We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing.....holiday of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Springwell Village
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing.....holiday of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel enough, we had a holiday of a lifetime
From start to finish the customer service from all of the staff was fantastic, we couldn't fault them.
The view from our room was the most breathtaking thing I have seen and the room itself was beautiful.
It was my 30th birthday when we were there, the hotel arranged for us to have our own table overlooking the Caldera with candles and champagne and also a cake, it was something I won't forget and the food at the hotel for our full stay was excellent.
We will definitely be going back, Santorini is a beautiful place and this hotel is first class.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gem8206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    67
    9
    13
    8
See reviews for
28
383
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A hotel, set right on the cliff-side, dug out of the rock, with cave-dwelling type rooms with all the mod cons and balconies just hanging above the volcanic caldera with a view of the still active volcano that will take your breath away. The swimming pool starts from inside a cave, continues out onto the balcony and then overflows at the cliff side. Each room is unique, with protruding rocks inside it and beds made out of the rock. The food is way above average and the service is everything you could wish for. "Chromata" in Greek means "Colors" and that is what you get: pure blue from the sea, pure turquise from the sky, pure white from the buildings and pure charcoal-grey from the rock. Prepare to fall in love with Santorini, Greece and Life itself.

Room Tip: If you travel out of peak season or are a newlywed, ask for a room upgrade and they will give you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caveman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

i think that words can not discribe of how amazing this hotel..and the place around and the view are!!!! ok..its not the cheapest place you can spend your holidays but..worth every cent you spend over there! the service is just perfect, the rooms are something like a dream place!and the view...i can not describe wow it feels to wake up and have your breakfast in a balcone with "the caldera's" view!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryDK412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Chromata Hotel on Oct 26, 2012. We travel a lot so before I book a hotel, I always make sure to check all the reviews particularly the ones in tripadvisor, since travelers are able post their actual pictures without the hotel screening them, since most of the times it’s not the same if you base everything on the hotels website. Luckily again we made the right choice .Staying at Chromata hotel made our trip to Santorini perfect, like nothing can go wrong since our day started with the best service and ended with a warm farewell. The hotel was so nice! like everything is white with a touch of blue and grey, which made the place look modern, chic, peaceful and romantic. It was so clean, not only because it’s all white but because the rooms are cleaned twice in a day. When we arrived the hotel, we were welcomed with a fresh lemonade and Evita( who was at the reception was very helpful )gave us a tour of the hotel and gave suggestions on where to go etc. When we checked in, the manager ( Santi who was very kind and pleasant) walked us to our room and explained everything about the room, since we had our own Jacuzzi and ipod that was provided by them ( which had the best selection of music ),you’ll know that they are very professional and keen to details when it comes to customer service/satisfaction. The breakfast was the best, I will describe it as gourmet, not only was the taste exceptional but the presentation was delightful, they really made time to prepare everything especially for us. The food is not served in a buffet type but they will provide you with a menu that you can choose from and can order whatever you like and re-order if wanted, because this way you would be able to enjoy the view , since all the rooms are facing/having the caldera view. The hotel has 2 jacuzzi for public use, an infinity pool, sauna room, little restaurant and spa room. The hotel has free wifi internet. Some other good reasons to stay at Chromata are- just outside the hotel, there is car rental shop! so if you don’t feel like walking and taking the bus, the best way to explore Santorini is by car or quad bike ( ATV ) which rental fees start from 25EUROS depending on what type you prefer, just present a valid driver’s license and credit card. There’s also a restaurant and a convenient store across. So literally everything is accessible to you. Though I have not taken a bus or taxi, walking is fine too as long as you’re up for it. It would be a 15mins car drive from the airport to the hotel.

Again we would like to thank Santi,Evita,Merideth, Adonis and Victor for making our stay memorable worthwhile!


Chromata Hotel is lucky to have staffs like you guys :) We will surely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Chromata - what can I say. Perfect! It not only met our expectations but also exceeded them. The lovely girls in the office and the guys running our bags up and down to our rooms, along with the service staff - everyone does a great job! We were upgraded to a suite due to my partners birthday and OMG - how lucky were we. Everything is first class and oh so comfortable - the beds - a little piece of Greek Island heaven. The breakfast, delivered to your room where you can eat on your balcony area soaking up the views and the sun - perfect. The pool and lounge area very welcoming and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble. A bit of a walk to Thira town centre, but along the cliff side - the views and breathtaking and you don't realise the distance - plus you can always get a taxi back for 5-10 euro. Would definitely recommend to any of my friends thinking of visiting Santorini - and would be back in a flash! An extra special thank you to Xanthi for making my partners birthday all that more special with our upgrade and restaurant booking.

Room Tip: Any room will give you a view - there are some with their own sun chairs and some with private spas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KYL11Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were upgraded to Chromata from the Sunrocks and got the superior honeymoon suite at the Chromata. Our stay there was fabulous! The suite was luxurious and our room was magnificent! It was huge, had a jaccuzi, spa, and a private balcony overlooking the volcano! Breakfast was served on the balcony every morning in front the spectacular view of the volcano and massive luxury cruise ships sailing in and away the caldera. The breakfast was so delicious... the delightful greek pie, local cherry tomato, tasty cheeses, all made it very special!

The staff was welcoming and very friendly. Special mention to the boys who restlessly brought our breakfast trays to the balcony every morning, and our heavy luggage up and down the stairs too! The eternal pool and bar area complemented the magnificent view of the caldera and volcano.

The location of the hotel was good, only 20minutes walk from Fira, the gorgeous town centre of Santorini. We didnt mind the walk at all. The bus taking us to Oia was at close proximity to catch as well. Unforgettable stay at this hotel, would recommend at any time!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
252 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked at the Sun Rocks hotel but were moved to Chromata as Sun Rocks closed for the season. We loved this hotel. The staff were wonderful and the setting is amazing. We had a lovely room with a private jacuzzi. Breakfast was made to order and served on our own private balcony overlooking the sea. A wonderful stay!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#8 of 49 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#3 of 49 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
3.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 52 in Oia
5.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#4 of 49 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
2.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Property: Chromata Hotel
Address: Imerovigli Cyclades, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chromata Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing