We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant”
Review of Madame Hortense

Madame Hortense
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Agia Galini
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Madame Hortense is under new management and we was worried that it would have changed as we loved going there over the years. We was not disappointed at all. George, who is born and bred Galini, has returned to work there and we had 2 extremely nice meals. Vicky works front of house and is really friendly and helpful. Apart from the food, the wine was great too. Greek wine is getting better all the time.

This restaurant is situated up some steps, above 2 other bars, Zorbas and C'Est La Vie which are also really nice. All three places enjoy fab views of the harbour.

If you visit Galini, you must go to Madam Hortense.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadytravelsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have eaten three nights on the trot here, the food is superb, I particularly like the chilli con carne but there is a good variety and the service is warm and friendly in a traditional Cretan style. Well worth a visit in my opinion. I would ignore some of the previous negative comments.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Really wanted to like this restaurant, as the view is lovely.
Meal took 45 minutes to finally arrive, being it was just the 2 of us and only 2 others, this was just a joke.
Only ordered a simple steak each with salad.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzielovebourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky68Greece, Manager at Madame Hortense, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal with us. I always feel that people who are dissatisfied should make a complaint at the time, where things could be rectified in a more professional way. Both my husband and I have been in the business for many years and would much prefer to hear your comments, whether good or bad, face to face. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very welcoming place to eat”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have been visiting Galini for many years and know the Madame Hortense restaurant very well it is in a superb location with some of the best views of the harbour in Galini. It has been taken over by George, Vicky and Eleni this year and we knew they would make a success of it and we were not dissapointed the welcome was as usual very warm and the food well cooked and traditional as it has been wherever George has worked over the years we have been going to Galini. Very suprised to see some of the negative reviews but it certainly has not been our experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best restaurant in the village!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

excellent food, amazing view, lovely people, great greek chef-the epitomy of cretan hospitality! do visit this restaurant!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marjoleinnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Hortense also viewed

Agia Galini, Rethymnon Prefecture
Agia Galini, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Agia Galini, Rethymnon Prefecture
Agia Galini, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Agia Galini, Rethymnon Prefecture
Agia Galini, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Madame Hortense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing