfast on the balcony and had room service to the room for a late lunch after we returned from our travels. Also went to the restaurant in the evening where the food and service was excellent. Could have gone elsewhere to eat but the food was so good and the sunsets unbelievable there was no reason to. The town is quite hilly as is Santorini generally so having the luggage taken from the VIP Transfer car to Astra Suites and back was excellent (if anyone is infirm then it would be very difficult for them to get around). Special mention of Costas and Christina in the restaurant who looked after us very well - but to be fair they all did.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Context - 29 yr old guy who just returned from his Honeymoon. We stayed in a Senior Suite.

Given the reviews already posted, this may sound redundant, but here's a top three list of reasons why you should stay at Astra:

1) The staff/service - Unbelievably friendly and always one step ahead of our needs (calling to remind us of our car reservation, pending activities etc). As this was our first of many hotels during our travels throughout Europe, Astra set very high expectations for service, and I can say, without a doubt, nobody quite met these expectations.

2) Breakfast (delivered right to your room)!

3) The view - No really. It was unbelievable. The whole island has remarkable views, but this spot in Imerovigli is hard to compete with and every room has killer views (or so it seemed)

4) Knowledge/Insight - This part complements the service aspect nicely. We must have sat in the lobby area for nearly 30 minutes with George and his staff talking through the many wineries on the island and why we should visit one over another. And every recommendation was spot on. Who knows, maybe there is no such thing as a bad meal in Santorini, but I doubt it.

5) The location - Situated in Imerovigli, Astra is an unbelievably spectacular 30 minute stroll (all along the cliff side) to Fira Town and a 10 - 15 minute cab ride to Oia. And while you have great access to both towns, you are not stuck fighting through hoards of cruise goers and general touristy foot traffic. A calm part of the island that still has amazing dining options and as I said before, the best views of the caldera.

I'm hoping if you've made it to my review, you've likely already made the good decision to book with Astra.





Feel free to use any and all of the above in any sort of public domain (or let me know where I may be able to leave a positive comment or two on your behalf).

Room Tip: No such thing as a bad room here...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Santorini is a fabulous place so in many ways a choice of where to stay is about optimizing what will be a special experience. Astra Suites is a fantastic choice to make that special experience even more special. It's in a great location: sunsets from Imerovigli are wonderful--people come here to watch; the walk along the charming path to Fira is fun, with a number of good restaurants and bars along the way; the view of the Skaros promontory right in front of the Astra is particularly beautiful and there is a trail right near Astra to walk there. The rooms at Astra, built in the side of the rock, are pretty, squeaky clean, perfectly maintained and very comfortable. The pool is very nice and a good size for Santorini. The breakfast served in our room each morning was generous and as varied as we would have wanted.

But, what especially sets Astra apart is the service. My wife and I were recently there for our anniversary and George and his team gave us great recommendations for restaurants and a boat trip, took care of all the arrangements, and thoughtfully asked how we liked each experience afterward. Everyone at Astra was very friendly and seemed genuinely happy that we were there. Astra did little things that 5-star hotels we have stayed at don't do--for example, they proactively called us the night before we were leaving to make sure we had transport to the airport; they always called before anyone came to our room to turn down the bed or pick up breakfast. Coming back to Astra at night felt like coming home.

Santorini is a magical place and staying at the Astra is very intertwined with the magic for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetooexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews