We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy A Meal Here At This Unpretentious Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Thira

Bella Thira
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yallingup, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Enjoy A Meal Here At This Unpretentious Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Located on the Main Road through Imerovigli, this place is well worth a visit. Tania the Waitress is extremely pleasant and friendly. The Menu is varied with a great selection of Greek dishes well prepared by the Chef. A relaxed and enjoyable place for Lunch, Dinner or just for a drink. You will always be made welcome here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prostring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    177
    48
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Taverna. Wonderful Food. Great Service. Great Prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were staying in Imerovigli and found Bella Thira when we were out walking. It is on the main road, not far from the only bus stop, and so it is also very easy to get there from Kamari, Perissa, Fira, etc.via the main bus station hub, operating from Fira to Oia which travels through Fira Stephani and passes Imerovigli, or you can get there from the other end of the island on buses that go from Oia to Fira. We loved this tavern, which is so pretty and homely. The staff are so welcoming and very friendly. They are also very attentive and service always comes with genuine smiles. We appreciated the very tasty and traditional greek food, made with love from beautiful, fresh and simple ingredients which were cooked to perfection. Try their specials menu. You wont be disappointed. We ate there several times and we always had a great evening. It was one of our top three favourites in Imerovigli. So reasonably priced too. The restaurant carries no pretensions of grandeur, just honest to goodness wholesome greek taverna food that is cooked perfectly, and served with a smile. On our last day we had a late lunch there. Before we left the chef/owner very kindly placed a beautiful plate of locally grown courgette for us to try, drizzled with balsamic and olive oil and served with Ouzo. It was so delicious. We truly wish this restaurant continued success. Thank you to Natalie and all the staff who work so hard and who made us feel so welcome! We felt sad to say goodbye. Thank you for your generous hospitality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire5264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Extremely good food and friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

My parents stayed in Santorini last year and found the gem of Bella Thira. We got married in Santorini this year and wanted a meal the night before so our guests could get to know each other before the big day. My parents had raved about the food at Bella Thira and thought it sounded perfect for our meal the night before. Good Greek food with a great atmosphere. They are only a small taverna so we were impressed that they agreed to cater for 30 people in June. We sorted our booking out over email. We when arrived in Santorini, at the request of Bella Thira we went to the restaurant to sort out the food for our guests. We were under the impression the guests could decide on the night but Bella Thira wanted the food preordered, which is understandable considering the size of the restaurant. This actually worked out beautifully as it would have been chaos for everyone to order separately. We were greeted by the owner of the restaurant and the chef and discussed what we would like to order. We ordered a range of traditional Greek mezas, most recommended by the chef and he even let us sample a few. We ate there that night the two of us and the food was brilliant and put our minds at ease that our guests would be satisfied. On the night of our group meal, the service was excellent and the food even better. At the advise of the chef we ordered just the right amount of food and everyone was truly full and happy. Even though they catered for not only our guests but also other couples the service was efficient and friendly. We were dreading the bill, as we did order a lot of food and alcohol and yet only came to 16 euros per person.....incredible! It is fair to say we gave a good tip! They offer a complimentary shot of ouzo and orange juice at the end of the meal as standard but kept topping ours up. A few of us stayed after the meal for a few drinks and we definitely didn't feel pressured to leave even though the restaurant was empty. We wanted to gave a few shots of lemonchello, and although the restaurant didn't have enough, the women offered to buy one from the shops and offer it to us the same price. I would definitely recommend this restaurant the everyone staying in Santorini and also for large parties for traditional, delicious Greek food without being ripped off. The only downside, it is little tricky to find. It is situated in Imerovigli, if you walk along the caldera (towards Oia) there is a shop called Christine and then a restaurant that makes the corner. Turn right off the Caldera towards a car park and it is located there. Don't hesitate to eat there....you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlecookiemonster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were walking around Imerovigli and came across this restaurant on our first night at Santorini . We decided to give it a try after being greeted by a friendly staff. The food and service was excellent, we went back for take out the day after during our stay at Santorini. Staff was very friendly and made it one a memorable experience during our stay at Santorini. :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank littlecookiemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pleasent atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

we stumpled upon this resturant whilst out walking.....beautifully decorated..so decided to dine there one evening.....food was excellent....staff ..well so full of fun and happy to assist with all your cullinary needs......would rate food ...staff... and resturant as 9 out of 10.......

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Thira also viewed

Imerovigli, Santorini
Imerovigli, Santorini
 
Imerovigli, Santorini
Imerovigli, Santorini
 
Imerovigli, Santorini
 

Been to Bella Thira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing