We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the sunlight has changed name”
Review of Sunlight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunlight Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Agia Galini B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 26, 2006

hi all you fans of the sunlight,
we spent 2 weeks in june and had a great time, the same great views and friendly staff, the hotel is now run by a german firm and is called the Heimliche Liebe Hotel, and you have to book by email. We were collected at Heraklion at 1.30 am ! and because this is their first season we almost had the place to ourselves, only 3 rooms occupied in the first week, and our room was beside the pool, it felt like a private villa.
The restaurant menu is mainly german and may not suit everyone, but they put on a barbie for us which was nice.
The location is still a problem, E 1.20 for the bus to aghios and elounda, E 6-7 for a taxi, and the staff will give you a lift if not busy
One problem was they do not have credit card facility, and paying in advance by bank transfers costs £14, so that leaves cash and travellers cheques,
It was good value still, £175 for 7 nights b + b for 2 people, we worked it out, with flights, as the same as b + b at home, £23 each per night. ignore post name. we will go !

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dont-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 45 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2006

I had the most wedding imaginable at the Sunlight that any woman could ever dream of. I arranged with Minoli and Elaine to have the hotel for a week so my guests could all be together and enjoy a fun filled week. Everyone arrived on 10th May. That evening I arranged food to be delivered at the hotel for everyone and then we went into Ag Nik to party. Wednesday was the hen night (togas compulsary) which went very well. Thursday the stag night(chippendales well sort of) and Friday party night and buffet at the hotel. Saturday the big day went absolutely swimmingly what a position for the wedding with a back view to die for and then on to the Avra for our reception which was out of this world. Then before we all got onto a coach to Elounda for a night of fun in Symbol we went on the happy train, imagine 50+ guests all aboard singing and dancing around the town with bride and groom at centre stage, something I will never forget. Sunday we had a barbaque at the hotel. Monday a meal (great food) at the Galley where George put on the Kareoke. Tuesday leaving day for most of the guests. Minoli and Elaine went out of their way to make us more than welcome I dont think they had experienced anything like that week but nevertheless they did more than enough to make everyone have a great time I couldnt have wished for any thing else, they are a lovely couple and have a wonderful family George their son was exceptional and went out of his way to do anything we asked. Last but not least and very important is Jane who works in the bar, a great friend who puts herself out for all. If anyone wants a wedding with a difference and one that they and all their guest will never forget and most of our guests stated that they had never been to a wedding like it then book in at the Sunlight and let Minoli and Elaine be your hosts for the most enjoyable experience you will ever have.x

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
California
19
Reviewed November 18, 2005

When I was a kid I spent with my family 12 summers on Greek islands. This year I took my wife and kids to the country of my wonderful memories and dreams. We spent 10 days this August at the Sunlight Hotel [--------------] at the island of Crete and this turned out to be one of the greatest vacation decisions I have ever made.

The hotel, or some people might call it a large B&B, is family run (father-Manoilis, mother-Elena and son-Jorgos/George) with some support staff. Booking the room via email with George (Jorgos) was fast, easy, and seamless. The price was very reasonable and competitive. The staff works round-the-clock and we always had that felling of a personal and human touch that is often missing in big hotels. Moreover, we always felt that our two small kids (1and 6) were very safe as being at the friends’ house. The hotel and all its amenities are, let me put it in two simple words: nice and clean. There is nothing fancy or luxurious in the hotel that some spoiled tourists might expect, but everything was tasteful and just about right. In sum, the best way to see and feel the countries like Greece and places such as Crete is to stay at the hotels like Sunlight.

Let me be more specific now.

1. The hotel is nested on the top of the hill with a breath-taking view of the entire Aghios Nikolaos bay. It should be noted that every single room has a view. Having the morning coffee or afternoon supper on the balcony is one of the kind experience.

2. The hotel is situated between Aghios Nikolaos and Elounda (2.5 miles away from each), right on the main road, which gives you a better choice of what beach/shopping/restaurant/night club to go to. There is a bus stop outside the hotel.

3. Rooms of a decent size are very light, modestly designed and each with a large balcony. They all have A/C and an optional small fridge. Bathrooms have a bath tub and a small window so you get to enjoy the Aghios Nikolaos while taking shower. They are cleaned every day and sheets are changed twice a week.

4. There is a very nice warm-feeling bar on the top floor of the hotel with satellite TV and DVD player. The bar has a great balcony with small tables and some of best views from the hotel.

5. Pool is about 20x10 yards, with palm trees and it is cleaned daily. What is nice about the pool is that is located on the side of the hotel and cannot be seen from any of the hotel room. This gives you a peace of privacy. In addition, the pool is rarely crowded. The architect of the hotel did a great job by positioning the pool to also have a great open view of the Aghios Nikolaos Bay. There is also a bar at the pool.

6. A small grocery store is only a half a mile away and a good restaurant is 30 yards away in the nearby apartment village.

7. The only missing peace, at least for me, a guest computer with the internet connection. Jorge/George promised that he will have it for the next season.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable time and highly recommend this hotel. We are definitely going back to the Sunlight Hotel next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2004

excellent hotel.quiet,clean,friendly,,spectacular views.As for reading that 'the woman on the snack bar was abrupt', that is slanderous.Jayne is one of the most friendly,entertaining and genuine people my husband and i have met.and we shall continue to come here to see Jayne, and George when he returns from his stint in the army in Athens.And the owners, Eleni and the Boss Man.
We'll see you all next July,luvvies xxxxx
love Tracey and Justin

9  Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Milton Keynes, Bucks
11
Reviewed June 13, 2004

The hotel does have a great views of the sea. The accommodation is average. We found the staff unfriendly could be us not knowing greek not sure on that one. The hotel is in the middle on Elounda and Agios Nikolaos, the best beach is Elounda the hotel does have a swimming pool. Transport is needed there is a bus stop outside the hotel.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
24
Reviewed October 31, 2003

We spent a weeek at this hotel mid Sept 2003, the views were stunning because it is perched on top of a big hill halfway between Ag Nik and Elounda, buses stop directly outside the hotel, but a car hire is recommended because of it's isolation. If you enjoy going for a evening meal and a stroll, Ag Nik and Elounda are perfect, but you then need transport to get you back to the hotel. I found the rooms very small and basic but clean. The pool area is very good, but found the woman at the snack bar very abrupt, also if you are on a B&B basis, the breakfast is not worth getting up for, they need to improve this, or just do a Room Only Basis. In the evening the bar was run by the owners son, who I found to be very friendly and informative. Overall I would definatly go back to this area, but not at this hotel.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2003

Just returned from a fabulous 2 week stay at The Sunlight Hotel! What a great Hotel, fantastic views & a prime position between Ag Nik & Elounda. The Staff were very helpful & friendly & its such a great place to have has a base whilst staying in Crete.

13  Thank leethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Galini
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Greco
Palazzo Greco
#3 of 25 in Agia Galini
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartments
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartmen...
#16 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Irini Mare Hotel
Irini Mare Hotel
#2 of 25 in Agia Galini
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Argiro Apartments
Argiro Apartments
#10 of 13 in Agia Galini
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lenikos Resort
Lenikos Resort
#1 of 25 in Agia Galini
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stelios Hotel
Stelios Hotel
#5 of 15 in Agia Galini
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Hotel

Address: Agia Galini, Crete 740 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Agia Galini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Agia Galini
Price Range: $25 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunlight Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunlight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlight Hotel Agia Galini, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing