We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn’t get the hype”
Review of La Maison

La Maison
Ranked #9 of 43 Restaurants in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

We reserved a table here really excited after reading other reviews and passing by a couple of times on our hikes exploring the island. We love travel and food and had high expectations!

Firstly to point out the good: the location, and style of the restaurant is gorgeous. Really classy and right up our street . . . We thought.

The bad: no cocktail menu they made them to order based on “what you like” what then came was basically a s**t mix that was foul that I drank anyway to be polite! Portions sizes really small, the food was pretentious and weird tasting. We nearly burst out laughing every time the waiter brought a course over from the description he did of each meal and the over eagerness to please. I nearly vommited the appetiser of fish eggs up it was so disgusting even the bread was weird!

No thanks! We had racked up a bill already of €120 on 2 cocktails, bread, 1 stater and 2 mains none of what we enjoyed. Couldn’t bring ourselves to order a dessert we was in there all of an hour and my husband had to get a gyros on the way home as he was still hungry!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

La Maison was by far the best meal we had in Santorini. The view is stunning and we managed to book to see the sunset. The staff are very helpful. We didn’t have the tasting menu however it looked great and would definitely go for that if I went back. All of the dishes were perfectly cooked and the desserts were delicious. The service is fairly relaxed but maintains a professional attitude. Would highly recommend for a romantic dinner.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank lepick92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018

La Maison is an absolute treat. The food is sophisticated and refined - close to Michelin star level. The view is amazing with an elegant vibe in the dining area.

Be aware though that the prices are high, but justifiably so.

Bottom line: La Maison and Fly Away Creative are the two essential restaurants for couples wanting an unforgettable romantic dinner in Santorini with the immaculate views and food quality to match.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kevd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner here! The food was superb and not one detail was missed- staff was excellent. My husband described what he wanted for a drink and the bartender came up with someone perfect for him. All the flavors were fantastic and made it a great dining experience with a gorgeous last sunset in Santorini

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank travelmouse365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018

And not a good night for us. We made a reservation for 8pm on a Friday evening, requesting a specific table which we were promised. Upon arrival, the table was given to another party. Disappointed, we were seated and then approached by at least 3 different waiters. Finally, our food arrived but my wife's was not what she ordered. With apologies and a very long wait, the correct dinner appeared but unfortunately, the cod was cold and raw inside. By this time, I was finished with my meal and asked for the check. A different server appeared with a dessert for each of us. We told him we did not order dessert but he insisted it was from the chef to make up for the mistake and raw fish. We only wanted to leave and get some decent food and again asked for the check. Now another server, we had never seen came to our table to tell us that we were not charged for any food. Sorry to say this did not really help... we just expected a decent dinner.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ChicagoHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison also viewed

 

Been to La Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing