We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Santorini...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kapari Natural Resort
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We recently returned from our heavenly stay in Santorini, which was one of the most beautiful destinations I have ever visited. This experience was made perfect by staying at the Kapari.

I have so many things to say about this wonderful resort, but will keep it simple. Everything from our room (we were upgraded on arrival), to the views (all rooms have a beautiful sea view), to the amazing service (this was possibly the best service I have had in my entire life, a special thank you to the two ladies who looked after us in the restaurant - you were fantastic, and so much fun!) was just perfect. I have nothing bad to say and cannot stress enough, that if you visit Santorini, you HAVE to stay here, otherwise you will miss out on such a beautiful, enchanting place. We met a couple at the resort and they were really upset that they had booked somewhere else for the last two nights of their stay in Santorini (they had done this just in case the hotel wasn't what they wanted) - they desperately wanted to stay on at the Kapari.

A few things to note:

1) Remember to take your driving licence with you, we found the best way to get around the Island is by quad bike (lots of fun)

2) The restaurants are much cheaper when there is no sea view (and just as good). There are also a couple of restaurants (Estea was one of them) located around the corner from the Kapari that are really nice and cheap (they don't have a sea view but you get that all day long!). You have to try the grilled squid while you're in Santorini, it's to die for!!

3) walk to Fira from the hotel (it takes about 25 minutes along the cliff - the views are breathtaking),

4) We found the best beach to swim at was the Perivolos beach, which most guests and staff agreed with, the water is lovely and it's a lot quieter than the others, it takes about 15-20 minutes to get there by car or bike from Kapari. All of the beaches have great bars and traditional tavernas along the strip which is perfect.

5) Visit Oia - apparently it's coveted for the sunset views but gets really really crowded (it is generally anyway). We often just stayed at the Kapari, had a glass of chilled wine and watched from the restaurant - just as good!!

6) Cabs are a bit of a nightmare from Fira - be prepared to wait about 30 minutes to get one.

7) If you don't like it unbearably hot (30 degree heat in the days but cool in the evening) stay in September - we thought this was the perfect temparature.

Believe all of the good reviews for Kapari, they are 100% correct, and I will be back there one day if I can help it!!

Enjoy - I'm jealous!!

Room Tip: We had the room that was just up the stairs from the pool - as you come down from the restaurant, pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank karla_fryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 498 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

We booked this hotel after reading reviews, and were so glad we chose this one!!! There are so many lovely places in Santorini, but we didn't see anywhere else that we'd rather be. The view was spectacular, the service was outstanding, and the hotel was simply beautiful. The location was also great.

We arrived a couple of hours before check-in on our day of arrival, expecting to have to sit around for a bit while waiting for our room to be ready. Not so! We had a warm greeting at reception, and were swiftly taken to the most fabulous room I've ever stayed in (we were upgraded to one of the premium spa rooms after booking a standard vanilla room!), with a picture postcard view, and a large balcony with a comfy seating area covered in cushions to enjoy the view while seeking shade from the midday sun.

The huge hot tub in the bathroom was lovely, and having a shower in a cute little cave built into the bathroom was fun! The bed was bigger than a super king, and the pillows were so comfortable that I ended up checking the label so that I could buy the same ones when I got home.

The restaurant is European rather than Greek, so it's perfect if you're tiring of the standard local cuisine, and it also has an amazing view of the sunset. It was probably the best food we had while we were in Santorini, and also so reasonably priced. Breakfast was delicious, as was everything else we ate while we were there. The room service was also excellent.

The infinity pool is great, and although it's quite small, so are pretty much all of the other ones we saw in Santorini because all the ones with a view are on the cliffs. We found that there was always plenty of room around the pool for us. While we were relaxing by the pool we were we were treated to delicious fruit and were provided with refreshing, cool towels.

As well as checking in early, we were allowed to check out 3 hours late, which meant we had a very comfortable last day in Santorini.

We really felt like the every member of staff there genuinely wanted us to have the best possible time during our stay - they were so friendly and helpful. The other guests we met during our stay were equally as impressed. We have recommended the hotel to all of our friends and family, and we hope to return soon.

Thank you to everyone at Kapari for making our stay so special. We enjoyed every single minute!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We just returned from a magical stay at Karpari Hotel in Imerogilivi.
First Imerogilivi is the perfect place to stay in Santorini. We visited Thira, Oia and Kamari and without a doubt the charm of Imerogilivi was unbeatable. From the perfect sunsets, to the small town feel, to the lack of cruise shippers - we had a great time in the town. They have two local markets - for all the cheap beer, water and wine you deserve on a vacation!
We ate a Anouji as per the hotels recommendation - and it was the best meal we had during our entire vacation!

The hotel itself is amazing. The airport pickup in the new van was perfectly on time and waiting. The hotel is brand new - and beautiful. It has a feel that you are in a 'spa hotel'. The colours, and decorations are perfect.
The staff at this hotel were amazing! Everyone was extremely friendly - Alexandria in Reservations and one lady who's name escapes me at breakfast were very friendly and perfectly cordial!
Breakfast at the hotel was perfect - a great way to start the day. The food is definitely more high end - very good and fresh ingredients.
We stayed in the Spa Premium Room - which is without a doubt the perfect room. The room has a private jacuzzi and lounge chairs high up which looks down over the town and the caldera for the best views. It is extremely private and romantic - could not imagine a better room and location on the island!
The rooms have extremely high end ammenities including very nice and fluffly towels and the beds are extremely soft.
All in all - a wonderful hotel filled with an amazing staff. Definitely a 5 star hotel! This hotel should be #1 in Imerogilivi and in Santorini. You will see all the other hotels when you are there - and you will be pleasantly happy with your choice when you choose this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2canucks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This resort is one of the latest in the area, apparently with about 19 rooms. The design and decor looked very unique, simple and traditional, but inside the it room offers some of the most luxurious/high-tech and green in-room features.
There is a touch screen panel to control the lighting and aircondition, with an option to create your own custom setting lighting to set your mood.
The IP TV with the latest flatscreen LCD tvs and high quality broadcast and movie packages.
The caldera view from outside our room (201) as well as the bedroom window was magnificent. The ala carte breakfast was one of the best I've ever had in any hotel and the candle light dinner at their restaurant is highly recommended, a very fine dining experience with one of the best view in the world. Well worth it! They also have the utmost regard for privacy and customer satisfaction, during our stay there has been a few issue with power outage in our room as well as constant internet issues, they were helpful and accommodating. They're apologetic for the inconveniences and since it was a fairly new hotel I was quite understanding of their situation. Not having the internet fully working was probably the best thing that happened in our trip anyway. We had our most enjoyable, relaxing and peaceful holiday!

Overall, it was really one of the best hotel experience we've had in a long time, very personal and warm reception staff and the rest of the hotel staff was also very welcoming (special mention and thanks to Michael, Antonious and Tani). We also recommend that you book with them for the hotel airport transfers as we have a unique experience coming to the island whereby we had to share our taxi with strangers. It was apparently a common practice in the island especially from the airport.

We'll definitely have the feeling of wanting to come back to this hotel again and booking the same room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamKOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Our three night stay at the Kapari Natural Resort put a perfect final touch to our amazing European holiday and made my dream come true. The resort is situated just far away enough from Oia to avoid the crowds of tourists, but close enough for you to take a scenic walk to Fira. I absolutely loved the location of Kapari, as it provides you with the best view of the caldera and the most gorgeous, romantic sunset (everyday!).

Our room had a very convenient access to the resort's infinity pool and the most breathtaking view of the endless blue waters. The room was spacious and it even had a traditional Cycladic style fireplace.

On the first day of our arrival, the resort's manager told us that the location of Kapari offers a better view of the sunset than Oia (which is famous for is magical sunset), I looked at the hub with doubts but decided to watch our first Santorini sunset at the resort just to be polite. OH MY GOD. The sunset was MESMERISING. After an unanimous decision, we never ended up going to Oia for its sunset.

Kapari is seriously gorgeous. Highly recommended!!!

For more photos, please visit http://dolcebunnie.blogspot.com/2011/09/kapari-natural-resort-santorini-greece.html

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DolceBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days in August during our island hopping. The hotel is located in Imerovigli which I thought was the best locale for Santorini. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the area with the ability to walk (45min) to Fira (busy and a little smelly due to the donkeys) as well as a quick cab ride to Oia (don't walk, it's too far).

The hotel staff picked us up from the port and airport (one of our friends came in separately). They even greeted us with bottles of cold water. We were upgraded for the first night which was a great room and then we were transferred to our usual smaller room. Both rooms had a cold jacuzzi (great after a long hot walk in the Santorini sun). The pool was small and sometimes too warm but the poolside service was nice (they came running if we even tried to touch the umbrellas on our own and even brought out cold wet towels for our faces).

I think the hotel restaurant was delicious. They had great breakfasts and we had a late evening meal one night and it was definitely one of the better meals I had in Santorini. But I think the best thing about the restaurant was the staff was so friendly and accomodating. (Also, the cheese pie thing was SO DELICIOUS!).

My only gripe with the hotel is that the air conditioning frequently broke in our room. If the hotel had fans in the rooms, it would have helped the situation but 2 nights in a row I woke up sweating due to the broken A/C.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skimmilk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aphilgr1, Owner at Kapari Natural Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Just a note from the owner concerning our A/C system:

Kapari Natural Resort is equiped with an air conditioning system that can be described as state of the art. It is built around a geothermal heat pump that is extremely ECO friendly and conserves a lot of energy. In the rooms, interactive touch panels are used for controling the environment as well as the lighting system, while the fan coil units are enclosed in hand crafted cabinets to match the elegant style of the rooms.

Unfortunatelly, at the time of the reviewer's stay, we faced a malfunction that caused the system to perform poorly for around 48 hours, until a replacement part arrived from Athens.

We wish to express our appologies for the inconvenience caused to him or any other guest during this time. We will try our best to ensure that from now on similar circumstances are dealt in no time.

Kind regards,

Philip Adamidis
Owner of Kapari Natural Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Kapari is amazingly situated in Imerovigli where the view is spectacular and it is off the beaten path. This keeps it out of the hubbub of Fira or Oia, though at the cost of getting yourself to those locations.

Fira is a good 40 minute walk along a spectacular though rather sunny path. Oia, I would not recommend walking to, as it's the better part of 2 hours and sharing part of the route with the cars and crazy traffic.

The architecture and rooms are intriguing and lovely. The downside of the rooms is they tend to be a little damp and warm due to the indoor jacuzzis and lack of ventilation. Also, their AC system was tempramental during our visit and had minor issues.

The swimming pool is not very large, but few are it seems on Santorini. It's kept clean and tidy, and they come by and provide cold towels during the hot afternoon. It is a little cozy around the pool as guests must navigate past to get to some rooms.

The restaurant and included breakfast were great. The food was very good for being a hotel restaurant. The service was quite excellent as well. That along with the view made for a wonderful stay.

Overall I would say the Kapari is an great hotel, with some room for improved polish that would make it stellar.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahslian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#16 of 51 in Imerovigli
465 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 51 in Imerovigli
939 reviews
0 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 51 in Imerovigli
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#1 of 51 in Imerovigli
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 51 in Imerovigli
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapari Natural Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapari Natural Resort

Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#9 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: $304 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapari Natural Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal mix’n’match: The distinctive Cycladic tradition meets minimalism! Located in the gorgeous village of Imerovigli, boasting a majestic view of the caldera, KAPARI Natural Resort is an exclusive sanctuary that invites you to experience the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation of your life. A 300 year old, recently restored, complex of traditional dwellings and houses, typical of the islands unique architecture, welcomes you with state-of-the-art personal services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Kapari Natural Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapari Natural Hotel Imerovigli
Kapari Natural Resort Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing