We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”
Review of Avaton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avaton Resort
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had the most wonderful honeymoon here. We were staying in the honeymoon suite (got lucky and were upgraded!) - which makes a lot of difference. The suite has a private little porch with its own jacuzzi, unlike the other deluxe rooms which have a little balcony that is right next to the next-door-room's balcony - so privacy would be lacking. They serve amazing breakfasts on your balcony every morning and everybody is extremely nice and helpful. It's a splurge but well worth it for a special occasion.

Room Tip: if your budget allows it, get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spela73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 264 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

After some serious consideration, I decided on Santorini as the destination for a weeks worth of relaxation. With regards to the Island itself, it is so pretty, that words cannot describe. In addition to this, the locals welcome all visitors with open arms.

Having chosen Santorini as a destination, I then looked at all the location options. Oia is the default first call and I was really disappointed to find everything was fully booked. However, no where in Santorini is that far, especially if you hire a little Smart car for part of your stay (highly recommended). Imerovigli is the perfect location to stay. The view is breath taking and the angle for the sunset is perfect. The "town" itself is so very pretty and immaculately kept. The local shops will service your essential needs, but do note that the nearest ATM is in Fira. Some lovely little restaurants close by as well.

So, having looked at the options in Imerovigli, my choice was whittled down to the Avaton and an inspired choice it was too! It is on the edge of the town and hence it sits at the top of the cliff path with no other hotels above or beneath it. It is a short walk from the bus stop and taxi drop off as well.

I wanted to stay somewhere that was luxurious, yet personal. I travel a lot with work and have been fortunate enough to stay at some of the very best hotels in the world. So, I would have been disappointed if they did not meet the high standards that I come to expect from a hotel of this price.

Laura (the Manager), arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport and greeted us at the steps to the hotel with a beaming smile that immediately makes one feel at ease. She signed us in and showed us to our room. We stayed in the Avaton Suite, which has its own sun terrace and Jacuzzi. It is beautiful! Very modern, with polished concrete finishing and enough Egyptian cotton to please any Pharaoh. We were presented with the most beautiful bouquet of flowers, a bottle of wine and a fruit platter. This is not exclusive to our suite, and as I understand it, all rooms are given such a welcome.

The room itself had a free mini-bar (replenished daily), an ample lounge area (with TV/DVD/IPod player) and a beautiful bedroom that splits into a most decadent of bathrooms (free standing bath with separate shower room and loo).

Breakfast is served to all rooms, every day, by the wonderful Marcus. Breakfast has everything you could possibly want, and a lot more. It is perfectly executed and the setting makes everything that that extra bit better.

Markus and the team were perfect. There for your every need, but not overbearing and in your face. He also have great banter and is always good for a chat about life, the universe and everything...

Housekeeping did a brilliant job and the rooms were constantly spotless and towels/linen changed daily.

I tried the spa one day, and that was very pretty and well run. That turns into a very romantic, and intimate, restaurant at night, where you will be perfectly looked after by your new friend Marcus.

From speaking to other guests in the hotel, it sounds like it really does not matter what room you are in (there are only 9 or 10), you are given the very same first class service and the rooms are equally awesome. The lower floor rooms are around the very pretty pool area and then there are some other rooms on the floor above, which have a "better" vies of the sunset.

If you want a big place, with tennis courts, a mall and where the staff do not know your name, this is not the place for you. This is a place for luxurious relaxation and the personal touch.

Kudos to Laura, Marcus and the crew for creating the perfect environment for their guests and for welcoming us into their island paradise.

Room Tip: They are all awesome, just depends on your budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PetePapanichola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

What we needed was a week of peace, hapiness, no stress and not too many questions...just feeling good there and feeling better when you return home. When you think just the same as us....choose Avaton Resort and send regards to the whole staff from Chiara and An!!! Thank you for everything! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiaravanEmrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Avaton Resort & Spa from June 28th-July5th 2011.We were not disappointed. It lived up to all our expectations as reviewed on-line. It was
absolutely wonderful! very relaxing,in a great location with a view to die for!! Laura and her team were first class and couldn't do enough to help. Although the Avaton is not cheap, for the standard of care, food, cleanlieness, and location, it was worth every penny. We stayed in a ground floor room which although small, was stylish, had everything you needed and was very comfortable. We visited Oia,Fira & Perissa and can
honestly say that the Avaton was in a prime location for the views including the gorgeous
sunsets every evening. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Avaton to anyone who is intending visiting the island, you won't be disappointed. Thank you Laura & team for helping make our holiday one which we will remember for a very long time.

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely but upper ones may have better view of caldera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JET1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We had our best holiday in Santorini at the Avaton Resort and Spa.The location is perfect,the view to die for,food very nice ,service excellent.We definitly reccomend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaolaandFrancesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Avaton is a fantastic place to stay.. Staff are extremely friendly and giving... a wonderful, clean, beautiful place to stay.. want to come back again... they make you feel to welcome and service is A+ qaulity .. you really made our honeymoon a wonderful time.. couldnt ask for anything better than the Avaton
thanks again Louise and Harvey Appleton (Australia)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Small boutique hotel with stylish interiors and perfect 5-star service. Great food in the hotel restaurant and AMAZING breakfast served on the terrace or directly in the room. Oia and Thira are within easy reach (Oia is about 10 minute taxi drive). The hotel has an amzazing view and we enjoyed the most beautiful sunsets almost every night. All in all a perfect vacation! We will definetely come back to Avaton!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.5 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#7 of 81 in Fira
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 51 in Imerovigli
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
0.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 51 in Imerovigli
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avaton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avaton Resort

Address: P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: $347 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avaton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avaton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avaton Hotel Imerovigli
Avaton Resort Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing