We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing week at Ampelonas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes
Certificate of Excellence
Frascati, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very relaxing week at Ampelonas”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We are a family with two girls and stayed at Ampelonas for one week. The accommodation is very nice and very good price for the overall quality offered. The room (maisonette) was confortable, quiet and clean with breath-taking view on the Caldera. Strategic location, 10 minutes by car to Thira or Oia. Plenty of car park and very close to the best restaurants in Imerovigli. Trustworthy staff. Only one small criticism: there should be more variety at breakfast: we ate the same thing for six days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TomP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    23
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
71
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ampelonas is a family run business in Imerovigli. Personnel is very kind and helpful. The swimming pool and the surrounding terraces offer an astonishing view of Santorini's caldera, as well as most of the rooms. The rooms are comfortable. A good continental breakfast is served on the terrace or in the room, at the customers choice. Imerovigli is mainly hotels, resorts and stairs, but is also very quiet and elegant. Rates are much much lower than the hotels nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank DMuratori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

First trip to beautiful Santorini and wanted to stay an extra night at our accommodation however they were fully booked so found this diamond just down the road. Perfect. One thing you should ask when looking for accomm. is how many stairs. This place is perfect - on street level, walk to a couple of great restaurants, corner store and you are up for it you can walk (25 mins) into Fira for shopping. Great view, wonderful pool (most are an overgrown hot tub!) Georgia at reception was fabulous. Nothing was a bother. Excellent value for money. This will certainly be our choice when we visit again.

Room Tip: We had room number 6 and were very happy with it apart from the bed being against the wall!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carriedaway039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We reserved a studio room with a double bed and a caldera view, and another studio room with a sofa bed for my parents and sister. The studio room they had worked out well b/c the bedroom was separate from the kitchenette and the living space where my sister slept, affording some privacy. Both rooms were wonderfully comfortable and inviting and seemed newer, with breakfast served right on our own balconies. Although close to parking and a mini market, Ampelonas is quiet and situated as the highest point in its part of Imerovigli, with nothing to block the views. The very best was Georgia and her staff who were extremely considerate, helpful and accommodating and gracious and made us feel very welcome. Georgia stayed up well past late check-in to accommodate our late and delayed flight in, she communicated well with us before we arrived, and helped us book a sunset cruise and restaurant reservations. Thank you Ampelonas!

Room Tip: The caldera view rooms are worth the extra bit of cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece & CA, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Rooms were large, very nicely appointed. We were 3 couples, our rooms were side by side on the ground floor, with a sea view (not caldera). We had the large garden/patio area outside our rooms all to ourselves, with multiple tables etc. We enjoyed our breakfasts here, with the lovely, serene sea view. (It was a bit too windy for the upper terrace or pool areas, with the more spectacular caldera views, for breakfast.) Georgia was extremely helpful & gracious, both before our arrival (providing info, booking car rentals for us, etc), & during our stay. Breakfasts were basic but good, & Georgia even accommodated a special request for our second breakfast. We have stayed in Santorini before & while were were not unhappy with previous accommodations, we would absolutely choose Ampelonas for future visits. As we were driving our rental cars from the port (so were not met by the hotel), we did have a little difficulty finding it at first . . . but this is not unusual in my experience, when there are no actual addresses!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms of course get the morning sun, caldera view the sunset. We were very happy with sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Steve-Wendy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorks england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here July 2012 for 2 nights. We arrived from the ferry, Chris the guy who works there answered my email in good time and he arranged transport from the harbour to the apartments which was very reasonable, and reliable considering the chaos after getting off the ferry in high season and the sheer number of people crowding around looking for transport.
When we arrived Chris had a caldera view room free and he gave us that one although I hadn't paid for this type of room. I must say he is one of the nicest Greeks I've met, a real gentleman, he was so kind and helpful, he makes the breakfast and serves it at the room ,when you are ready. There was coffee, juice, toastie, yogurt and honey, cake and fruit, more than enough.
The room was on the ground floor, one room with a small kitchen area, a table and chairs and a double bed which was really comfortable. Also the shower was good. On the whole the room was really nicely presented, my only fault would be that there was no kettle to make my own coffee, there was a small fridge too .
The small pool at the apartments was a bonus, so many in this area don't have them.
Gotta great nights sleep because the rooms are not on road,they are on a path that leads to fantastic views, and more or less on the end of imerovigli at the highest spot.
Our room was so cute, we had our own little gate to get in onto our patio seating area outside the apartment.
The nights were spent drinking ouzo watching the sunsets from outside our room which were absolutely amazing we had the full Santorini sunset experience with the full caldera view truly unforgettable.
There are eating places within walking distance and a small shop to buy beer ect, we went slightly inland to eat because we didn't need to go to a overpriced caldera view restaurant because we had the view at the room.
Overall a great stay, friendly people and fantastic sunsets. They are not directly on the edge of the cliff but as near as possible with only hotel in front which is lower down and does not impair the view, but it is probably twice as expensive.
At the end of the 2 night stay my only regret was not staying for longer ...
Regards Chris , we are the couple that had the air tickets dropped off to fly to Crete because the ferries were full.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaffaswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed at Ampolonas with three of my friends. We were welcomed by a beautiful Greek woman named Georgia who made us feel right at home! The view from our two story appartment was amazing! We had a 360 degree view from our roof top balcony. The breakfast was served at a time suited to us and it was delicious with a variety of goods!! Santorini is a beautiful place and I would definitely recommend staying at Ampolonas.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Gpratten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katerina's Castle
Hotel Katerina's Castle
#48 of 51 in Imerovigli
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#37 of 51 in Imerovigli
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 51 in Imerovigli
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#19 of 51 in Imerovigli
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prekas Apartments
Prekas Apartments
#33 of 51 in Imerovigli
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes

Property: Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ampelonas is a studios and maisonettes complex located on the top of hill, in the picturesque Imerovigli, in Santorini. It offers self-catering accommodation with views of the Volcano, the Sunset and the Aegian sea. Guests enjoy a beautifully-shaped pool with a big sun terrace with amazing view to the Volcano and the Aegean sea. The breakfast served at the sun terrace around the pool. Close free parking. Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ampelonas Studios And Maisonettes
Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes Hotel Imerovigli
Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing