We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel has incredible views but beyond that, we were not particularly impressed by it. It's built on a steep, narrow strip down the rim of the volcano so a lot of hotel has been crammed into a small space and it requires negotiating steep stairs to get anywhere.

The rooms/bathrooms are unusual and pretty but I got tired of a quirky shower with its shower head right up against the wall and the single wall hook to hang all the wet towels and bath robes on. Otherwise the room was comfortable and spotless with all the usual amenities.

The hotel food was very fresh and beautifully prepared. And we agree with the countless compliments for the staff at the hotel.

This hotel may be rated 5 stars in Greece but sorry, it's not the Ritz. It did not feel particularly luxurious and other than its location and view, most of what the hotel had on offer was relatively ordinary. Given what we paid for our 7 night stay here, overall, we thought it was poor value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juno78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear guests,

First and foremost we were a bit surprised to read that you left with mixed feelings after your recent stay with us in Santorini.

We have worked jolly hard over the years to create a unique, blissful experience in our corner of picturesque Santorini. Our rooms and suites do provide stunning views and a wonderful space to relax and experience all the pleasures that cycladic accommodation has to offer.

Thank you for highlighting the excellent service as this makes such a difference to our very dedicated team, as a five star establishment we are proud to be able to consider ourselves as setting the bar for service standards.

The 5 star luxury feeling is certainly a personal perspective on things, our perspective would be 'strive to provide the best possible quality and this may be the difference you mention between our offering and the Ritz. It is regretful that you were a victim of a rare lapse in feeling the standards.

Hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 642 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just arrived home afar staying at the Chromata for 5 nights and it was absolutely beautiful. There service was wonderful and the staff really make it seem as though nothing is too much trouble. We arrived at 6am after being picked up from the airport and even though check in isn't until 2pm they had our room ready for us by 6:30am! What a treat as we were absolutely exhausted after an overnight flight.

We were on our honeymoon and after reading about countless couples who has been upgraded, we hoped (cheeky, I know) that we might have either been upgraded from a junior suite to the honeymoon suite or at least put in a room with a private terrace (some of them are located directly on the walkway where guests and staff walk by constantly). We were first put in the room right next to the pool (junior suite), which was a beautiful and spacious room, but rather noisy as the pool area has music playing all day and quite damp. The terrace is also completely overlooked by the pool area and for a couple honeymooning we were disappointed. We spoke to the manager and they very promptly and graciously moved us next door to another junior suite with a completely private and spacious terrace, and again the room was wonderfully large. That was very kind of the management to move us and accommodate us in that way and that level of service will certainly ensure our stay at the chromate again and again.

The rooms are a little damp (bed sheets, towels, your clothes) but I suspect it's because they're in caves, but it's not that much of an issue and staying in those gorgeous cave rooms is all part of the experience. The pool area is teenie tiny but intimate and so luxurious. The breakfasts were for sure the highlight of that hotel. SO much choice, beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. I highly recommend the restaurant right at the top on the hotel as the food there is AMAZING and very affordable (the chocolate fondant is incredible). Imerovigli is a great place to stay in as Thira/Fira and Oia would have been far too busy and packed with people. The sunsets from Imerovigli are pretty good as well, so don't feel like you have to see them all from Oia.

Room Tip: Steer clear from the room directly by the pool (room 16 I think). If you're staying there ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Dionne,

We would like to thank you for choosing our property as the host of your Honeymoon and extend our most sincere Congratulations, as well as wishes of eternal love.

Taking the time to acknowledge your satisfaction is an extremely nice present from you, and we are even more delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us! We really appreciate your feedback about the early check in, the size of the rooms, the good tasting breakfast and the quality of our services. I have to mention that it is extremely rewarding to receive such positive comment about our standards of service, and this is perhaps the greatest motivational tool for our staff.

Again we are so grateful that you chose to spend such an important Romantic and Lifetime Memory escape with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights upon arriving in Santorini from the U.S. and were treated like royalty. The staff are incredible and bent over backwards to make our stay as enjoyable as possible (especially Tasos, Lia, Mike and Michael). Our room (#18) was near the bottom of the property and the extra walk each day meant a little exercise and more privacy. The pool was gorgeous, a bit crowded during our stay, but refreshing and with an amazing view of the caldera. Breakfast on our large terrace was whatever we wanted from a large menu and we tried nearly everything, all very delicious! Staying in Imerovigli was a great choice for having a room with a view that allowed us peace and quiet to relax and adjust to Greek time.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hellenic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an adorable review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with. We will make sure to congratulate our team for making you feel royal.

We definitely hope to be able to welcome you again, and take care of you again.

Sending you some warm and volcanic regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at Chromata for five nights on our Honeymoon. Even though check-in was not until 2:00PM, they had our room ready at 11:45 AM. We stayed in a junior suite that was spacious enough, no need to shell out more money for a specialty suite. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The manager gives you a cell phone to use at no charge to call the hotel from anywhere on the island. The breakfast was wonderful, and you can order anything off of the breakfast menu, including sparkling white wine. The property was extremely clean, and one of the best points about the hotel was the shower! Overhead rain shower head, which is not the standard in most European hotels. We did not have dinner at the hotel, but we did eat a few lunches there, and the food was always delicious. The only downside is that there is not much of a spa. There is a jacuzzi that is warm, not hot, and a sauna that is not hot either.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike92312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Mike,

Thank you for your nice feedback on TripAdvisor and we are happy to learn that you had an amazing stay with us. Further, it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the size of your junior suite and it's facilities(rain shower).

We were sorry to read you've been miss leaded thinking that we have a SPA on property, as indeed we have just the facilities you've mentioned. Although we've could recommended you to visit the A.SPA at one of our sister properties, in Oia village, the best place to have a holistic treatment designed to help you relax and renew. Hope will have the chance next time if you decide to come back to Santorini!

We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!

Warmest wishes from Chromata Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed recently to Chromata Hotel. Upon arrival they had a very nice surprise for us the Honeymoon suite of the hotel which was a complimentary upgrade from the general manager. The hotel is located right on the cliff and the views from there are breathtaking. Every morning we had our breakfast rigt outside of the room along with a great smile from the waiter serving us which makes it a very good start of the day. The hotel has great rooms great service but what makes it diferent from the rest 5 star properties we have been to is the atmosphere. The general manager of the hotel (very young and talented) Mike has created a team of friends and coleagues working hard to ensure that all the guests will have a memorable stay and i will say that they are achieving that, he is truly the shining star of the hotel.
We will be back for sure very shortly. Thank you all for your nice hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Miles S,

We are happy to know we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a wonderful stay. It is our aim to have guests leave happy and amazed and thinking about their next trip back. We are thrilled that our staff was able to make your stay unforgettable. Mike's pure guest orientated mentality molds this 5 star “atmosphere”, we appreciate very much that you noticed it and feel blessed to receive your gratitude.

Sunny and volcanic regards from Santorini!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Located in quieter imerovigli is chromata, the pluses are:

*access isn't as steep as Oia and nice boutique size
*guaranteed a good sunset
*housekeepers do a fantastic job of servicing the rooms
*hotel porters do an amazing job, however there were some minuses staying here:

We have stayed in a few places in Greece so do have comparisons.

*The rooms are fine, clean and comfortable but if you are claustrophobic, a cave isn't for you!
*Many tourists walk around imerovigli, so you can end up having a lot of traffic passing your room. Not private if you want some secluded time...
*Internet coverage terrible and this is only a problem if you are needing to do any work
*Our room smelt of cigarettes and we don't smoke so we are hypersensitive to this but hotel should mention that rooms may have been previously stayed in by smokers as that stale smell of cigarettes is horrible and particularly hard to rid of in a cave!
*There is no courtesy drop off of pick up at the airport like other 5 star hotels on the island. 15 euros pp per way is a bit rich considering apparently it is their own hotel bus and driver (this isn't the only hotel the owner has in his portfolio)
*it is hard and horrible to complain, but since tripadvisor relies on honesty of guests the worst thing about our stay was the breakfast service. Sloppily trained staff, non attentive, non preemptive = very annoying. You shouldn't hear the hotel staff drowning out your own conversation as they huddle around the bar in a group talking to the manager who is having his coffee. At 870 euros a night, I can go to a tavern to listen to this with ample change.
Staff just a bit young and not international standard trained. Sorry guys but you could improve with this. Hotels in other equally expensive places around the world walk all over you with experience and higher service and there are others that do it better on Santorini in terms of professional service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank becinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide for TripAdvisor readers such an accurate description of your experience at Chromata Hotel. We greatly appreciate your stay with us and we are pleased that you found our location to your liking. Thank you for the compliments to our housekeeping and porter staff, they work very hard to meet and exceed all expectations.

Thank you for staying with us and we regret to learn that some aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectation. As much as we hate to disappoint our guests, it is always an excellent practice to learn and develop a better understanding of our guest’s expectations. We do apologize for the smoke smell in your room, we are a 100% smoke free facility but there are occasions when we have non compliance.

We do appreciate your feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences in an effort to improve the guest experience. We do hope your concerns will not prevent you from coming back to our resort in the near future. Once more, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The beauty of Santorini and the Chromata Hotel are almost unbelievable. Our rooms were exquisitely furnished. We ate breakfast every morning at a deck overlooking the water outside our room. The staff at the hotel were genuinely friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to do to enjoy our trip. Thira was a simple walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Jan,

We are so happy you had such a wonderful time, and we hope you can stay longer next time! Thank you for your kind comments about our venue, service and food. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
353 reviews
3.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
2.9 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: $233 - $806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chromata Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing