We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have been twice to this wonderful hotel.2011,and 2012 and both times we had a fab holiday.The staff are very friendly and helpful, george(head of dinning) is wonderful always welcome you to all meal times and the food was lovely, always fresh, hot,and lots too chose from, also the chef was so friendly.it has 3 pooles now which is super and caters for all ages.all rooms are clean and fresh linen is bought to you every day.The pool bar is great FREE drinks and snacks all day!!.you can go to the spa(you pay for this),please dont be taken in by bad reviews, some people expect so much,iam going back next august and cannot wait.

Room Tip: I always book my room inside the hotel its self.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
There are newer reviews for Blue Bay Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 954 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is very nice for someone who wants to relax, have fun and eat good food.The stuff of the hotel is very nice with the customers and they make you feel the greek hospitality. You can relax at the hotels pools with your drink or snack and have fun with the activities they organized.
The buffet is very good and the food changed every day, so you can taste varius of greek and international food. During the night the pool bar is the perfect place to have fun and meet people.
The hotel was redecorated last summer. We will stay again when we visit crete

Room Tip: Rooms front of the pool have the better view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Antonis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

It was GREAT mistake I made booking my holiday in Blue bay hotel! We visited the Blue Bay in august- september this year. I was with my husband and son (10 months old ). I don't understand, why the hotel is FAMILY resort? It was very noisy at night! Everywhere steps and mountains!It is not convenient for walking with a stroller. Our booking was for an 'Annex Bungalow'. Repairs did not do since the founding of the hotel, old furniture! A lot of mosquitoes! The food was disgusting and un-edible! My baby had a diarrhea all the time (10 days)!!!! It was terrible! Would never go back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Vera G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was getting concerned after reading some of the poor reviews on here, however I needn't have been worried. I found the hotel to be lovely, the rooms were clean and spacious, the food was always fresh and plenty of of it! On our arrival, the staff couldn't do enough for you, showing you round the rooms, the restaurant and guided you to were everything was within the hotel grounds.
Yes the hotel is on a hill, but this was clearly stated within the brochure, yes the all inclusive only included beer, wine, soft drinks, ouzo and raki, but again this was clearly stated in the brochure. Its always a good idea to read all of the description when booking a holiday!!! There is a steep hill that takes you to the beach (this wasn't a problem for us) but for those that may have some walking difficulties, there is a free courtesy bus from the hotel reception.
The hotel manager was constantly moving around the hotel, making sure everywhere was kept clean and tidy especially around the pool area/bar and in the restaurant. We did on a couple of occasions have a walk to the beach taverna (Stelios) for a drink and a meal out, not because the food was poor at the hotel but just so we could enjoy the local area.
The only complaint I could make was that the maids didn't make the beds everyday, this didn't cause me any problems just would have been nice, however I might add that the bathroom was cleaned daily.
For those that might be planning a trip to this hotel, please don't be put off like I nearly was, go see for yourself. The hotel's in a lovely spot and has lovely sea views, we were a group which comprised of a couple and a family of five, with kids ages ranging from 11-16. We all had a fab time and would go back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the bungalow annex just below the pool bar, all rooms had sea views and are 1 bedroom s...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Oh good lord, what a mistake I made booking a holiday at this resort! We arrived around 4pm 28th July 2012, but we should have known things weren't all they were supposed to be as our coach transfer driver refused to take us the whole way and had arranged for a taxi to meet us out in the wilds to continue the long winding journey up to this hill top hell. We unpacked and headed to the pool area to get a drink and find our bearings. On ordering a vodka and tonic we were informed this was not included in the holiday price and they didn't offer inferior local brands as the hotel prided themselves on their reputation!! We asked how far it was to the town to go and buy some water and were told by reception it was about a 15 minute walk but we could get a taxi for EU9.00.
That evening we headed into dinner suitably dressed according to the dining room dress code only to be met by very large people in t shirts and shorts chasing after screaming children who were running around being followed and over indulged by thoughtless, clueless parents, and no folks, these weren't British children and parents but the new travelling arrogants from Russia and Eastern Europe. The food was disgusting, the choice limited and that's where we met the Greek Basil Fawlty in the guise of the restaurant manager, not only was he absolutely clueless in restaurant management he was rude and very aggressive to the wonderful staff having to manouvre their way around these ignorant people.
There was no entertainment to speak of unless you were accompanying children and had the IQ of a toilet seat. Which was a shame as the resort boasts bungalows and the bungalows have a lovely bar and pool area where it would have been very profitable to organise a child free entertainment program, but that was obviously too difficult.
Luckily for us my husband has dialysis treatment and for 3 days of our holiday we were able to get away from the resort and enjoy ourselves, me lounging by a beautiful pool at the dialysis unit and hubby having dialysis (I kid you not) We couldn't even go on a coach trip as no coaches would come out that far to pick us up or drop us off.
The very best I can say about this hotel is the service provided by those members of staff not in managerial or supervisory positions are the salvation of this hotel and unless the senior staff wake up and realise they should be going that extra yard to make up for the many short-comings of this resort then they will all be looking for jobs come next year.
The menu needs a complete over-haul and regular services provided by the hotel into the town for day and evening entertaintment. Speciality nights should be advertised early and the guests not accosted on their way into and out of the restaurant.
Would I recommend this resort? Only if I'd had a frontal lobotomy!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Andie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Ok, never thought I would be the reviewing type as I generally as happy as the proverbial pig in..when on holiday and yes this hotel is situated a-top of a Blue Bay, a stunning blue bay at that but there the correlation ends! The hotel may as well had a cable car running to it where it was up the hill and another one where we were staying in relation to it.. the glorified "staff" accommodation up the hill a bit further yet! No Gripes on the room in general, in fact that's a lie, it wasnt cleaned and unless your an anorexic jockey the shower cubicle was an utter joke as was the beds.. the floor would have been as comfortable as the mattress's!

On arrival we were swiftly informed in 38 degree heat that we were staying in the "promo bungalows.." sounds exotic.. I figured they indulged in sarcasm at this as they weren't promo by any stretch and were as detached from the hotel as possibly could be, may as well been called a separate place altogether. After charging the customary for the use of the room safe we were then informed if we wanted "air con" (clue in the name) we'd have to pay 3 euros/day for the luxury of it. "air CON" .. off we trudged up to the room and found all the above, that said we decided we were gonna make the best of the holiday and to all purposes away from the hotel had a great time. BUT as for the ALL INCLUSIVE, that was the biggest joke of all. We found out at the pergola bar that the only drinks we had were two different colours of vinegar, beer (was ok) and either OUZO or warm RAKI.. no offence to the local spirits if that's the meaning of the word but it became apparent from the staff that due to "russians" the local Brandy had been removed from the AI package and that's why we were limited on the drinks front. Bit of a misguidance on the term all inclusive then, poor Russians, their money is as good as anybody's and as far as I've ever know All inclusive means just that, local spirits being vodka, gin, brandy, whiskey and rum and just about any combination you choose to have it, never been on an A.I holiday like this where the limitations were so strict and the drinks allowed so poor.

We were informed snacks were available, not informed however that they were on request behind the bar.. what deduced was slivers of pizza, bagged stale sandwiches and the mornings rejections of cake!

The food at meal times was passable but rapidly became very same old and was over three hot stands just a repetition of four trays, sometimes the previous meal recooked to form the new service. We soon ventured out for meals and wished we had gone self catering, ok the local prices weren't super cheap but that was to be expected, however what turned the holiday round was the abundance of polite and fantastic warm friendly Cretan people both down in AGIA PELAGIA and at the excellent bay down the foot of the hill. Stelios' bar was superb as was the fine folk in the supermarket to the left of him looking in. They really made the break, we spent nights on the beach with bottles of fizzy from the shop and were made very welcome in every taverna we visited not to mention the lovely shops down in AGIA PELAGIA. My tip is don't miss CRETE, its awesome and dont knock the area, yes the hills were hard going in near 40 degrees but damn worth it. This hotel has the potential to really make itself special and the main building was anything but a let down. what let it down is their opinions of what an all inclusive holiday is and what real service to its guests is. The entertainment was such a let down and being out on a limb was very limiting as to how to spend your evenings. We had it on good authority that the neighbouring hotels offer all that is expected of an A.I holiday and have higher ratings and are cheaper. Don;t be put off by the area just be weary of what you're paying for with the Blue Bay, everything comes at a high cost here and if you're having to spend money its better to give it to the locals who will really make you smile with true hospitality.

We had no tour of the hotel, zero explanation of its facilities, the hotel shop charge four times the price of water and goods from the local shops, we were taken to our room and basically left to get on with it. A real let down but still came home smiling from everything else.

Room Tip: Go to a neighbouring hotel. We were well informed they were far more accommodating of their guest re...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mav-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The food was cold but most of it was ok the chef at the back who cooked kebabs ect was lovely & the food he served was nice.

When we arrived we was very shocked to find that we were in the middle of no where apart from a small Beech situated at the bottom of a extremely steep hill...however the bars at the bottom were lovely & Stellios bar was fab they were truly lovely & the food was lush they saved us several times as we needed to eat out as the food wasn't up to much at the hotel. The all inclusive drinks were horrendous only offering local beer, Ouzo & Raki (which was watered down) & local wine which was disgusting so ended up paying for drinks & buying wine from local shop which was a hefty walk away. The people who worked there were lovely though nice & friendly but its safe to say I will not ever return to that hotel!!

Room Tip: Do not accept the bungalows as they are more further away from the bar & hotel its very very ste...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donska1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agia Pelagia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
2,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Pela Mare Hotel
Pela Mare Hotel
#3 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panorama Village & Hotel
Panorama Village & Hotel
#13 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Resort Hotel

Address: Agia Pelagia, Agia Pelagia, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range: $49 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Blue Bay Resort Hotel' is located on the northern side of Crete, Mononaftis Bay, 22km from the capital city of Heraklion, in the quite village of Agia Pelagia. Thanks to its privileged slope position, it offers breathtaking views of the Cretan Sea. For a vacation in an environment full of natural beauty, 'Blue Bay Resort Hotel' has a wide selection of room types, offers excellent service as well as a range of leisure activities. 'Blue Bay Resort Hotel' is an ideal choice for relaxing and enjoyable holidays. It is also a central point for excursions throughout the island of Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Agia Pelagia
Blue Bay Agia Pelagia
Blue Bay Resort Hotel Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing