We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice typical greek cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taverna Onar

Taverna Onar
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Agia Galini
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice typical greek cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice food and friendly personnel. Not a typical cretan restaurant but generally traditional greek cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nkaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    170
    45
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

For us the best food in Agia Gallini town. Definitely take the tuna with tomato and garlic or in metaxa sauce.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Els F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go for rabbit stifado (clearly best dish)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Okay, I apologise but I think I missed this amazing restaurant that ranked 2nd for restaurants in Agia Galini on Trip Advisor because what we had instead was a good, solid meal, but where were the fireworks??

The view was great. Gorgeous over the habour. A very pleasant beginning to the evening's dinner.

We were then followed up with olive tapenade and a basket of bread and when that ran out (pretty much instantly it was really rather tasty), they gave us a different dip to try and then replaced it again when we finished it (all free of charge!).

We ordered though the chefs salad to start. I would not recommend it. It was just a mix of ham, tomatoes, cucumber, olives and lettuce in a creamy, fast-food like dressing - where's the seasonal amazing Cretan/Greek produce?? I could get this anywhere!

Our main courses were much better and with a bottle of house white, we had 2 dorades (the specials, 1 grilled, 1 oven-baked), the mix greek cuisine plate and the rabbit stifado. I would recommend getting your fish grilled as it retained a greater level of flavour. All the dishes were served with a gorgeous assortment of vegetables (predominantly potatoes though). The rabbit stifado was absolutely excellent, very tender, and a good hearty portion. The Greek mix was called a "surprise" by our waiter and comprised of a stuffed tomato, meatball, stuffed aubergine, big slice of moussaka and a sort-of chickpea puree or of the sort. A good mix but nothing particularly outstanding.

When we asked for the bill, adults were given a shot of raki each and a big plate of watermelon was served. For all this plus a couple of bottles of water: 53 euros. Not bad value but to be honest, I would recommend taverna stohos down by the main beach for better value and better food. It was good, the service was certainly decent, but stohos says "wow" and here I just say "yeah .. that was good .. " The rabbit was definitely the best dish of the night. If you're going for anything, go for that! Was super delicious :') (And avoid the chefs salad, unless cream is your thing ..)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rinny96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gigante (White) Beans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great view.
Great service.
Great food.
Romantic.
The staff is professional in addition to being friendly and accommadating.
Check out the white beans dish.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, excellent views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are in Agia Galini then visit this restaurant. It has brilliant views over the harbour and towards Pitsidia and Matala as it is located a part way up the hill.

This restaurant also has the advantage that they take credit cards - most in Crete work on cash only.

Next time in that part of Crete we will come here again.

Try their goat in tomato sauce, it is excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 558JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Onar also viewed

Agia Galini, Rethymnon Prefecture
Agia Galini, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Agia Galini, Rethymnon Prefecture
Agia Galini, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Agia Galini, Rethymnon Prefecture
Agia Galini, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Onar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing