We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever!!!”
Review of Gold Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gold Suites
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I debated for a while if I should stay at this hotel out of the variety that is available in Santorini, and I am a SLH member, but I am glad we chose this hotel. It is situated in the best location I could see out of the rest of hotels (Once there I looked around) and the views are to die for. I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. The staff was fantastic and made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dre2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 273 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at Gold Suites in September 2013. Had a pleasant flight with Easyjet and arrived safely in Santorini and our pick-up was waiting for us as arranged with Peggy. On arrival we were greeted in Reception very well and told that we had been upgraded for 2 nights to a Senior Suite (we had booked Junior). This was lovely surprise and on entering the room it was beautiful with white washed walls and gold trimmings then they opened the curtains on to the balcony where there was a jacuzzi WOW!! the view was breathtaking. Breakfasts were plentiful and always delivered on time and with a smile.

We were moved on day 3 to the original junior suite we had booked which was a shame but still a nice room, much smaller and lower down in the complex just under the pool. Unfortunately the weather turned and due to a cold wind blowing most days at breakfast we could only see the beautiful view form our room which was a shame. However, it didn't spoil our holiday and we enjoyed the rest of our time there.

Fira is a lovely 20-30 minute walk from the hotel and a beautiful walk through the little alley ways and streets with the wonderful Caldera view for company (beware you can get lost and end up on someone else's balcony!). We had some lovely meals during our stay and found lots of different places which all had their own charm. We walked also to Oia which was lovely took around 90 minutes not recommended on a really hot day as there is very little shade but the town is beautiful and well worth the walk. That said you could get the bus which took about 15 mins so easy enough to get back from and they run up to around 11.30pm.

We had a wonderful holiday and would recommend Gold Suites it was wonderful and the staff and management are outstanding, thanks for everything. I would definitely stay here again if visiting Santorini. Gold Suites is a lovely place to relax and unwind but if you don't book a deluxe suite then beware as you may have to wait for a sun lounger at the pool. There are only 6 available we managed ok but I would think in the height of summer things may have been different.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived at Gold Suites on a windy Santorini evening and were quickly and efficiently checked into our room. The room was beautiful, very tastefully furnished and spacious. We were however a little perturbed by the glass door to the toilet - stylish, but not to everyone's taste! To my mind there are still some things that should remain private. As we had not eaten since breakfast we ordered room service, which was tasty, served promptly, if a little pricey. The 25euro bottle of Santorini wine (which was excellent) can be bought for 9euros in the shop just across the road. We sat on our private (more later) terrace anticipating the view, which was not to disappoint us.

The following morning we awoke to the view which was truly spectacular and which is the making of Gold Suites. We were surprised by the lack of activity, perhaps it was our over excitement, but at 8 o'clock in the morning there was no one else in sight! It was lovely to have breakfast over looking the caldera and we just soaked up the atmosphere. Breakfast was adequate, although there was a lot of choice, portions were small, but it was an advantage to have it served on the balcony. For most of our stay it arrived within half an hour, though on our final day it failed to arrive at all.

After a busy few days in Athens we had planned to take it very easy in Santorini, enjoying the sunshine and just relaxing. Therefore we had paid the extra for the Deluxe Suite with the "private heated pool" and "intimate dining area". This was where our disappointment lay. "Private" and "intimate" have very specific meanings to me and my husband and having sundry individuals wandering through the terrace does not warrant these descriptions. Imerovigli is a essentially a labyrinth of hotels and even the Minotaur would get lost. Consequently our balcony was also constantly being overlooked by tourists who had taken a wrong turn; our favourite was a group of 3 Australian pilots who actually wandered onto our "private" terrace looking for a restaurant!

The room was kept very clean, although we had to ask for towels on one occasion, but the turn down service was hit and miss.

Imerovigli is a small village, but is within walking distance of Fira along the very pretty coastal path. It is quite a hike, with some steep bits and lots of steps. Be careful you stick to the paths or you could well end up on someone else's terrace! In the village itself there are only a couple of restaurants and even though we visited in September it was still necessary to book at Anoti's, which seems to be the most popular. The food there was good, but we also had a great meal at the restaurant next door. We also had a fabulous meal at Da Costa which is the first restaurant you get to when you take the coastal path to Fira, the view over the caldera at sunset is wonderful, their service friendly and it is the first time I have ever known my husband fail to finish a meal.

If you travel later in the season as we did, be prepared for the windy evenings. We were blessed with gorgeous weather during the days, but the temperature does drop at night.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Gold Suites; the view is truly spectacular and its position is excellent. Nevertheless, in my opinion Santorini is playing on its exclusive reputation and prices reflect this. Although the Suites were beautiful, there is plenty of choice and the view would be the same wherever you stayed on this side of the island.

Room Tip: We booked a Deluxe Suite for the privacy, however at least you know there are going to be other peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We returned to Santorini in September 26 years after our first visit with friends we met there in 1987. The hotel was lovely, very clean. We stayed in adjoining junior suites enjoying and amazing view and and a wonderful room. Fruit platter and wine on arrival We enjoyed great breakfasts on the patio each morning and sunsets every evening. The Gold Suites are in a good position on the path to either Oia or Fira, not far from the local tavernas, bus stop and supermarket. The buses are a great way to get around. We booked a transfer from the airport and back direct with the hotel, very pleased we had done that when we saw the taxi/bus queue. Only slight complaint, on some occasions there were insufficient sunbeds round the pool, only 6 and the pool bar only played reggae music, it was on a loop and became quite tedious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Where to start...?
Apart from a slightly disappointing transfer that we arranged via Gold Suites ( I had assumed as we had booked a private transfer that would mean a quick pick up for us and straight to Gold Suites....holiday time being very precious ...however,when we collected our bags and headed out to look for our driver he was holding up a sign with two names on I knew it wasn't going to be great,especially as the couple we were waiting for had a tiny baby and were therefore the last off the plane and the last through the doors ) after we dropped them off and arrived at Gold Suites my disappointment soon faded away...

We were greeted by a lovely young lady who provided us with a lovely glass of cold bubbles, swiftly checked us in and took us straight to our room, it was 18.30, perfect timing for our first Santorini sunset :) within 10 minutes we had been shown around our lovely junior suite, just by the pool,a lovely porter had brought our luggage and a gorgeous bottle of Atlantis wine was chilling in an ice bucket along with a plate of fruit...complimentary :) perfect. We sat in silence, well apart from the clicking noises of our cameras. Stunning first evening :)

We ate in the pretty outdoor restaurant on the first night, the food really was outstanding.

So the good bits;

Wow, the view from our room, perfect as is the position of the hotel, certainly takes in all the main sights, Oia,Caldera the hot springs.

The service,spot on and as others have commented,very professional and discreet.

The room, beautiful.

Spotless.

The breakfast,massive choice,eat as much or as little as you want,always within 30 mins, very professional and fabulous quality.

The pool, loved it, especially as our room looked out onto it ;)

Just couples, quiet, romantic,relaxing.

The niggles;

The drinks are a tad over priced

The aircon in the room wasn't great, it reached to a high of 35 and that's in Sept in the day time and the room never cooled down enough for us to sleep comfortably.

The CD player which was actually the DVD player, the hotel attached a pre loaded memory stick to it, however, we had brought a few favourite disks along, not a problem though as the hotel loaded these onto the stick for us :)

No kettle, just an espresso machine, so being English, no tea!

Evening turn down service, strangely we only got it twice? We were there for 7 nights.

Only six sun beds by the pool, we always got lucky,others didn't.

We had some cracking meals;

Taverna Imerovigli, stunning views,traditional food and only 10 mins along the beautiful path ( lots of steps)
Mezzo,lovely for lunch,on the way.
Anoti,in Imerovigli,near to the hotel, cracking Greek food.
Mamas House in Fira, amazing and funny Greek experience, near the taxi place.
Señor Zorba a Mexican,a little further out,but well worth the taxi trip... Beautiful food.

Not forgetting Mythos lager :)))

All in all we had the perfect holiday,we would definitely go back to Gold Suites if it fitted with our plans. Loved it.

Don't delay, book today ..... Before it gets booked up.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Yorkshire77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was for our honeymoon so we had high expectations. Gold suites exceed them and provided excellent service. Tasos was especially helpful. We would definitely recommend!! The sunsets were beautiful and we experienced the best sunsets when we stayed in our room the first two nights.

Room Tip: The grand suite is truly spectacular and the superior suite is like an Aladdin's cave. The whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidiberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in one of the Deluxe Suites in August 2013, a fairly large room with sitting area and private veranda with plunge pool and amazing view on the caldera. Everything and everyone is very welcoming, the staff very kind, professional and accomodating. We received a bottle of wine and fruit platter when we arrived. The rooms are really nice and elegant, although the design and decor is not traditional greek "white and blue". The room amenities cover all the bases including a very well stocked and actually reasonably priced minibar, bathroom amenities, bathrobes, slippers, safe, and a real hairdryer, tv and a nice selection of lounge music which fits the scenery perfectly. Although the room was really nice, the room's private terrace was trully priceless (you can check the photos) not only because of the view and the design but mostly because it was really quiet and private. When booking a hotel in Imerovigli make sure your dream-terrace is actually a private one, as there are some remarkable rooms but their patio's are very exposed or visible, which may not be the best thing for your quiet and romantic get away. There is also a common pool with pool bar that you can enjoy.
The hotel's room service is very good and there is a large menu to choose from, everything we tried was very tasty. Breakfast has also many options and it is served in your room at the time you request. There is even an early breakfast option in case you have to catch an early flight.
It is definitely worth the splurge and would recommend it anytime!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#27 of 51 in Imerovigli
185 reviews
0 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#9 of 51 in Imerovigli
499 reviews
0 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 51 in Imerovigli
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#28 of 51 in Imerovigli
206 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#13 of 51 in Imerovigli
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Suites

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece (Formerly Andromeda Gold Suites)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#24 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: $235 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nuzzled in Santorini’s romantic ambiance Gold Suites invites guests to indulge in an exhilarating range of amenities, explore the gorgeous vistas of the awe-inspiring Caldera and luxuriate in the privacy of graciously appointed hotel suites. Reflecting the island spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition architecture, the facilities and the suites offer a modern touch with lavish details, designed to offer the ultimate in comfort and luxury, all facing the sea level and lie amidst the stunning volcanic scenery and legendary sunset. The romantic candlelit evening setup of Gold Resto represents the Mediterranean and authentic Santorinian cuisine that promises an exceptional dining experience. The pool lounge area is fitted with comfortable loungers allowing peaceful and unique moments of relaxation. The pool side bar provides the most intimate atmosphere where guests can enjoy refreshing cocktails, healthy smoothies, freshly juices and delicious snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gold Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andromeda Gold Hotel Imerovigli
Gold Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing