We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avaton Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avaton Resort
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
lausanne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We booked the Honeymoon suite and were upgrade for two nights in the Avaton. Everything was excellent. Very quiet, amazing view, excellent cuisine but the best there is the people working in the hotel. Thanks a lot for making our stay unforgettable....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vsuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
178
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Rather than just review the Avaton, I thought I would provide a broader guide to Santorini, as this is what I would have liked before going there.

Where to stay in Santorini?
I guess that there are four main areas to stay on Santorini: Fira, Imerovigli, Oia or elsewhere. In my view I would not stay in Fira, despite its array of shops and restaurants. This is where the cruise ships dock and if you really want to share your holiday with thousands of cruise ship passengers, go for it. But not for me. Similarly, for me there is no elsewhere worth thinking about on Santorini. It's real feature is the caldera rim and the little white buildings hugging its top. So I would not stay anywhere else but either Imerovigli or Oia. Both have fantastic, but very different views. I prefer that from Imerovigli, but that is very much a personal view. The real difference between them is that Oia has lots of shops and restaurants, whereas Imerovigli has no touristy shops at all and only a few good restaurants. Oia is busier, noisier and more touristy. If you want lots of street life without the cruise ships, this is the place. If you want spectacular view, relaxation and real peace and quiet, I would go for Imerovigli. It also has at least one great restaurant in La Maison. Another thing to think about is that Santorini is all about walking. it is a three hour walk from Oia to Fira and there is only the one way to go. From Imerovigli it is around two hours to Oia or one hour to Fira, so you have the choice of two somewhat shorter walks.

Avaton or elsewhere?
There are lots of great places to stay in Imerovigli, the Avaton amongst them. Avaton has the advantages of being at the very end of the village with uninterrupted views and offers truly superb service. If staying elsewhere in the village I would want a resort on the downhill side of the main walkway and I would want to make sure that the views from my room were uninterrupted. The other thing to consider is where you will dine if eating at the hotel. The Avaton serves breakfast in your room, great view and lunch on its terrace, great view. If it is cold or windy outside they serve dinner in their cave restaurant/spa, no view.

How important is a caldera view?
To me, it is everything! I simply could not imagine being happy if I went to Santorini and stayed somewhere without a caldera view. It is the very essence of what makes Santorini so special. As above, the best views are from Imerovigili and Oia.

When to go?
I have never been to Santorini in summer, but just cannot imagine what it would be like with wall to wall people and cars everywhere. Conversely, the whole place shuts down in winter, say, November to March. That leaves the spring and autumn shoulder seasons. In April the hills are alive with flowers and it is glorious, but the water is cold if you want to swim. In The autumn months of September and October the water is much warmer. Either shoulder season would be far better than summer.

To hire a car?
While a small car can be very useful, Santorini is all about walking. If you just drive around you will see next to nothing. In fact, you will see the uglier, older, dirtier version of Santorini. By all means hire a car for a day or two, but don't think you either must have one or that, if you do, you can really see Santorini. Do go prepared to walk.

What to see and do?
My top 4 are
1. Walk, along the caldera rim from Fira to Oia. Not necessarily in one go, but you do need to do the whole of it one way or another.
2. Oia, to me the best shops and restaurants on Santorini
3. The Akrotirii ruins and associated museum, not necessarily that spectacular, but this all about how people lived here 3,800 years ago. Their art, ceramics, even the fascinating plaster cast of a small wooden table, show a level of sophistication way above those living in caves and sod huts elsewhere in the world at the time
4. Eat, drink, shop. Of course!

Santorini is a special place and I would unreservedly recommend that if you are going there, you stay in a special place. The Avaton is one such place.

Room Tip: Upstairs if you can, downstairs still great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I loved my stay! The hotel is extremely clean and the staff are very friendly. The food and views are awesome! This hotel is geared towards romance. So if you're looking to party you'll have to travel to the next town over which isn't very far. Overall, this hotel exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip41107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful location at the end of Imeriviglio, and has stunning views over the caldera. The hotel is also stunningly well designed, and rooms are large, spacious, and the beds are nice, big and comfortable. This is a boutique luxury hotel, so only has nine rooms.

The hotel manager, Laura, and her team are all really friendly, and really take god care of you during your stay and make sure you enjoy it.

In addition to being a beautiful hotel, in a great setting, with nice rooms, the one thing I also want to single out is the breakfast. You order what you will have for breakfast the evening before, and this is freshly prepared for you in the morning, and then either delivered to your room so you can have it as breakfast in bed, or at your own table outside overlooking the caldera.

This is also a great place to watch the sunset each evening.

The hotel features a spa in a cave, that is then converted into a restaurant at night. Do have dinner there at least once during your stay, it has a really nice ambiance to it.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation if you want a nice and quiet holiday in a great location and be really well looked after.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Avaton is perched at the very end of Imerovigli. This is really the end of all the developments and properties -- meaning that being here is a place of upscale elegance, quiet, and tranquility. The hotel is boutique, with 9 rooms, and so it feels more like having your own private property, with an excellent concierge and butler, who are keeping just the right balance between ready to help, and allowing you to have your enjoyment of the space, amenities, and the view -- which is clear and absolutely breathtaking.

When you go, be sure to fully indulge in the lovely fresh breakfast - served daily in your room, inside or on the balcony. Then, consider a ramble - to the left is a 30-60 minute walk through the town footpaths to busy Fira. Alternatively, to the right is a gorgeous, windswept hike alongside fields, and in the springtime, blooming wildflowers.

In sum - if you want quiet, views, elegance, and calm, this is a very special place. Bring a camera.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosesarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and Laura, the manager, and her team took exceptional care of us from our reservations to departure. The pool and its cave are just one of the awesome facilities there to make our stay more luxurious, special and memorable. Avaton has a great view and wide selection for breakfast which the friendly Alex delivers to our patio every morning. It is simply spectacular to wake up to the view every morning. Again we are grateful to Laura and her team for making our stay a very enjoyable one.

Room Tip: All rooms face the caldera. If you prefer one with more privacy, choose one which is located on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel has excelent views to the caldera, in my opinion better than well renowned Oia. Services are excellent and only nine rooms, with seven or ten staff taking care of the hotel. Service is outstanding and cuisine is very good combination of greek and international taste. Wine selection is limited but excellent in quality. Don't miss the local whites (assirtiko) and reds.

Spa is excellent, professional massage services. The spa becomes the restaurant in the night, with a unique atmosphere. Breakfast have very good quality ingredients and preparation, service in rooms efficient and quality of small details is a concern of the management.

Suitable for people looking for a quiet hotel, enjoy the views and the terrace and long evenings enjoying sunset. Do not expect easy access to beaches, nightlife nearby (need a car to go to Oia or Fira).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miquel-Luri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#13 of 46 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 46 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#12 of 46 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#18 of 46 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#20 of 46 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ilioperato Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avaton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avaton Resort

Property: Avaton Resort
Address: P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avaton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Avaton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avaton Hotel Imerovigli
Avaton Resort Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing