We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Sunday Life

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunday Life
Ranked #1 of 6 Agia Pelagia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We arrived very late around 12 PM. The owner welcomed us very well. Room was big and clean.
Breakfast was really great. It was really delicious. Agia Pelagia is also a nice place but not yet alive in the beginning of April but the see is beautiful and you can find some really nice beaches I can recommend it!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    28
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
36
87
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews and decided to go. The name has nothing to do with religion, just the timing of the renovation and the feeling of relaxing on a peaceful Sunday afternoon that they hope to inculcate into their guests. The setting and appearance were everything we had hoped for. The family run place on the hill above a gorgeous bay seems to have a lot of things that they do very well. The rooms and the restaurant area on the main floor are exceptionally clean, so that we trusted eating a lettuce based salad for the first time on the trip. Our room (#108) had sparkling clean tile floors throughout and beautiful artistic or antique touches in every corner and on every wall. According to what they said, the linens, bed and pillows were all hypoallergenic, and I must say they felt and smelled wonderful. The room had a sitting and TV room with a fridge and a modern TV (without BBC or another English channel best we could tell), a reasonable size bathroom, a large bedroom with a canopy bed, which seems to be a signature item in Crete for reasons that are unclear, and a large balcony. The true double bed (no sleeping on the crack -- hooray) was the most comfortable of the trip. The view of the sea changed the price from around 26 Euros without a view to 30 Euros on Booking.com, a spectacular November bargain, and that view was fabulous overlooking the small town below. They are one of only a few lodging and eating places open along that stretch of the north coast west of Heraklion this time of year and stay open 365 days per year. The prices in their restaurant were as good or better than any place we have eaten on Crete and the food certainly looked as good as they promised being all either organic ("bio"), or locally grown by people they hand pick, or from suppliers whom they feel have the best products. Eating here is a fabulous treat both emotionally and from an epicurean or economic standpoint, so plan on it and come hungry. When we arrived, for instance, they offered us a complimentary drink of a local wine, which was a heady, delicate white. The breakfast was rumored by one of the sons, both of whom were extremely helpful and friendly, to be large and delicious featuring Mama's homemade preserves. A few odd shortcomings that we noticed in our one night stay did almost nothing to dampen our enthusiasm for this attractive place with its marvelous family spirit. The practically vertical climb up the driveway is absolutely a challenge in a small underpowered car, or a large car that has to go slowly while managing the tight, steep curves. There are stairs almost everywhere since the place is perched on a hill. There were only 2 pillows on the bed, and the promised 3rd pillow never showed up, but they all work so hard that forgetting something like that is totally understandable. There is no dedicated luggage rack. The bathroom has a small corner shower with a small lip on the floor but a curtain that does not come down to the lip so that the floor inevitably gets wet and requires a couple towels dedicated to that problem, so that you do not get wet feet while using the sink or the toilet. Our drain in the bathroom floor that drained mostly the sink, but also the shower, was sluggish and backed up onto the floor with even minimal use of either the sink or shower, contributing a fair amount of water to the wet floor problem, none of which had any smell like a backed up sewer thankfully. One of the towel hanger devices, which were in good supply and in good places in this bathroom unlike many others that had no place to hang towels, was loose and kept falling off the wall. A few seconds with a Phillips screw driver would have fixed it, but I did not have one so left it for them to do the next day. The AC, which we did not try, was in the sitting room instead of the bedroom. Instead of turning on the AC, which in some hotels gets turned off once the supposed "heating" season starts, even though it felt a bit stuffy after a while, we waited to open the door to the balcony once the lights went off. There was an odd type of individual sheet toilet paper dispenser instead of a roll, which wouldn't be a problem if the dispenser worked well, which it didn't. The soaps in the bathroom were also hypoallergenic, with one foam soap dispenser for the sink, and a gel combined soap and shampoo dispenser for the shower, which was positioned so that it interfered with trying to keep the curtain oriented to minimize floor water. Both products smelled and felt gentle and delightful. The sons were almost too eager and exuberant if such a thing can really be said to be a fault, bringing us small samples of yoghurt and Mama's preserves for desert when we demurred because we were too full, and a small shot of the local after dinner, very strong liquor, when we politely declined saying we did not drink hard liquor. You need to be a sturdy hiker to stay here without a car, although it would be possible. With a car it's a very special, very heart-warming treat.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveW43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved the Sunday Life Hotel, especially the very professional, yet friendly approach of the owner, Stelios - he made us fell very welcomed. The rooms are perfectly clean and modern, with nice view. And the food!! It really was delicious and healthy at the same time. We would recommend this hotel to everyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veuunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The welcome starts the moment you arrive and continues all week. This family run hotel is a gem perched on a hillside overlooking the bay. The rooms are basic but spacious and clean. Everything works and a maid comes in every day. Stelios is a star in more ways than one, exuding constant enthusiasm for the family firm and turning out some really excellent meals at very reasonable prices. The breakfasts are superb and they don't count the coffees, all brought to you either in the dining room or on the terrace.
All the staff have the same ethos caring more about your well-being than trying to add extras to the bill. We have spent far more elsewhere and not had accommodation, food and attention that came anywhere close to Sunday Life. If there is a downside to this hotel , I would say you probably need a car as it is not in the centre of the resort and can be a little difficult to find.. That said , you really need a car to explore Crete anyway.
Thank you for a great week
Paul and Jackie Foster

Room Tip: They are all good but a full on sea view is worth a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our friends recommended us to stay at Sunday Life and from our welcome to our farewell we couldn't have been happier.
Anytime we come back to Crete Sunday Life will be our first port of call for great views, food and people!

Stelios you are a Legend!

Thank you Sunday life from Sean and Annika

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaag, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Don't be skeptic because you don't see any stars at this hotel. It has been the best vacation in my life, thanks to the hospitality, kindness, luxury, and the feeling you are staying with a loving family. Stelios, his brother and mother make sure you feel right at home even if you are thousands of km away. His motto "Only if you want to" applies to everything, ensuring every day is a true Sunday.

The rooms are clean, AC, nice furniture and perfect bed. They all have a beautiful view over the port of Agia Pelagia and make sure to watch the sunrise if you manage to get up that early! The rooms are cleaned thoroughly every day.

No fixes times for breakfast (only when you want to!). Talking about the breakfast, you get a full Cretan (healthy!!) breakfast with so much you won't start your day hungry.

During the day you can visit one of many beautiful places of Crete, either by walking, the bus or using a rental car (free parking with a lot of space). Stelios and his family can tell you precisely where to go and what places you must see, they can even make a planning for your vacation to make sure you get enough rest!

There are 3 beaches within walking range of Sunday Life. The furthest is about 20 minutes and the other two in about 5 minutes. They offer sunbeds for 3 euro a day and parasols are free to use. There are a lot of small taverns at the beach, however don't expect the quality you get at Sunday Life (more about this later). The water is really nice, be sure to buy a diving mask as you can see tropical fish within 3m from the sand. For an extra dimension make sure to bring some bread while swimming to feed the fish and i promise you will never see so many fish in one time. Mini markets are next to the beach to get water (0,50c) but don't buy cosmetic products there like shampoo because it is quite expensive.

Back at the hotel you can use the swimming pool to rest some more and get rid of the salt water.

The dinner is a separate story. The restaurant offers a gastronomical menu that will baffle you every day, the quality is unbelievable, it's hard to find something on the menu that isn't fantastic. They offer a wide variate of plates, ranging from local specialties to risotto, pasta, fresh seafood and more. Several days in the week there is a specialty written on a board outside that shows you what is made apart from the menu that evening. All are local specialties like Lam, chicken, fish or moussaka, made in a way the families of Crete prepare them for special occasions, in one word "Fantastic". The prices are low for west-european standards, for 5 euro's for a starter and 10 euro for a main course. Price does not equal quality here!!!

Dinner is available from 19:00 till whenever you want. They make everything with local biological ingredients, to ensure you get healthy food.

After the dinner you get an degestif, usually the local Raki drink together with some sweets. You are invited to stay for a drink and usually the family tells you nice stories about the island.

After reading back my review it seems like i'm working for them, i promise i am not! I am so enthusiastic about my vacation i would like to tell everybody about this place. Thanks from me and Sandra for the wonderful time at Sunday life, where every day is a Sunday!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mdelandgraaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fantastic holidays on Sunday Life in Agia Pelagia. We stayed in August 2013 for few days. Great relaxing time. There is very good service, rooms specious with enormous windows with bay and sea view:) Some of them with private balcony. Modern design of bathrooms. There is free access to the gym and swimming pool. Hotel exists 20 years already but two year ago has been refurbished completely by young architect Stelios :) Family who runs and owns the place is very nice. I don´t remember where somebody else treated me the same way as in Sunday Life!:) We had impression they are our old friends:) Everything what we needed has been very quick organized also.

There is terrace and restaurant also on the second floor where you can get enormous breakfast for 7 euro, sit and relax during the day and eat dinner in the evening. Prices for the dinner are approx. the same as in restaurants nearby the beach. Beach is 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

There is possibility to book car the car from Agia Pelagia. Please remember about that one day before, because during summer time all car rentals are very busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agia Pelagia hotels
0.4 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
0.1 mi away
Irida Apartments
Irida Apartments
#8 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pela Mare Hotel
Pela Mare Hotel
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#9 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday Life

Property: Sunday Life
Address: Eleftherios Venizelos Str., Agia Pelagia, Crete 715 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunday Life 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the endless blue of Agia Pelagia Bay, Heraklion, Crete, the Sunday Life hotel is found on a hillside, spreads over five levels with steps connecting them from every side. At the very top level, the little church of Saint Ioannis the Xenos gases the Cretan Sea. Only a ten minute walk separates the Hotel from the lively and cosmopolitan village of Agia Pelagia and the main beach of the area. The colorfully decorated Hotel is a well-curved jewel waiting to be explored by couples and families alike. Its indoor and outdoor areas of the restaurant, the pool bar as well as the fully equipped gym complement it and offer guests endless hours of enjoyment, relaxation and the opportunity to escape from their daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sunday Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunday Life Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing