We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Gold Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gold Suites
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is situated in Imerovigli, at the highest point on the island. Although the hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of Fira, it is still within a walkable distance. It takes around 15mins to walk to Firostefani and another 15-20 to Fira. I really enjoyed the walk to Fira because you can really relish in the view of the cliffs and domed churches. Very picturesque. We were told that from Firostefani back to Imerovigli was 7euro and from Fira is 5 but we were always charged 7 or 10. If you plan to go to Oia, I would strongly suggest you to take the bus or taxi because walking would take well over 90mins. If you walk to Oia, for some parts you would have to walk on roads.

We stayed in Room 31, at the end of the hotel. We had a balcony to ourselves, as I believe most rooms do. It was really peaceful to sit on balcony, spacing out with a gorgeous view in front of you. I thoroughly enjoyed the privacy of the balcony because when we stayed at another hotel in Oia where we had to share a balcony space. Breakfast was served at our rooms. They have a menu and you can tell the reception what you'd like. A great selection! The water pressure of the shower was great. Because of the cave like designs of the room, it gets a bit humid after a long shower.

The service of the staff was impeccable! Gold Suites was our secondary choice at first but once we got there, we wished we had booked more days!

Overall, a fantastic hotel and would love to come back if we got a chance!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa_asa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    42
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
206
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked santorini for the first time and stumbled across the gold suites. All 14 of the rooms are suites and we stayed in a superior suite. The room was so beautiful and with a perfect view of the exquisite sunset, in fact we struggled to find better even in Oia! We will certainly be returning not just because of the location and value but also because of the amazing staff. We certainly recommend this as a truly memorable and romantic holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at the Superior Suite as part of our honeymoon, lovely location, a personal choice to stay out of Fira - the main city town of Santorini. This area is a 15min walk along beautiful hotels/homes/scenery to Fira which was perfect for us. Quiet yet accessible, great local restaurants 5-10minutes walk from the hotel. Hotel staff were fantastic and helpful, they wanted to upgrade us to a honeymoon suite but was fully booked, offered us to stay 2 nights at their new sister property nearer to Oia in a honeymoon suite. We did that and spent our last 2 nights at San Antonio Suites which is another fantastic hotel, better than Gold Suites actually. Rooms were of good size, had an amazing view from the balcony which is big and had an outdoor Jacuzzi, Jacuzzi + great view = out of the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacqSiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

In the last of our 5 days here now sitting by pool writing this, pool area great and very quiet, first time we've not had whole area to ourselves today, rooms are lovely. Staff are incredible, helped me sort out flowers for my wife on our first anniversary with little fuss, will always cater to any request, is only 5 of them I think so you get to know them all which is nice, food nice, got room service the first night as was tired and food was really good, breakfast included was also excellent, couldn't ask for more really, shower great, sofa great, our balcony could have had more access to sun but not an issue, a great stay at what was excellent value. To note travel to Fira is walkable in about 25 mins to centre, but taxi advised as is only €5-7. Considering walk to Oia which is 90mins or so. Also to note bus service is good enough, extremely busy when we used it but did the job. Overall I'd recommend Gold Suites.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank isspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

After 5 nights in our hotel in Fira we had the chance to stay 2 more nights on Santorini at Gold Suites in Imerovigla. The hotel is high on the mountain overlooking Skarros Rock with a great view on the caldera, the volcano island, Oia and Thirassia. Our room (number 2) was very spacious and luxurious with a large bathroom (no bath, but a huge walk-in shower), separate living room and bedroom. The room has a huge balcony with two sunbeds, a table and chair where breakfast is served, and - last but not least - a jacuzzi. From there one can truly enjoy a "millionaire feeling" with a glass of Santorini wine looking at the famous sunsets. A few stories down there is a small heated pool with a bar and terrace, where drinks and meals can also be served.

Manager Peggy and the rest of the staff at the hotel is doing everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You certainly have to try hard to find some point of criticism on this fantastic hotel.

There are some advantages on staying in Imerovigli, which is a small village about a 25 minute walk north from Fira. Fira is really the main town on the Island, which lots of restaurants, hotels and shops. It also has the majority of the daily visitors from cruise ships, which make it very international, but sometimes also rather hectic. Oia is definitely the most beautiful town on the island, but it is on the far north point of the island, making access to the beaches at Perissa, Kamari and Akrotiri (red beach!) in the south more difficult. In the evening Oia is bustling with tourists, who all want to enjoy the sunset from the old castle that is more crowded that Christmas sales at Harrods.

If you are looking for a quiet spot on the island, with a central location towards the other towns, at walking distance from Fira, Imerovigli is an excellent choice. And without doubt, Gold Suites is among the best places to stay there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albert-Ludmilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is at the village of Imerovigli, in my opinion the best place to stay (Oia is too far from every beach, and Fira is very crowded). At a high point, with a wonderful Caldera view and best of all in a few meters from the street so you wont need to go up or down with your luggage.
All the staff are very simpatic and willing to help you, Peg, Lidsa and the boy (sorry, forgot your name). They will book tours and explain everything you need. I bought ferry tickets on the internet and had to get it at a travel agencies and Peg even offered herself to do it for me!
They served a welcome gift, a bottle of wine and fresh fruits, one day later red egg and bread (Greek Easter).
The pool could be better. the vinyl is unglued at a lot of points. And its not a infinity edge pool.
There is a pool bar sunbeds with towels and some tables (i think that is where they also serve dinner as there is no restaurant).

We got a Superior Suite with outdoor jacuzzi, room number 3 right next to the reception (meaning no stairs at all!).
Room has a small living with a sofa and tv. Was cleaned twice a day and every second time they left mp3 music on (nice!). Veranda with heated jacuzzi.
Breakfast is served at your room (starts at 8h, could be earlier), with eggs, omelets, breads, croissants, fresh juice, very good yogurt and more.

WiFi internet was very slow.
There is no parking area, but I don't think any hotel in Santorini will have that (at least the ones with Caldera views).

Lovely stay and I will be in there if ever go back to Santorini.

Room Tip: If you care for privacy the best rooms are at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Compare to Fira, Imerovigli is situated higher above and offers a great view of the caldera and the Santorini island. Generally speaking, Imerovigli also has the newer hotels compared to Fira and Oia.

Gold Suite is also at the high point of Imerovigli which gives it a great view. The location of the hotel is quite accessible by car/taxi, which means that you don't have to travel very far to get all your luggage into your room.

The staff at Gold Suites were very nice and helpful. A bottle of wine and a fruit platter was provided as welcome gifts. We got Room 31 (Junior Suite), which is unfortunately at the lowest level, however, the view is still awesome and it is right beside the walkway path that leads to Fira.

Breakfast provided by the hotel is very nice and includes a big selection of pastries, yogurt, eggs, fresh juice, etc. The staff will bring the breakfast right to your terrace so you can enjoy your breakfast with a breathtaking view.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.1 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#25 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#17 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Suites
Cocoon Suites
#23 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#22 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Suites

Property: Gold Suites
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece (Formerly Andromeda Gold Suites)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#22 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the highest point of the Santorini's Caldera cliffs, at Imerovigli, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Gold Suites is an intimate complex of 14 Luxury Suites, all facing the sea level and lie amidst the stunning volcanic scenery and legendary sunset. Suites have Traditional Cycladic architecture, with modern touch and lavish details, designed to offer the ultimate in comfort and luxury. The swimming pool is set on the rim of the Caldera, offering spectacular views of the Aegean Sea. The pool lounge area is fitted with comfortable loungers allowing peaceful and unique moments of relaxation. The poolside bar provides the most intimate atmosphere where guests can enjoy refreshing cocktails, healthy smoothies, freshly juices and delicious snacks.Whether dining at lunchtime or enjoying the romantic candlelit evening setup, Gold Resto represents the Mediterranean and authentic Santorinian cuisine with delectable dining choices that promises an exceptional dining experience. Respecting our guests' preferences, our Chef can create and prepare custom menus for private in-suite or at the exclusive 4 table seating area that right by the poolside bar overlooking the Caldera and the impressive rock of Skaros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gold Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andromeda Gold Hotel Imerovigli
Gold Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing