We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 stars! Not going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not 4 stars! Not going back!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Spent 2 weeks at the Blue Bay Resort at end of July 2013 - wont be going back!

Please do lots of research on this hotel before you decide to go there on holiday.

Positives:
- Lovely setting - wonderful views of the Med and the hills - great sunrises and sunsets.
- Some staff lovely - thank you to Michaela and to Stella - your welcoming smiles were a pleasure
- Complaints such as problems with basin, additional pillow request attended to promptly
- Annex pool is mostly quiet and pleasant. Pity some nationalities are not very congenial when it comes to noise and diving in the pool

Negatives:
- VERY uncomfortable beds - narrow, short and hard - didnt have one decent night's sleep - had a big impact on the holiday.
- Wifi rarely works properly and very slow when it does - problem for me as I intended to work while away - proved to be a nightmare
- Shower stalls made for midgets
- Air con - very noisy - almost to the point of having to switch it off at night
- Food - mostly bad - although the salads and the fruit were always fresh and appetising. Often canteen type food and usually luke warm or cold - although the room became unbearably hot. There was always plenty of food.
- MIdday snacks - pizza stone cold
- One or two staff appeared to dislike their jobs and were vocal about it.
- in the Annex where our room was situated - there was a lot of noise from the staff accommodation which is close by
- drinks part of all inclusive package were very poor - soda stream type soft drinks. Beer was OK, wine was not great.

Other comments - either negative or positive - depending on point of view!
- Lots of stairs and hills - not suitable for someone with disabilities
- Closest village is a good half hours walk away and it is quite a tough walk - there is a bus however. There is very little to do around the hotel - restaurants, night life etc.
- Very few English speaking people at the hotel - differences in cultures are not always pleasant! Also - doesnt feel very Greek
- Hotel is large and spread out into 4 buildings - we were in Annex which I think was best for us - less people about.
- Bungalows - no idea why they are called bungalows - they are rooms in smaller blocks away from the main hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NetB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    271
    172
    72
    47
See reviews for
284
369
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good points: The rooms are basic but clean, there is air conditioning, we had our own private pool, there's free drinks, and buffet, the staff are very nice.

The not so good points: The hotel in itself is fine, a bit remote so be warned you will need to rent a scooter/car unless you don't mind 'cardiac hill' and other such mental hill climbs. We rented a quad for 4 days. Didn't mind walking too much.

The free drinks are very limited, the beer was crap and smelt of rotten eggs, and the soft drinks were really cheap post-mix imitation, and anything else you had to pay for including WATER at €1,60 a LITRE. Surely as a human necessity and since we paid over a grand, water should be free, no?
The free buffet.... ah yes, the place where OFFAL is served. They get in all the cheap off cuts of meat and turn them into god knows what, including liver that was so tough and full of grisle and veins. There are some nice parts of the buffet don't get me wrong, but avoid the meat!!

Entertainment: Ha well, 90% of holiday makers at this resort are Russian, so too are the guys who do the evening entertainment. It kind of reminded me of my GCSE Performing Arts practical exam where we had to write and perform our own musical. The set was interesting to say the least. Anyway, their kids were entertained, while parents sat around drinking crap beer. We avoided it after the first night. CRINGE!

The telephone in our room wasn't working despite speaking to reception 3 times. It was never fixed. Ermmm there's no mirrors in the Spa, so if you're having a wash after a stint in the gym or after being in the sauna, you won't be able to see or do your hair.

If you can make your way out of this resort I would totally recommend doing so. There's a few lovely beaches around, that you can access easily (again by renting transport of some kind) and lots of lovely restaurants. Snorkelling is well worth a go, and in Agia Pelagia beach you can rent boats, pedalos, plus rides on donuts etc. It's very relaxed and also no Brit tourists. Most beaches you will find Greek families. Russians mostly stay on the resort. And they speak good English too if you don't speak Greek.

Room Tip: Side view bungalows have own pool, and away from all the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moooooo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agia Pelagia hotels

Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

where do i start, when my wife and i arrived we were put in someone elses room with all there stuff and stincking of smoke, the porter then decided to remove some of there stuff, comical. anyway on going down for breakfast unless you wanted chips or you were a russian then choice very very poor, as they only catered for the russians as they were the majority. just weighed myself and have not put a single pound on in weight, say no more. we knew about the drinks choice but again unless you like beer, poor white wine and red wine or ouzo and raki, you had to pay, we asked why red wine was cold and it was because most people like it like that, fresh orange juice in the morning would cost you 1.90, they had a greek bbq on fridays which was 15.00 pound each, indoor pool and saunas etc you had to pay for too, we had a twin room , beds so uncomfortable. food was not very hot either, we ended up going out for meals and ended up spending a fortune, pool entertainment very poor, night entertainment very poor, so all said and done this is by no means all inclusive, beaches very stony and slippy when entering water, i could go on all day!!! if you would like to know more then please don't hesitate to contact me via email which is markwainwright69-9@hotmail.co.uk. this is a 100% honest reveiw.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank markwainwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I booked this holiday for myself, partner, and 6 year old son - mainly swayed by the price! The hotel itself was great! Our room was really spacious and clean - maid service 6 days out of our 7 day stay. There was always something to please all of us from the buffet style dinners, and my son loved the pool bar snacks - endless ice creams, pizza and cake! The only let down was the location. There were no shops or bars to walk to. There were two small beaches / coves down very steep sloping roads, which had a couple of shops. But other than that, nothing! So night times did tend to drag a little with a 6 year old in tow (the hotel entertainment was rubbish!) The hotel staff were all lovely and very helpful.

So, all in all, a lovely relaxing break, but if you not for you if you prefer a change of scenery one night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aliratbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the blue bay for 14 nights in august 2012 the hotel its self was very clean and staff couldn't do enough for you if you want to go to the beach you have to be fit as the very steep hill you have to climb back up is very steep the food was ok nothing special the snacks at the pool bar are the same everyday cheese and ham sandwich or steal pizza but the cakes were nice the animation team were rubbish my 5 year old tried to join in a couple of times andthey didnt want to no him I tjothought they were rude we all had a massages they was the highlight brill was so relaxed the all inclusive drinks was rubbish just local beer and local wine and soft drinks not good for what you pay for this hotel if you are looking at this hotel make sure u are fit as there is 100 steps to the dining room not for the faint hearted

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacey12384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

we visited this hotel with a bit of worry as some reviews were bad. the transfer time was very short, well it seemed like it, 45 mins was spot on. On arrival the receptionist, Nadia, was very welcoming and professional. The 1st night was spoilt by the toilet leaking every time you flushed, this took nearly 24hrs to fix not very good, which was reported to reception straight away. Although they did send a bottle of wine and a fruit basket to the room as a sweetener. The room was nice and clean although the aircon remote was in reception and not in room .We were not in the main hotel but in room 416 which is a short walk down a lot of steps so no good if you cant use stairs and in a separate annex. The food in the resteraunt was average for an AI. At lunch do not sit on balcony as you cant pick up cutlery as it gets very hot as we discovered .Also at certain times it is very busy. The staff at meal times all had a smile on their faces and were very good. The bar staff were also very good ,Fanis in the upstairs bar was extremely helpful. So all in all hotel isn't as bad as some of the reviews. we did venture to a few eateries with the main town a good 15 mins walk away downhill so not a good walk after a big meal, but the best one was just down in the bay it was called Stellios Tavern bar. the young staff that worked there were polite and attentive and the price was very low for what you got, that's my opinion, as they also gave you a fruit platter with a shot for free. Also the little shop next to it was run by a lovely women who gives you a good deal on gifts. As a ending we did enjoy a nice stay. Just one point for the females maybe take a small travelling mirror as sockets in room not in ideal place for getting ready.

Room Tip: try and get room in hotel itself to avoid steps. although the annex we stayed in was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gj1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Absolutely lovely hotel. We stayed in the annex bungalows, lovely and peaceful yet great for the families also. All the staff were all helpful and very friendly. The food was also very good with a good selection to suit all. It was a bit hilly for people with breathing difficulties but the views were beautiful especially at sunset. I would recommend it without a doubt. Thanks to all for a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Pelagia
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Panorama Village & Hotel
Panorama Village & Hotel
#13 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
1.6 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
17.8 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#10 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Address: Agia Pelagia, Agia Pelagia, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Blue Bay Resort Hotel' is located on the northern side of Crete, Mononaftis Bay, 22km from the capital city of Heraklion, in the quite village of Agia Pelagia. Thanks to its privileged slope position, it offers breathtaking views of the Cretan Sea. For a vacation in an environment full of natural beauty, 'Blue Bay Resort Hotel' has a wide selection of room types, offers excellent service as well as a range of leisure activities. 'Blue Bay Resort Hotel' is an ideal choice for relaxing and enjoyable holidays. It is also a central point for excursions throughout the island of Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Blue Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Agia Pelagia
Blue Bay Agia Pelagia
Blue Bay Resort Hotel Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing