We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset heaven”
Review of Regina Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regina Mare Hotel
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Absolutely fabulous! We booked this hotel following a recommendation from friends and were not disappointed! Everything from the stunning location to the extremely welcoming and friendly service, was superb. The hotel is located on the edge of the caldera at the end of Imerovigli village but is within easy walking distance of both Firo Stefani and Fira. Everyone at the hotel goes out of their way to ensure you have a perfect holiday. The breakfasts are fabulous with a huge range of freshly prepared homemade food as well as the usual cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt. All of the facilities at the hotel including the rooms are kept immaculately clean and any queries are dealt with promptly. We couldn't write a review without mentioning the most beautiful sunsets you will ever see, they are absolutely stunning night after night!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank stevendshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Regina Mare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 286 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

We would echo the other recent reviews of this hotel in that the views are stunning across the caldera - in fact they are breathtaking. The hotel is right at the end of the village so perfectly positioned for peace and quiet whilst easy to get to local restaurants. A good breakfast spread each morning freshly prepared and plenty of variety . We had a superior double which was fine but the rooms do vary quite a bit .
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful
We will definitely be going back.
You can easily walk into Fira along the narrow path between the hotels and never set foot on the main road.
We used the local buses which were excellent - either from iImerovigil or from the main bus station in Fira. Its about 30 mins to the beaches in the SW.
The walk along the caldera rim to Oia is amazing - hot but worth it
One word of warning - you need to be fit and able to walk up & downstairs to enjoy Santorini - the whole place is one long walk up or down steps. Not a kids place at all
The sea swimming was great but the beaches are grey stones/ black sand and very hot

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be small but ask for one refurbished ones
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

WOW!! Absolutely Perfect! What an amazing place Imerovigli is and The Regina Mare is a little piece of paradise perched on the edge of The Caldera - the views are breathtakingly stunning and the sunsets well....... You have to see them to believe them.

We cannot say enough about the incredible service we received for the two weeks we were there. Initially the room we received was one of the older rooms (they have been refurbishing) and a little small, we were a bit disappointed as it was our honeymoon so my new hubby had a quiet word with the lovely Ionna and within a matter of hours she had sorted us an upgrade!

As the other reviewers have said Momma delivers the most incredible breakfasts and lying by the pool most afternoons wonderful smells waft from the kitchen as she creates the following morning's menu.

The whole place is run by what feels like a family. It's a very intimate and special place and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 16 but Room 7 is lovely
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fivestaraddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Initially we had the honeymoon room, but it was already taken and we received a junior suite. Not bad of course, however the honeymoon room would have been better in our mindset.
Nevertheless, the service is excellent. The breakfast is really superb, the cook aka 'Mom' really is a key success factor of this hotel. Every morning she crafts other dishes, making you look forward to the next breakfast. We had to check out very early around 5:30 and we did that the evening before, the crew was also so kind to provide a small breakfast for us in the morning. They even provided the bell man, to carry our luggage in the steep Imerovigli area, I have no words for their outstanding service.
If you pay a visit to this hotel, make sure to meet the cook 'Mom' and try her meatballs she really is a goddess.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed in the Regina Mare at the Beginning of October 2011 for 7 nights, the moment you arrive you are greeted by firstly the most fantastic view, and secondly the friendliest hotel staff, from the Manageress Chrysoula right down to the girls who clean the rooms, the service is first class, they made us feel as if we were old friends visiting. The buffet breakfast in the morning is one of the best I have had and to wake up to that amazing view in the morning is just wonderful. Although there is no restuarant, there is a very good snack bar at the hotel which has an extensive menu and is open all day. We were told that the rooms had recently been refurbished which I have to say is a very high standard, we had a superior room with our own terrace which was beautiful. The only down side is the stairs you have to climb to get in and out as the hotel is on the side of the cliff so not recommended for people with mobility problems. There are a number of really good restuarants in the area and reasonably priced. We were told that the best place to view the sunset was Oia, but in our opinion we had a far better view from the hotel and also we didn't have to vye for a good position with the bus trips, we could sit on our terrace with a bottle of wine and watch the sunset in comfort. We will certainly be back as this was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views of the Caldera
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KathyM2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Wow...wow...wow....after we picked ourselves up from the floor.....what a spectacular view!!! one of the most beautiful in my lifetime to date.
Staff cannot do enough for you, food was great....breakfast amazing, especially the aromas as it is being prepared that waft up to your rooms.
We stayed in the Honeymoon suite for 5 nights....lovely, bathroom a bit ordinary but the spa made up for it.
Totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tastetattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Recently stayed here for one week and can echo all of the good points mentioned by others.

To wake up and see the view for the first time is stunning. To have every breakfast sitting at a table feet from a cliff edge (it slopes a bit), in the sun with the view is amazing.

Breakfast - it is as good as has been said. Every day many different things freshly cooked. If you sit by the pool during the day you will be constantly smelling home cooking - cakes etc for the next day. Cannot be faulted.

Staff - very friendly and very helpful. If you have a problem it will be fixed as quickly as they can.

Whilst we were there it was obvious that quite a number of people make return visits.

The rooms are kept very clean with ample changes of towels and bedding. Our bathroom was kept very clean and was more than adequate for our needs. Storage, in our room, was limited to a wardrobe with one shelf which was slightly too tight - or maybe we just took too much.

A Point of Note : The Stairs are a killer if you are even slightly unfit. Once you get there ask for stairs easier than the rough concrete "public stairs". Also for some strange reason the hotel has no sign at street level - although there is a direction sign in the village.

ALSO ignore the map on this page as the hotel is nowhere near where it says it is.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nsander219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.0 mi away
Kasimatis Suites
Kasimatis Suites
#40 of 51 in Imerovigli
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krokos Villas
Krokos Villas
#45 of 51 in Imerovigli
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Xenones Filotera
Xenones Filotera
#20 of 51 in Imerovigli
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#28 of 51 in Imerovigli
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#27 of 51 in Imerovigli
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#37 of 51 in Imerovigli
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Mare Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: $154 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regina Mare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regina Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Mare Imerovigli
Hotel Regina Mare
Regina Mare Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing