We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

An amazing place to stay. Everything was perfect especially after we realised the pool ( which size wise was our only disappointment on arrival) turned out to be a pretty good size and one of the biggest in the area. It's decor was a bit clinical for my normal liking but given its surroundings was well suited. We especially loved waking up to breakfast on our balcony every morning with those magnificent caldera views.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabi65Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    74
    12
    13
    8
See reviews for
36
432
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in mid-July (our first visit to Santorini), and this hotel deserves all of the good reviews that it regularly receives. An excellent location, away from the busy-ness of Fira and Ojai, but within easy walking distance of Fira and many excellent restaurants in the immediate area (as well as more than one 'general store'). Also 20 minutes to good beaches (especially our favourite, Kamari). We like hotels of this size (22 rooms), and the resulting excellent service FROM ALL MEMBERS OF STAFF, and from Christina in particular. The rooms are 'minimalist' but very comfortable, and the setting is hard to beat. Excellent breakfast served on one's own terrace is wonderful way to start the day.

While there are other very good high-end hotels on the island, certainly Chromata is just about as good as it can get....and we would definitely choose to go back---because we now know how good it is, and HOW WELL WE WILL BE LOOKED AFTER. I don't think we've ever felt as relaxed as we did on this visit. We can't wait for that return....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The sign of a great holiday is just how long it stays with you once it is over. For us 10 weeks later, its still one of the best holiday's, in one of the best locations, in one of the best hotels, in the world.
We had intended to write a review immediately we got back because it was such a wonderful place, but life just got in the way, however, I still wanted to acknowledge the fantastic staff and facilities at this superb hotel.

So again thank you all, Roula, Christina, Maria, George, and George K, Vaggellis, Panos and of course the most wonderful Smaragda or 'Emerald' to us. They were all just amazing. The hotel was spotless and our room just fantastic with views overlooking the volcano - stunning.
Would we go back again - YES as it was everything we wanted in a week away - relaxing, luxury wonderful facilities and great staff. Hope to see you all again soon. Liz & Richard xx

Room Tip: All rooms are very individual and equally good with their own special treats. The lower rooms are ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was looking for a very special hotel for a 1 week holiday and the Chromata did not disappoint. The location is breath taking and in my option better than Oia. It is a 20 minute walk into Thira or a 20 minutes drive to Oia. The staff at the hotel are first class and could not be more helpful. The trip was extra special as I asked my girlfriend to marry me. The hotel staff helped me make it a very special moment and she said yes! We will definitely return to the Chromata which I think is the best place to stay on Santorini.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony8669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for our anniversary with Chromata and they very kindly upgraded us to a beautiful honeymoon suite. The views are simply stunning, especially the sunsets and it is an easy walk to explore neighbouring villages. The Staff were exceptional especially breakfast served on your private terrace each morning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Storeys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
md
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I and another couple spent 4 nights at Chromata in the last 2 weeks. My expectations were high and Chromata far exceeded them. First the views are spectacular. The rooms are spotless and remained that way the entire 5 days. Additionally, I've never had such an attentive staff at my beckon call. They were friendly and anxious to help. Any request was met within minutes. Breakfast each morning on our own private deck overlooking the Caldera didn't hurt our experience either. Christine, the manager, was exceptional. I can't say enough about the experience at Chromata. It's a short walk to Fira and there are plenty of local restaurants and shops in Imerovigili if you choose. Trust this review. I've stayed in places that are good and some that are great. Chromata is above all of that. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Chromata is everything you would want in a fine luxury hotel. The facility is beautiful and compliments the incredible vista below. Our junior suite was beautiful, well maintained, and white glove clean. The food was excellent, as was the room service. And the bed... It is worth staying here just for the bed. Honest. The location is outstanding making it easy to see all that Santorini
offers.
Where Chromata shines brightest is the staff. They are friendly, helpful, and professional in the finest sense of the term. It was a pleasure to interact with them. If we return to Santorini, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Property: Chromata Hotel
Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chromata Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing